Nervous newbie injector

Status
Not open for further replies.

PattyandBuddy

Member Since 2022
Buddy and I have mastered the lancet and glucose testing together. He doesn't move or flinch and lets me get it done easily with a 26g. What a relief that is. I test before each dose.
.
However, we are struggling with the injection big time. It is just 1 unit so far. One of my problems is I am scared of shots and I'm nervous as heck. We were doing "just ok" before but this evening was the worst. Buddy lets me lift his skin just fine but as soon as I put the needle in he jumps away before I can even inject the insulin. After 2-3 failed attempts with pokes and him jumping... I finally had to put out a junky treat I know he likes to distract him. I think I was able to get it in but he did still notice and moved slightly.

I see other cats on youtube and the cats don't even notice! Is everyone's cats running away or is it just me? :(
 
Distracting them with food works really well. Save his most favorite treat for injection time put it infront of him and shoot while he is going to eat it.

I also heard someone recommend singing while you do it to help with your stress which he is probably picking up on.

They always use the most mellow cats in those youtube videos:rolleyes:. Though it should get easier in time as you both get use to it.
 
Distracting them with food works really well. Save his most favorite treat for injection time put it infront of him and shoot while he is going to eat it.

I also heard someone recommend singing while you do it to help with your stress which he is probably picking up on.

They always use the most mellow cats in those youtube videos:rolleyes:. Though it should get easier in time as you both get use to it.
Thank you! I am going to drop a treat and sing a song in the morning for sure! He is for sure picking up on my stress!
 
what syringes are you using? We tried a bunch of different brands and finally Sure Comfort 31g syringes were the only ones where the needle just glides right in and he usually seems to barely notice. All the other brands and types, he would jerk away, flinch, etc.
 
what syringes are you using? We tried a bunch of different brands and finally Sure Comfort 31g syringes were the only ones where the needle just glides right in and he usually seems to barely notice. All the other brands and types, he would jerk away, flinch, etc.
I am using the BD Insulin Syringes with BD Ultra Fine needle 3/10ml- length 8mm - 31g
 
what syringes are you using? We tried a bunch of different brands and finally Sure Comfort 31g syringes were the only ones where the needle just glides right in and he usually seems to barely notice. All the other brands and types, he would jerk away, flinch, etc.
Have you tried the BD Syringes? Are they poor quality?
 
Have you tried the BD Syringes? Are they poor quality?

no, they are great and I found they slide in just as smoothly (or almost) as the Sure Comfort. But I had a hard time adjusting the dose with the BD syringes, plunger was sticky to move when trying to dose in quarter units.

but it might not hurt to try a different brand see if it makes a difference
 
the other thing I've noticed with Hendrick is that as we rotate around the shot area, always trying to shoot in a slightly different spot -- there are a couple spots that he REALLY doesn't like. He pretty much always complains, jerks, twitches or jolts if I am shooting in that area. But two inches to the right it's like he doesn't even feel it.

I expect you are also rotating around, not shooting in the same spot all the time, but just thought I would mention what we have experienced with Hendrick.
 
no, they are great and I found they slide in just as smoothly (or almost) as the Sure Comfort. But I had a hard time adjusting the dose with the BD syringes, plunger was sticky to move when trying to dose in quarter units.

but it might not hurt to try a different brand see if it makes a difference
I just ordered the sure comfort online! thank you! yes, i also noticed the bd syringes are sticky to move as well.
 
the other thing I've noticed with Hendrick is that as we rotate around the shot area, always trying to shoot in a slightly different spot -- there are a couple spots that he REALLY doesn't like. He pretty much always complains, jerks, twitches or jolts if I am shooting in that area. But two inches to the right it's like he doesn't even feel it.

I expect you are also rotating around, not shooting in the same spot all the time, but just thought I would mention what we have experienced with Hendrick.

I am only rotating around his shoulder blades. I have not tried any other area. Do you do his flank area at all? I don't see people on youtube do any other area really except the shoulder blade area.
 
oh one other thing -- are you taking the insulin out of the fridge at least an hour or two before shot time?

