Julie Ann Taylor
Member Since 2017
Catrina was diagnosed last Saturday with BG at 380. My vet said to start her on 3 units of vetsulin 2 x per day, 12 hours apart and that if her PD-PU's stayed the same or increased, to increase the dose by 1 added unit per dose...and that if her PD-PU's reduce, then reduce 2 units. Does this sound right?
I am concerned because in talking with a friend who had a diabetic cat, he said starting at 3 units was too high. The first 3 unit dose I gave at home seemed to make her slightly glassy eyed so I had her eat and she seemed to get better. I been giving her 2 since then, but she is still at the same PD-PU's level, so not sure what to do tonight.
Obviously I am not home testing yet but I can really see the need to do so. This learning curve is big and I have limited time due to being a caregiver for two family members. I want to take her in tomorrow for a quick BG monitoring but I have medical appointments all day. I know it will get better but I am currently a little freaked out. Any advice appreciated.
I am concerned because in talking with a friend who had a diabetic cat, he said starting at 3 units was too high. The first 3 unit dose I gave at home seemed to make her slightly glassy eyed so I had her eat and she seemed to get better. I been giving her 2 since then, but she is still at the same PD-PU's level, so not sure what to do tonight.
Obviously I am not home testing yet but I can really see the need to do so. This learning curve is big and I have limited time due to being a caregiver for two family members. I want to take her in tomorrow for a quick BG monitoring but I have medical appointments all day. I know it will get better but I am currently a little freaked out. Any advice appreciated.