what happened, Jan?
Hi Bhooma, Thanks for asking, I couldn't figure out how to delete the post.
Squeaky's preshot was 75, he kept going down
without food and I didn't feel confident shooting the huge 3.75.
I couldn't find anyone to coach me. I tried tagging folks, I tried here, I tried on the FB page, all no help. There is one lady I message on FB and she said shoot 1 unit but she wasn't really available for questions or to stay with me. I really wanted to try to keep him green, but nobody was there. After over an hour I got too tired from the stress of the search, and not knowing what to do, I just shot the 1 unit.
Right around that time (we probably crossed messages) Chris said it probably would have been okay to shoot 2 units. That sounds better to me, I would have liked to have kept Squeaky's blood glucose more stable but I didn't know shooting anything between the usual high dose and the very small 1 unit was allowable/good idea. I tried reading all the lantus stickys but didn't catch any instructions on this.
I know the board is really busy and there are more people needing help than there are experienced volunteers. Also it is the holidays.
Seems every time we get green, and he's low at pre-shoot, I can't find anyone to coach. It's happened the last 3 times. Maybe my timing is just not at a good time for others. I haven't found good written instructions in a sticky......, I do have a bunch of notes but I'm challenged in life and haven't had time to organize them. I did have folks guide me once for shooting low a long time ago (he was only getting 1 or 2 units then), and I am doing better and better with everything -- didn't panic at all yesterday and Squeaky was green all afternoon --, but would still like to be coached for shooting high amounts of insulin on low greens again until I understand more and feel a bit more confident.
I just do better when I understand things fully and if I don't I tend to make stupid mistakes. I have a little learning impairment and I usually need to have instructions repeated a few times before I catch things well.
They (one who couldn't stay and another who came in late) said Squeaky would bounce anyway, but I would have liked to have tried to keep him more balanced, or green. This morning he was over 600.
Well ultimately everything happens for a reason, in it's own good time, for it's own purpose. So I need to relax and just keep going! I am so grateful for the help, I have actually never been this supported for anything and it's been an amazingly wonderful gift from all of you. We could not be doing as well as we could without this board and all the marvelous volunteers.