Neuropathy Symptoms

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cassis

Member Since 2016
Cassis' neuropathy symptoms are usually worse when his BG is high (400s) but generally improve when his levels are in better control. However, we have noticed him sliding more on his back legs within one two hours after getting his insulin even though his BG is neither too high nor too low. Just wondering if anyone else has noticed this phenomenon and have any idea what the cause might be.
 
I havent noticed it in my boy sorry, and not sure what could be causing it in Cassis. Hopefully someone else can give you some insight!:bighug: Are you giving him anything for the neuropathy like Zobaline?
 
I havent noticed it in my boy sorry, and not sure what could be causing it in Cassis. Hopefully someone else can give you some insight!:bighug: Are you giving him anything for the neuropathy like Zobaline?
Thanks! Cassis is getting 0.3 ml of methylcobalamine subcutaneously daily. We tried Zobaline once, but for whatever reason, his glucose shot very high afterward, so we haven't tried it again.
 
His numbers look nice. If I am remembering right, low potassium levels can also cause weakness in the legs. Have you had his potassium levels checked lately?
 
His numbers look nice. If I am remembering right, low potassium levels can also cause weakness in the legs. Have you had his potassium levels checked lately?
Thanks. He got a little low this morning, so we gave him a little extra food. It has come up now, hopefully not too much; would like to stay with a lower dose if possible. He was getting potassium supplementation orally for a while, but we stopped because of his irregular heat rhythm, although it is unlikely that it played a role. His potassium was actually high normal last week when he saw his vet. He seems to be walking pretty well today. His gait seems to be worse at night after his PM shot.
 
Thanks. He got a little low this morning, so we gave him a little extra food. It has come up now, hopefully not too much

Looking good with the green numbers :) Could it maybe be some arthritis? If hes active during the day maybe it catches up with him in the evening and he's a little stiff?
 
Looking good with the green numbers :) Could it maybe be some arthritis? If hes active during the day maybe it catches up with him in the evening and he's a little stiff?
Arthritis might be a factor. He has it in his front but not in his back legs by x-ray.
 
I've heard there are some heated beds for cats. That might help..if he could sleep in a warm place to soothe the arthritis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top