It makes a big difference to Hendrick. And I'll also mention that as time has gone on he is WAY WAY better about the shot. When we first started giving it he complained a lot more but over the past 2 1/2 months he has gotten really well adjusted to it. We do the shot in the same special poking-spot as The Hendrick Pokey and he always gets a treat after, anytime I stab him with sharp things he gets treats :D
 
No, I am only taking it out about 20-30 min before. I will wake up earlier to let it sit out more!
I have not been giving him treats after pokes. I will start doing that but I am not sure what low carb safe treats to buy. I bought some dry freeze salmon and liver treats and he doesn't like them...he especially does not like the dry freeze salmon. What treats does Hendrix like that are low carb? Buddy loves party mix and temptations of course.....I am having to resort to giving him party mix just to distract him sometimes.
 
No, I am only taking it out about 20-30 min before. I will wake up earlier to let it sit out more!
I have not been giving him treats after pokes. I will start doing that but I am not sure what low carb safe treats to buy. I bought some dry freeze salmon and liver treats and he doesn't like them...he especially does not like the dry freeze salmon. What treats does Hendrix like that are low carb? Buddy loves party mix and temptations of course.....I am having to resort to giving him party mix just to distract him sometimes.

we used to feed lots of temptations and party mix, but those are banned now

there's a great list of low-carb treats around here somewhere, I'll post it

We tried so many different treats omg. Trying to find something that they would all like to replace the crack-tations. Finally, we found Whole Life One Ingredient freeze-dried treats, chicken or turkey. Our cats go NUTS for these

https://www.chewy.com/whole-life-just-one-ingredient-pure/dp/118038

https://www.chewy.com/whole-life-just-one-ingredient-pure/dp/44039
 
lol cracktations! Buddy was a cracktation addict and wanted them all the time. He has been really good with not asking me for cracktations ever since I switched to all wet food diet! I am ordering the chicken treats now from chewy! Do you know if a few party mix treats will elevate his sugar levels drastically?
 
I used to continue to give Checkers temptations because the freeze dried treats made him throw up. I think temptations and party mix are only 1-2 calories each so even if they are 60% carbs giving them a couple wouldn't make a huge difference I don't think, as long as you don't give him too many:D.
 
I used to continue to give Checkers temptations because the freeze dried treats made him throw up. I think temptations and party mix are only 1-2 calories each so even if they are 60% carbs giving them a couple wouldn't make a huge difference I don't think, as long as you don't give him too many:D.
phew good to know! i am still new and not sure how the blood sugar rises. like does stress make it 100 points more? does 1 treat make it 50 points more, etc. etc.
 
The thing is, every cat is different, so I am sure you will find out how sensitive your cat is to carbs or stress, etc along the way. That is what makes the spreadsheet really handy you can see patterns.:bookworm:
 
what syringes are you using? We tried a bunch of different brands and finally Sure Comfort 31g syringes were the only ones where the needle just glides right in and he usually seems to barely notice. All the other brands and types, he would jerk away, flinch, etc.
I noticed that too, the cheap ones from the vet did me good, the ulticare ones I got, they took so much resistance to go in and she would notice every time. Disaster.
 
Thank you for the information. I gave him lots of party mix treats yesterday afternoon and I did see a large increase in numbers. He had a curve yesterday so I wanted to award him. Not giving those treats again!
 
Last edited:
Thank you for the information. I gave him lots of party mix treats yesterday afternoon and I did see a large increase in numbers. He had a curve yesterday so I wanted to award him. Not giving those treats again!
I just wanted to give an update on how the injections are going in case anyone new reads this. The last 3 injections have been a success and Buddy is not noticing the needle. I have moved over to the roll over skin method. This has been a big improvement! I feel like I have more control of the skin and its more taught, I can also see the skin as well. I also have to check out for a second and pretend I am just sticking the needle in a Orange or other fruit. heh heh.
He was feeling the tent method or any other weird method I tried to do.
 
