Re: NEW! 2/27 Tiger AMPS 179 +3 94 +8 104 PMPS 222
Wendy & Neko,
Hi! Tiger & I were hoping you two would share your wisdom

So nice to have your message this morning. Thank you for a warm welcome and encouragement. Vancouver...wow, that must be so lovely.
Yes, dental must be done ASAP. Unfortunately, vet specialists are rather scarce in Georgia. There is a vet nearby who only does dental work and I believe does dental xrays (very few vets here do). It would be great to have confirmation that this is a tooth root abscess (tooth appears ok). In a nutshell...I rescued "a bunch" of kitties from a very dangerous situation in a neighborhood where I lived. The "rescue mission" went on for 6 years until I lost my house. I just couldn't leave the cats behind knowing what their fate would be, so I agreed to live with a former boyfriend - the only option for the cats. I wouldn't be here for anything in the world otherwise. We get by on "a wing and a prayer". I don't have any resources at all, saving animals is my life's work and it doesn't pay well

When my "roommate" is feeling the need to "make amends" - I will ask him to pay for Tiger's dental...at the dental vet I mentioned. He had agreed to use his credit card for the dental previously, at a very low cost vet that I'm not comfortable with. **Tiger isn't on AB at the moment, but completed several courses of Clindamycin, the abscess returned afterward each time. I have about 7 days worth that I'm hoping to save until dental is scheduled...it's not uncommon to develop "complications" after dental/anesthesia. We definitely don't need any more of those around here
"When your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing" : I read this over and over last night, and then you quoted it! I wasn't sure if it meant to start counting the 10 cycles at first ever nadir under 100, or when the nadirs began being under 100. I will hold the dose 2 more cycles as you recommended. On the 02/15 pm shot, some insulin leaked out. I thought the green numbers might be due to the depot adjusting (dumping a little). I regret if I didn't give the dose a fair chance, I've been worried that as a newbie-I might not be "brave" enough

We so need Tiger's best "shot" (LOL) at remission, we're on "borrowed" time here. "Mom" is doing far more than she can!
Do you have any thoughts on injection site and it's effect on duration?
How did you decide about amount of dose for Neko before dental? Neko is so very fortunate to have you!!! You two are doing a wonderful thing here on FDMB. To Neko of the late nadirs: let your Mom sleep!!

and XOXO for you sweetheart.
Tiger and I are so very happy to have you two as new friends!