NEW! 2/27 Tiger AMPS 263 +2.25 206

Status
Not open for further replies.

gigiviolet

Member Since 2014
Hi!

Tiger and I have worked super duper hard to get ready for a TR adventure ;) We would love and appreciate your thoughts and guidance!!

**I'm thinking I should increase Tiger 0.25u to 2.0u. He is completing his 10th cycle on 1.75u. I would love your thoughts on overlap. Tiger seems to have quick onset, early nadir (usually around +3) and shorter duration - a good bit of rise prior to AMPS and PMPS. **Should I try spacing the shots a little tighter?

Tiger's SS is updated.

Thanks so much for the wonderful support and encouragement you all provide to others, especially those with newly diagnosed diabetic kitties. Your support makes all the difference, for kitty and human ;)
 
Re: NEW! 2/27 Tiger AMPS 179 +3 94 +8 104 PMPS 222

Hello Gigi and a big welcome to you and your cute kitty Tiger. There is a lot to learn about feline diabetes and Lantus, but I can see by Tiger's SS that you have made a lot of progress in a short time. I highly recommend that you read the starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. I still reread them periodically even 2 years into this sugar dance.

I notice from your profile that Tiger needs a dental but the vet doesn't want to do it until his BG's are better. For the short time he has been on insulin, his numbers look great. I would highly recommend trying to get that dental as soon as possible. Dentals can make a huge difference in blood sugars. We have one cat here who was on 5.5U of insulin, had 2 bad teeth pulled, went completely off dry food and is now off insulin, all in a very short period of time. Is Tiger on an antibiotic for his abscess? If so, which one and for how much longer? ABs can also impact numbers.

Neko had her first dental when her numbers were WAY worse. We did a half dose of insulin in the morning and we were good to go. Another alternative if the vet doesn't want to do the dental yet is to go to a dental specialist vet.

To answer your question about dose, I think you should hold it for 2 more cycles before increasing. From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Although Tiger saw green on an earlier dose, you didn't hold the dose then and he has just started to see a lot of green. Since his abscess is starting to drain, that may also impact the numbers. Also, an additional day at this dose will allow others here to have a look at Tiger's SS and add their thoughts.

I also recommend sticking to dosing 12 hours apart, that's the way Lantus works best. We have a number of kitties here that onset and nadir early. That makes life easier for getting to sleep at a decent time. My Neko nadirs late. :roll:
 
Re: NEW! 2/27 Tiger AMPS 179 +3 94 +8 104 PMPS 222

Wendy & Neko,
Hi! Tiger & I were hoping you two would share your wisdom ;) So nice to have your message this morning. Thank you for a warm welcome and encouragement. Vancouver...wow, that must be so lovely.

Yes, dental must be done ASAP. Unfortunately, vet specialists are rather scarce in Georgia. There is a vet nearby who only does dental work and I believe does dental xrays (very few vets here do). It would be great to have confirmation that this is a tooth root abscess (tooth appears ok). In a nutshell...I rescued "a bunch" of kitties from a very dangerous situation in a neighborhood where I lived. The "rescue mission" went on for 6 years until I lost my house. I just couldn't leave the cats behind knowing what their fate would be, so I agreed to live with a former boyfriend - the only option for the cats. I wouldn't be here for anything in the world otherwise. We get by on "a wing and a prayer". I don't have any resources at all, saving animals is my life's work and it doesn't pay well ;) When my "roommate" is feeling the need to "make amends" - I will ask him to pay for Tiger's dental...at the dental vet I mentioned. He had agreed to use his credit card for the dental previously, at a very low cost vet that I'm not comfortable with. **Tiger isn't on AB at the moment, but completed several courses of Clindamycin, the abscess returned afterward each time. I have about 7 days worth that I'm hoping to save until dental is scheduled...it's not uncommon to develop "complications" after dental/anesthesia. We definitely don't need any more of those around here :)

"When your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing" : I read this over and over last night, and then you quoted it! I wasn't sure if it meant to start counting the 10 cycles at first ever nadir under 100, or when the nadirs began being under 100. I will hold the dose 2 more cycles as you recommended. On the 02/15 pm shot, some insulin leaked out. I thought the green numbers might be due to the depot adjusting (dumping a little). I regret if I didn't give the dose a fair chance, I've been worried that as a newbie-I might not be "brave" enough :)
We so need Tiger's best "shot" (LOL) at remission, we're on "borrowed" time here. "Mom" is doing far more than she can!

