New! 12/27 oliver -Dosage advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mikaila31

Member Since 2010
My kitty was diagnosed with high glucose levels on the 17th after we took him in cuz he was drinking and peeing a lot. Original dose was 3 units of Lantus. He had a second vet visit on the 24th and no results yet, but I asked if the dosage could be dropped to 2units and it was. I bought a relion confirm meter yesterday afternoon. Olivers last shot was 7:20am on the 26th(yesterday) - 2 units. I have been testing him since 6pm yesterday and so far results are as follows. It currently has been 26 hours since his last shot. He has been eating normally.

From yesterday:
7:20AM - lantus 2 units
1st test(6:15PM)- 93
8:15PM- 70(fed afterward)
9:15PM- 75
10:30PM- 124 (fed a little bit more)

From today
12:30AM - 100
7:40AM - 95 (fed 1/2 can afterward)

I am currently skipping the 2nd shot unless something happens.
 
Re: New! 12/27 oliver

You might add Dosage advice needed to your subject line. This is a busy board and the posts move down the page fast.
 
Re: New! 12/27 oliver

Welcome to Lantus Land!

Let me be the first to suggest you read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There's a huge amount of information in those notes. For now, you might want to concentrate on the New to the Group and the dosing protocol stickies.

A couple of questions about Oliver and his diagnosis:
  • Was Oliver diagnosed based only on his blood glucose (BG) level at the vet's office or did the vet run a serum fructosamine level? The latter gives you an average of BG over a 2 - 3 week period. It's very helpful for diagnosing diabetes.
  • Were there any medical issues that were present and are now cleared up? For example, has Oliver had a dental? Was he being treated for any infection or inflammatory process?
  • Was Oliver on any medications or other products that have been discontinued?
  • What are you feeding and is this a change?

Oliver's numbers look great! Any infection/inflammation that may have cleared will have an effect on BG numbers. Likewise, if you've switched Oliver to low carb food, his numbers will start to improve.

The amount that your vet suggested as a starting dose is higher than where we begin based on the protocol we use. The formula for starting dose is:
initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms​
For most cats, this is in the neighborhood of 1.0u.

I would agree with your skipping this shot. While we do shoot low numbers, you need to have more data in order to do so. (You may want to look at the data ready sticky.)
 
Re: New! 12/27 oliver

Welcome Mikaila!

Good for you that you are hometesting. :thumbup I have a Relion meter also and the strips are about the most inexpensive that you can get. You will be able to be in control of your kitties diabetes.

Those are some nice #'s. Did your cat ever get a steriod shot recently? Sometimes that will bring on diabetes.

Tell us more about your kitty. What you are feeding, how old they are etc.

Read all the stickies at the top of the message board. You will find lots of important information in them.

Other people will help you with dose advice. But looks like he's doing great.


You have come to an awesome site. The people here will help anyway they can. You'll get lots of advice.

Glad to see you here and again welcome!

jan and sara
 
I believe Oliver was diagnosed just on his BG levels. She is suppose to be calling me back so I will ask. Oliver rarely has any problems, he had no work done and was not on anything prior. He has always been given science diet dry food. Vet switched him directly to the prescription diabetic food. I am thinking of putting him on a raw food diet. Biggest change is probably that food switch and his life style. We got hit by a blizzard and 20" of snow on the 12th and he was indoor/outdoor and is now forced indoor kitty cuz really no were for him to go outside. He is 13 years old too and not quite as invincible to the 20 below temps like he use to be lol. He prefers outside in summer a lot. He gets the regular kitty treatment, but hasn't been given anything out of the usual in the last month. No frontline or anything in the winter. He has never had a dental and no steroid shot recently. He might of had one of those years ago when he got a cold from going in and out when it was too hot outside and vet either had him on steroids or antibiotics he recovered in 3 days from that.

Oliver was tested at 10:30 and BG has dropped significantly to 65 :-D .
 
The numbers without insulin are pretty impressive.

One thing that may be worth considering, depending on what the rest of the day looks like up to shot time tonight, is dropping the dose. Ideally, you want a dose of Lantus that will allow you to shoot twice a day. So far, the numbers are in the normal range and, as I said earlier, you don't have the data to shoot this low.
 
It will be enormously helpful if you can put Oliver's dose and BG test information into a spreadsheet. The information on how to set up the SS template and link it to your signature are in the Tech Support forum.
 
There's info in the New to the Group sticky.

In a nutshell, AMPS or PMPS are your AM Pre-Shot or PM Pre-Shot blood glucose (BG) test values. The "clock" starts from the time that you give your Lantus injection. So, a +1 is one hour after shot time. +6 is six hours after your shot. The clock starts over at the second shot of the day. We put the times in +hours because the people here are from different time zones and it gives us a common clock (vs. saying 7:00 PM which would be meaningless if I'm in Chicago and the other person is in South Africa.)

Do you have a test yet for your PMPS or close to it?

I really think you are going to need to reduce the dose based on the numbers you've been seeing.
 
awesome numbers. :smile: Great job of getting lots of tests today and last night. The data is very helpful.

The fact that Oliver's numbers came down by themselves without insulin on board might mean that his pancreas it working, at least part time. A good way to nurse a newly functioning pancreas along is to feed frequent small meals, if possible. Larger meals can overwhelm the pancreas. Keep testing and keep posting, and we'll help you keep an eye on the numbers. If the numbers start to go up again, you would want to start over at a reduced dose.
 
If I may, a suggestion or two.

If you have to choose between a + 11 and a pre-shot test, get the pre-shot test. The only way you will know whether it's safe to give a shot is if you test first. (Although, at the moment, this is a moot point.)

We encourage everyone to get an AMPS and PMPS test and at least one test per cycle (there are 2 cycles per day -- AM and PM). Since Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle, it's helpful if you can get a test close to the mid-point of the cycle. Right now, if you're not shooting, this doesn't really apply.

I think you said you have a vet visit coming up? If so, given what Oliver's numbers look like, it might be helpful to ask your vet to run a serum fructosamine test. Oliver's numbers, at least right now, do not look diabetic. It's possible there was something stressing his system that threw his BG levels out of whack, but he's looking great. I would encourage you to transition him to low carb food. If it was some form of systemic stress that elevated his numbers, getting him on a low carb, canned diet will help to keep his BG levels diet controlled.
 
Hi Mikalla and welcome to Lantus Land. If you recently switched from dry food to canned food that would have a big effect on lowering Oliver's bg numbers. You have two very knowledgeable people (Sienne, Libby) helping you out at the moment, so you are in good hands. Congrats on getting a spreadsheet up and running so quickly. Everyone here will give you support and you will get good advice, so ask as many questions as you need.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top