I just wanted to give an update on how the injections are going in case anyone new reads this. The last 3 injections have been a success and Buddy is not noticing the needle. I have moved over to the roll over skin method. This has been a big improvement! I feel like I have more control of the skin and its more taught, I can also see the skin as well. I also have to check out for a second and pretend I am just sticking the needle in a Orange or other fruit. heh heh.
He was feeling the tent method or any other weird method I tried to do.
From another post:
"Some members choose to "tent" the skin to shoot. They raise the fur to form a "tent" and then shoot into the base of the tent. Another technique, which might help more in decreasing fur shots, is the "roll" method. In this method, you lift the fur and skin with your non-shooting hand, and then roll your hand back so the back of your hand faces the kitty's head. This opens up a nice bit of skin that you can clearly see. It's important that you lift and then roll so you are guaranteed of shooting into the subcutaneous layer. The photo below illustrates how well you can see the skin when you lift and roll so that you know you are not shooting into fur as you might with the tent method."

3d690be9-80e2-48ad-b4a5-3c77cdb55350-jpeg.48122
 
From another post:
"Some members choose to "tent" the skin to shoot. They raise the fur to form a "tent" and then shoot into the base of the tent. Another technique, which might help more in decreasing fur shots, is the "roll" method. In this method, you lift the fur and skin with your non-shooting hand, and then roll your hand back so the back of your hand faces the kitty's head. This opens up a nice bit of skin that you can clearly see. It's important that you lift and then roll so you are guaranteed of shooting into the subcutaneous layer. The photo below illustrates how well you can see the skin when you lift and roll so that you know you are not shooting into fur as you might with the tent method."

3d690be9-80e2-48ad-b4a5-3c77cdb55350-jpeg.48122


I had no idea there was any other option other than the tent deal. Hendrick has a nice shaved spot on his scruff area from when he was hospitalized in January but that is slowly filling back in with fur.

It has been, honestly, freaking great to be able to shoot in this bare patch where you can really see what you're doing. But the fur is growing back in and I am now having to sort of learn all over again, how to shoot with fur.

I may try this tonight thank you!!
 
No, I am only taking it out about 20-30 min before. I will wake up earlier to let it sit out more
Hi Patty, I was told you can leave the insulin out for 15 minutes if you wanted to ,to warm up. I really never did that. If you think it bothers him because it's cold you can just fill the syringe and leave it out.
I wouldn't take it out an hour or two and leave it out
But I see you said
The last 3 injections have been a success and Buddy is not noticing the needle.

Congrats
 
As for freeze dried treats , try the ones that Kyle suggested

I'll give you some suggestions about low carb treats that some members posted
Here are some treats also
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P

Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dries treats just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces

The vital essentials come in a lot of flavors,here is the chicken flavor
Just Google vital essentials freeze dried treats for cats and you'll see all the other flavors
If your kitty likes any of the freeze dried treats ,get the bigger bags for dogs , they are the same thing, you'll get more for your money, Google the same but for dogs
https://www.chewy.com/vital-essenti...Y_mvOEe4zxNJ21dnPsjOq1BBF41XMaAqKWEALw_wcBwcB
 
Last edited:
Hi Patty, I was told you can leave the insulin out for 15 minutes if you wanted to ,to warm up. I really never did that. If you think it bothers him because it's cold you can just fill the syringe and leave it out.
I wouldn't take it out an hour or two and leave it out
But I see you said
The last 3 injections have been a success and Buddy is not noticing the needle.

Congrats
Hi Diane, Thank you for the information! I do have a question about the lantus bottle vs the lantus pen. I know the bottle has to be refrigerated at all costs. It says the lantus pen should not be kept in the refrigerator after it is opened. Is everyone here keeping the lantus pen out of the fridge or still refrigerating it?
 