Do you have any thoughts on injection site and it's effect on duration?

How did you decide about amount of dose for Neko before dental? Neko is so very fortunate to have you!!! You two are doing a wonderful thing here on FDMB. To Neko of the late nadirs: let your Mom sleep!! :) and XOXO for you sweetheart.
Tiger and I are so very happy to have you two as new friends!
 
Re: NEW! 2/27 Tiger AMPS 179 +3 94 +8 104 PMPS 222

Hello and welcome! Tiger is showing some wonderful numbers for a kitty just getting started! I'd agree on trying to keep you shots on a 12 hour schedule the best you can. You're doing great so far!! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: NEW! 2/27 Tiger AMPS 179 +3 94 +8 104 PMPS 222

Christie & sweet Willie,
Thank you so much for a warm welcome and your encouraging words...worth their weight in gold.
Willie is 18+? How wonderful! This tells me all I need to know about his Mom ;)
I'm a newbie...I believe "GA" is guardian angel...so my heart goes out to you for your loss of Miss Jezebelle. I know this heartbreak so well. Herbie is a lucky duck to find you! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We are so happy to have new friends :) XOXO for Willie & Herbie
 
Hi and Welcome Gigi and Tiger!!

Tiger really is doing well for such a short time! I know what you're up against on the dental too. I live in mid-Missouri, so "farm country" and the majority of vets around here are large and small animal vets...mostly large. To a lot of them, a cat is just a critter they see in the barn on their way to treat the cows. Nobody has the x-ray machines needed for dental x-rays either. When China had to have her dental, I ended up having to take her over an hour away to get it done right!

Good luck with TIger! It looks like you're doing a really great job with him so far!

As for your question on shot placement, it's really one of those ECID (Every cat is different) things. Some it seems to make a big difference, others it really doesn't. All you can really do is try giving the shots in different places and see if it makes any difference for Tiger.

GA is "Gone Ahead"....our GA kitties are waiting for us at the Bridge
 
Chris & China,
Thanks so much for a warm welcome and for sharing your thoughts. Tiger & I are so grateful, and very excited about all our new friends! China...you are a gorgeous girl. I love, love, love white kitties. Well, ALL kitties, too ;)

Thanks for the encouragement, it makes all the difference :) I had to "hit the ground running" with Tiger's diabetes for his best chance at remission...b/c what "Mom" is doing isn't sustainable. It's darn near taken me out, on top of an already quite "challenging" situation ;)

Sadly, there are many who don't know how AMAZING cats are. I've inadvertently become a cat whisperer and patron saint of cats...I love them madly. I can see cats that no one else sees :)
 
Hi Gigi and Tiger!!

Where are you located in Atlanta? Cobb and I lived up in Kennesaw. :thumbup Glad to see another Georgia cat on the board. :smile:

We've been to our share of vets in the area and are about to take a trip to another vet recommended on here by another FDMB so we're hopeful we'll get a good one this time. I know, at least, she has experience with a hard to regulate cat.

~Suzanne
 
Just wanted to say hi and welcome to Lantus Land :-D . You are in the right place, with a bunch of crazy cat ladies, and a few crazy cat gentlemen too :lol: . It's a great group to hang with ;-) . Tiger is lucky to have such a good bean!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Tiger's numbers have been looking very good. I do think you have room to increase his dose.

Like the others have noted, getting that tooth dealt with may make Tiger's numbers look even better.
 
Welcome to LL, Gigi and Tiger!

I think you've been doing great with Tiger and he is responding well. Some cats do nadir early, like Sienne's Gabby, but I'm really seeing more flat numbers our of Tiger than an early nadir and then an increase in BG. Nadirs can also move around but it's great that you are thinking about the three important components of a Lantus or levemir cycle: onset, nadir, duration.

I don't really see a duration issue with Tiger. Often, if kitty is not getting any duration, the BG rises quickly.

The post I did on Testing and Shooting Tips has some info on injections sites.

We love questions so please let us know how we can help you and Tiger (who is very, very handsome!).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top