New amps- Copper(HIGH)

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Ouch! Copper came in @ 353 this amps. He has been eating a bunch more, but shouldn't be that high. I left food out for him last night and it was all gone this am. Very surprised after he doing so good.

I think i'm going to give 1.4u today. Don't want to go much higher. Hope he does well on that dose.

Lori
 
Ok, i rethinked this through before giving 1.4. Because his numbers have been so whacky lately, i decided to stay low. Besides, i'm not sure that the amps is not a bounce. I'm sure it's not, but you never know. Also, he has done good on 1u, so to be on the extra safe side giving 1u. Probably not enough, but better to be safe.

Keep you updated.

lori
 
I think I might hold the 1 unit for a day or 2 and if you dont see anything I would raise a little...
 
Lori,
I just looked at your SS, that PMPS tonite makes absolutely no sense to me....
 
SHOCKED again. His pmps is @117. So his nadir is not until +7 -+12. Did i give too much??? Thank Goodness i didn't give him the 1.4u and followed my instincts or he would of been in hypo today. Is this a normal pattern? Is his pancreas taking over now? Weird and wacky numbers!

I guess i don't give shot now and wait until he goes in the 200's? Now my schedule will be all messed up again. Or do i just wait until morning?

I just fed him, he was starved. SO now i can't test for at least 1.5hrs. Ugh. I guess this is all good?

Lori
 
Lori,
If you just fed in the past few minutes, that food won't hit him for at least another half hour to an hour. You could test in 10-15 minutes, but at this point, I'd say no shot till morning unless he climbs really high quickly. And then just a token dose if any.

This curve looks like a straight diagonal line....
 
Retested and @ 121. I gave no carb food most of the day, but he ate well. What could be up with him? Slow absorbtion?

Lori
 
Lori, honestly, I am clueless what went on today. You shot in the same place as usual? Yesterday's daytime cycle was totally flat till close to PMPS. Today he just went down and kept going in the same direction.
I'm thinking no shot tonight. Expect a somewhat high AMPS, but the way he's been the past few days, your guess is as good or better than mine!
 
Yesterday you mentioned going back to the zoboline, but just once per day, right? What time of the day? wondering it that is doing something funky to the insulin timing?

Has anyone else use zoboline?
 
Thanks Carl. I just tested again- 20min past feeding and now @ 124. He is not going up at all. I shot in the usual places. I alternate sides and did it today on his side just above his leg. He wasn't too active today, too cold outside. Just strange. I'm just so glad i didn't shoot higher today. I remembered what you said to not shoot higher because his ps was high. So i rethought and only went low. Should i shoot lower tomorrow?

lori
 
Lori,
Tomorrow, I think I'd stick with 1u in the AM, unless for some weird reason his BG is NOT higher than say 250. That will be at 8am? I'm working 6am-2pm, and I can try to check in around 8 to see his numbers. The problem here with checking is my cell signal is really sketchy depending on where I am on the island. But just before 8 I'll find a spot where I have a good signal.
 
THanks for brainstorming for me. I gave the zobaline this am around 11am. I have been giving him the zobaline for over 6wks and 3x/day. I just started back to 1x/day yesterday. Can't imagine this being the problem. I know a lot of people on the boards have been using it. It doesn't have any carbs or sugar's in it. Highly reccomended.

Yes, i will test around 8am and try to get back on a schedule. THanks for checking in! This is just freaking me out with all these unsettled numbers. I really thought he was in the clear after +7 and haven't been around for that time frame. I don't know when i can leave him now. He is so unsettled. When i came home tonight around +9 he was acting like he was starved so fed him them. His BG must of been low than too. I will start testing around the +8 +9 timeframe when i am home. Our scheudle next week is very hectic so don't know what i'm going to do then. Oh well, this is better than him being too high. I guess it is all good? I really do want his pancreas working again.

Thanks for checking on me in am. Enjoy the sunrise for me on the beach.

Lori
 
Amps is 320(+23hrs since last insulin shot). Probably shoot a 1u again and monitor from +6 on to see when he falls? Do i do no shot again if pmps is low?

lori
 
Hi Lori,

Not sure which thread is current (or which one to follow for that matter) as you have two threads pushed to the top with the same last posting date. It's confusing..
I would imagine that your actions would be based on exactly what the PMPS# is and whether it is a rising #.

Very glad to see Copper went +23 without any insulin that s fantastic!!
 
Also, I noticed on your SS that Copper urinated outside his box for the first time since his dx. That could be a sign of a urinary tract infection. You may definitely want to keep an eye on that or take him in to the vet if it persists.
 
Hi lori
probably late but yes on the 1u.
PMPS? That's a long time away. It's Saturday. Enjoy each minute, leave "later" till later!
 
Lori
On the outside the box issue. How high are the sides on the box? Sometimes for Bob, when his legs were weak, it was just that he had a hard time getting in the box.
I got one with lower sides and that made us both happy.
 
Carl,

Opps. I thought your post said less than 1u. Sorry. I will be around most of the day anyway.
THANKS! Enjoy the view!

Lisa,

Thanks for the info on urninating. I think he pee'd outside the box because he didn't want to go down the stairs to the litter box and he didn't go outside all that day because it was too cold for him. His neuro is not good and i think he doesn't want to walk too much on his legs. I hope that it will get better now that his numbers are going down. He is scheduled for a vet visit this coming week. So i will have them check it out. He hasn't had any trouble since that one night.
THANKS!

lol
lori
 
owlgal said:
Oh no. I gave the 1u. Do you think i should monitor all day now?

Lori
No. The 1u I was agreeing with. I was just later than eight in getting here! You did good. Just don't worry about pmps till pmps. It's a no worries weekend!
 
I do hope his neuro gets better. I know how hard that is...
I'm all for a no worries weekend too. We need more days like that. :smile:
 
Litterbox issue: on three sides it's high, but the side he walks into is very low. I wish i could put the litter box upstairs, but just no space up here. I know he doesn't like the stairs too much. I've been trying to make sure he goes 2xday by either carrying him outside or put into litter box.

Carl,
How long did it take for your kitty's neuro to clear up? I keep thinking it will get better now that his numbers are down, but he just seems still bad. He has lost a lot of muscle on his hips and back legs. So sad.

lori
 
Lori,
Bob was never diagnosed with neuro. His problem was really low potassium levels, which cause overall muscle weakness. He never walked on his hocks or anything, but just had very weak legs. He continued to get fluids with added potassium even after he went OTJ, and I still have a bag of fluids on hand. I'll end up having to put him on a potassium supplement probably. I've wrestled with that decision forever, because the paste type supplements are all loaded with sugar to make it palatable, and the last thing I want to have happen is to give him "medicine" that's going to bring back the diabetic BG numbers. I'm sort of stuck between wanting to fix one problem and maybe causing a different one, or not fixing it and causing a possible different set of problems.
 
His pmps is @343. He never really went low today. With all his wackiness, tossing whether to keep the 1u or maybe the .8u tonight.

CARL,
Is Bob low on potassium because of kidney disease? SOunds like the fluids with added potassium is the way to go. I do that with the Birds of Prey that come in sick sometimes.

Lori
 
No kidney disease yet. That's what my vet is trying to avoid...kidney or liver issues due to low potassium. The fluids w/potassium and/or the supplements are intended to prevent problems with other organs down the road. Sort of a fine line though, because high potassium can cause heart problems. That's my dilemma. Or Bob's, actually. Requires blood work every other month or so just to check his potassium and a couple other numbers while the vet is at it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top