As for freeze dried treats , try the ones that Kyle suggested

I'll give you some suggestions about low carb treats that some members posted
Here are some treats also
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P

Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dries treats just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces

The vital essentials come in a lot of flavors,here is the chicken flavor
Just Google vital essentials freeze dried treats for cats and you'll see all the other flavors
If your kitty likes any of the freeze dried treats ,get the bigger bags for dogs , they are the same thing, you'll get more for your money, Google the same but for dogs
https://www.chewy.com/vital-essenti...Y_mvOEe4zxNJ21dnPsjOq1BBF41XMaAqKWEALw_wcBwcB
Yes, I got the ones Kyle suggested already! Chewy delivers so fast! So far, he looks at them and then at me and I can tell he is saying "these are not temptations lady". He isn't that impressed with freeze dried unless I wet them.
I wish there was a low carb kibble treat on the market that mimicked temptations.
I have changed his award to a low back scratch that he loves for now.
Is anyone here making their own treats? If I cooked turkey bacon and made little treats or parmesan crisps would that be a bad idea?
 
Hi Diane, Thank you for the information! I do have a question about the lantus bottle vs the lantus pen. I know the bottle has to be refrigerated at all costs. It says the lantus pen should not be kept in the refrigerator after it is opened. Is everyone here keeping the lantus pen out of the fridge or still refrigerating it?

hey I know this one because it was one of the very first questions I asked here myself, a couple months ago. :D

Everyone keeps the pens in the fridge, and people have used every last drop of insulin, way beyond the 28 days, with careful handling and refrigeration of the pen. That is what I was told so that's what we've been doing for months now.

Sorry to hear he is not taking to the freeze-dried. Our cats did not either -- at first. It took some time but then it was like someone flipped a switch and now they go nuts for them more than they ever did for temptations. I can't explain it.
 
Is anyone here making their own treats? If I cooked turkey bacon and made little treats or parmesan crisps would that be a bad idea?
I read here that
You can poach, roast, broil or grill chicken as a treat , It really doesn't matter. Just don't season it.

Would you like me to tag some experienced members about the turkey bacon and Parmesan chips?
I don't think the turkey bacon would be good because the bacon may have a lot of salt in it
I see that some members gave turkey breast lunch meat as long as it was not seasoned
You might be able to freeze the chicken pieces and then take them out to defrost them
I never heard of Parmesan chips, what do them come in a package at the grocery stores?

I see on your spreadsheet it days feeding Buddy 3 times a day
Most of us feed the bigger meal at AMPS and at PMPS then 2-3 smaller meals during each 12 hour cycle, it's easier on the pancreas. Try not to feed after +6 , unless you need to bring his BG up
Do you have a hypo kit also?
@PattyandBuddy





Kyle is absolutely correct about keeping the pens in the fridge even the one you are using
5 pens will last for a year or more


@PattyandBuddy
 
Last edited:
hey I know this one because it was one of the very first questions I asked here myself, a couple months ago. :D

Everyone keeps the pens in the fridge, and people have used every last drop of insulin, way beyond the 28 days, with careful handling and refrigeration of the pen. That is what I was told so that's what we've been doing for months now.

Sorry to hear he is not taking to the freeze-dried. Our cats did not either -- at first. It took some time but then it was like someone flipped a switch and now they go nuts for them more than they ever did for temptations. I can't explain it.
Good to know about the 28 days! i was gonna toss it out at 28 days!
 
@PattyandBuddy
There are 2 dosings methods we follow when using lantus
I'll give you the link so you can read about them
Whichever one you choose to follow will let you know when you need to increase or decrease his dose.
Read it over and tell me what you think
Are you home during the day or do you work?
Do you think you can get some tests in at +6 , that's usually the lowest point in the cycle with lantus but not always. We want to see when Buddy hits nadar
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Read about but here is a quick explanation
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You could try TR if you are feeding LC wet (and no dry) and if you think that's more testing than you can manage, you can switch to SLGS.

