Abby (16y/o) was was diagnosed July 13, i think the vet said her bg was 500. Started Lantus 3u BID. Vet put her on Hill's g/d (she also has CRF.). She has responded well to the insulin, water intake has drastically decreased and she seems much like her old self. Vet wanted her back in a week to do a BC ( I haven't done any bg testing yet). Took her in to vet Thursday and the vet wants me to increase her insulin to 4U BID. WHen i took her in a 7am they said her first bg was 448, but by the end of the day was down to 190. I think the spike was due to her nervousness at the vet and the vet even admitted that could be true but still wants me to increase the insulin amount. I am changing her diet to Wysong liver gourmet which has similar levels of phosphorus to the hill's g/d- a bit higher in protein, but the ingredients are so much better than the garbage in the g/d. Hoping the higher level of protein from a good source will help bring down her levels. My problem is twofold- i don't think she needs the additional insulin and i really cant afford it. i am having financial difficulties as it is with the diabetes diagnosis. $350 first vet visit, $175 BG curve and the 100 unit bottle of insulin will only last me 16 days at the 6u per day dose- at the 8u per day more like 12 days. Food is about $50 per month. I dont have an extra $250 - $300 per month and really dont know what to do. I cant be the only one out there with a limited budget... and i know i have to start testing at home and that is another additional cost....