Hi Marlene - I see you started a second topic
here. Due to the number of kitties on this forum, we ask that you start just one post a day. If you have new questions or updates, just go to the first post you started that day and click the edit button to edit the subject line, then do a Post Reply to add a new question on the end and bump it up.
To answer your question from the other post:
Yes, Shanti is bouncing. Whenever you see a cycle where the +2 test is significantly lower than the preshot - like last night - I would have at least gotten a +4 test. Cat's can bounce because of fast drops or because they get to numbers lower than they are used to. Shanti did both last night. From preshot to +2 he was dropping 50 or so points an hour which is considered a fast drop.
The +2 test is a good indicator on Lantus on how the cycle will go. If it's significantly lower than the preshot, then you are going to have an active cycle and more testing is needed. If it's about the same, then you'll likely have a normal Lantus cycle and may need more testing, depending on how low the numbers are. If the +2 is higher, you can put aside your test kit and go do something for yourself.
It's really easy to get obsessed with feline diabetes. I'm sure most of us have at one point or another, especially at the beginning. You do have to learn to take care of yourself and do stuff for you too. :YMHUG: Bounces are an opportunity to do that, as much as we hate them.
And here is your post from yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125414
My Neko also has a heart murmur and the echocardiogram did a lot to easy my worries. She has since had a dental, though we went to a dental specialist because they have digital X-rays and are more used to dealing with older/trickier patients.