You can definitely always ask for advice if you're not sure
Following TR gives you a better chance for remission


You reduce with the Alpha Trak if he drops under 68 if following TR or with SLGS under 90.
From the basics sticky:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
 
Last edited:
I read here that
You can poach, roast, broil or grill chicken as a treat , It really doesn't matter. Just don't season it.

Would you like me to tag some experienced members about the turkey bacon and Parmesan chips?
I don't think the turkey bacon would be good because the bacon may have a lot of salt in it
I see that some members gave turkey breast lunch meat as long as it was not seasoned
You might be able to freeze the chicken pieces and then take them out to defrost them
I never heard of Parmesan chips, what do them come in a package at the grocery stores?
@PattyandBuddy





Kyle is absolutely correct about keeping the pens in the fridge even the one you are using
5 pens will last for a year or more
By the way are you using the lantus vial or the pens?

i am using the bottle with syringes.

oh boy do I have a story about that....... So I bought the lantus pen in the beginning. I called the Dr and said the pen doesn't work well for us and that the needle attachments you screw on the pen bend every time I poke Buddy. The Dr. then goes on to tell me I was suppose to buy the bottle and that I need to return the pen. I mentioned that the prescription she wrote didn't say pen or bottle so she wrote me a new prescription that said bottle on it.

I went back to the pharmacy to get the bottle and they said the bottle is very expensive which it was. I then ask pharmacist #1..."since i bought the pen already....can I buy syringes and take the insulin out of it?" she said no and looked at me crazy. I go home without the bottle and am determined to get the screw on needle attachments to work but they are still bending.

I then go back the next day and ask pharmacist #2 if he could get me stronger screw on needles for the pen because the ones i have bend. he gives me new needles to try. I then ask pharmacist #2 if I can use syringes to take the insulin out of the pen. he said "theoretically you can but you can ruin the pen and insulin that way but some people are doing it on youtube". he also said "just so you know you can't just ask for syringes...that is not how it's done". Again I leave with this pharmacist also looking at me crazy.

So confused and embarrassed I then felt pressured to buy the damn bottle and I did. I also didn't want to "destroy" the pen with syringes according to pharmacist #2.

the Dr. never suggested to give me syringes to just draw out the insulin from the pen. Is any vet recommending this and how do you get them to write a script for pens and syringes that don't go with the pen????? I see everyone here with years of experience is doing it just fine!!

btw the pharmacy said they don't do returns on insulin....

Sorry for my long story.....just sharing a real experience that may be helpful for someone. i'm a pushover and hate confrontation.

i am going to order the pens from now on and from the Canadian pharmacy!
 
i am using the bottle with syringes.

oh boy do I have a story about that....... So I bought the lantus pen in the beginning. I called the Dr and said the pen doesn't work well for us and that the needle attachments you screw on the pen bend every time I poke Buddy. The Dr. then goes on to tell me I was suppose to buy the bottle and that I need to return the pen. I mentioned that the prescription she wrote didn't say pen or bottle so she wrote me a new prescription that said bottle on it.

I went back to the pharmacy to get the bottle and they said the bottle is very expensive which it was. I then ask pharmacist #1..."since i bought the pen already....can I buy syringes and take the insulin out of it?" she said no and looked at me crazy. I go home without the bottle and am determined to get the screw on needle attachments to work but they are still bending.

I then go back the next day and ask pharmacist #2 if he could get me stronger screw on needles for the pen because the ones i have bend. he gives me new needles to try. I then ask pharmacist #2 if I can use syringes to take the insulin out of the pen. he said "theoretically you can but you can ruin the pen and insulin that way but some people are doing it on youtube". he also said "just so you know you can't just ask for syringes...that is not how it's done". Again I leave with this pharmacist also looking at me crazy.

So confused and embarrassed I then felt pressured to buy the damn bottle and I did. I also didn't want to "destroy" the pen with syringes according to pharmacist #2.

the Dr. never suggested to give me syringes to just draw out the insulin from the pen. Is any vet recommending this and how do you get them to write a script for pens and syringes that don't go with the pen????? I see everyone here with years of experience is doing it just fine!!

btw the pharmacy said they don't do returns on insulin....

Sorry for my long story.....just sharing a real experience that may be helpful for someone. i'm a pushover and hate confrontation.

i am going to order the pens from now on and from the Canadian pharmacy!
I remember you telling about this in your intro post
Nothing will happen to the insulin in the pen when using a syringe, idiot pharmacist
When you are ready to order the 5 pens from Canada call them first ,they are very nice people to deal with.

The Canada will contact your vet to fax over the script ,they will explain everything to you, give your vet the heads up and make sure she gives you a refill, then if you need it you can just order it yourself.

So you already have the syringes already since you are using the bottle
I just told my vet I was using the pens and write me a script for syringes, I had no problem with my vet

Lantus Solostar from Canada
Insulin Glargine
Manufactured by Sanofi Aventis
Select product strength & quantity:
100U/mL - 3 ml - $49.99 100U/mL - 15 mL - $164.99
You would want the 5 pens for 164.99
They will last you for a year or more
Plus the expiration dates are most likely good for 2 years after you order them
it's printed on the pens ,just ask the pharmacist
Here is their link
https://canshipmeds.com/medication/lantus/
 
@PattyandBuddy
There are 2 dosings methods we follow when using lantus
I'll give you the link so you can read about them
Whichever one you choose to follow will let you know when you need to increase or decrease his dose.
Read it over and tell me what you think
Are you home during the day or do you work?
Do you think you can get some tests in at +6 , that's usually the lowest point in the cycle with lantus but not always. We want to see when Buddy hits nadar
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Read about but here is a quick explanation
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You could try TR if you are feeding LC wet (and no dry) and if you think that's more testing than you can manage, you can switch to SLGS.

You can definitely always ask for advice if you're not sure
Following TR gives you a better chance for remission


You reduce with the Alpha Trak if he drops under 68 if following TR or with SLGS under 90.
From the basics sticky:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
I am glad you are mentioning this. I finally have some numbers and I see we aren't going lower. I work during the week unless I request it off but I always have the weekends off. I will get the 6+ numbers in this weekend. I will probably be following SLGS. It's odd that the Dr. wrote I need to give Buddy Kyro Syrup if he reaches 80 or below.
 
I am glad you are mentioning this. I finally have some numbers and I see we aren't going lower. I work during the week unless I request it off but I always have the weekends off. I will get the 6+ numbers in this weekend. I will probably be following SLGS. It's odd that the Dr. wrote I need to give Buddy Kyro Syrup if he reaches 80 or below.
What are your shooting times and when do you get home from work meaning at + what
7, 8, or 9 maybe
Depending on where in the cycle 80 was you would feed a little LC wet
Once you have more data you'll understand how many carbs to feed and when
We'll help you no use in talking about it now, your head must be spinning lol
On the weekends you will want to get as many tests as possible , doesn't mean you have to do a curve.
Like on Sat get a +3, then, +6, then +9
Sun get a +4, then a +7, then a +10 maybe
Just try and mix them up, like filling in pieces of a puzzle


For your hypo kit
For your hypo kit you want some
Med and High Carb food and some honey



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Last edited:
I shoot Buddy at around 7:30am and 7:30pm. I then work from 12-6. mon-fri
You do withhold feeding him 2 hours before 7:30 right you don't want the BG to be food influenced
We are all in different time zones , I'm in New Jersey ,so during the week if you give him his insulin at 7:30 PM could you get a test in at 10:30?
What would that be a + what
You have to be in work by noon right, so get a test or 2 in before you leave
 
Last edited:
I feed him about 7 am, by 11:00 am he is already asking for another can of wet food so I leave it out for him and then head to work. I am pretty sure he finishes it well before 5pm. By the time I get home he is yelling at me for food again. I take his blood first and feed him again at about 7pm. Yes I can do a 10:30pm blood check. That would be a +3.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top