Nermals AMPS is 85

Laura bb

Member Since 2018
I just took Nermals AMPS and it said 85. How often can a meter be wrong? I am kind of shocked. I will test again soon-letting him eat. It took 3 times for me to get it, he did not want to bleed this morning. Just wondering how often can a ReliOn Comfirm be wrong in lower numbers. I am not giving a shot. Since not an emergency waiting for vet to open.
 
Good call to wait at this point in your journey. Are you warming his ear well before poking? Post your nest test result as soon as you get it. It's possible that his "good dose" for now is somewhere between 1 u and 2 u. Others can help you with dosing. :)
 
I just took it again 3 times to make sure. Twice from the same drop read 58,54. Then to make sure I did another test from the other ear, and that read 54. Could it be going lower and lower? I will test again soon. The 85 was 2 hours before food-but I think he was stressed because he was meowing for food. I dont know what to think. Could it be wrong 4 times. I thought food elevated blood glucose.
 
I rubbed his ears a little bit before, but they were already warm. He was asleep in my lap the second time though.
 
My vet opens in an hour. I just hope he doesnt get too much lower even though I did not give him a shot. I thought I would be really happy about this. Its just it doesnt make sense to me. I was going to take a reading last night after his shot-but I fell asleep. I had been staying up so much with him I think I got exhausted.
 
Deep breaths! :bighug: There might still be some of the 2 u depot at work. It's unlikely he'll hypo without insulin this AM. People here can advise you. I don't think you'll need to take him to the vet.
 
Its just it doesnt make sense to me
It's possible that he had some insulin resistance from glucose toxicity - ie., the excess glucose impairing his cells' ability to respond fully to insulin. That can "break" suddenly and cause a big drop in BG. Let's see what the pros say. :)
 
Good, I am still going to call her. My other kitty Keanu hisses at him everytime ue comes home from the vet. I am still going to call the vet when it opens in one hour, she told me to call if he gets below 200, and not give insulin to know his progress.
 
It's possible that he had some insulin resistance from glucose toxicity - ie., the excess glucose impairing his cells' ability to respond fully to insulin. That can "break" suddenly and cause a big drop in BG. Let's see what the pros say. :)
It is so hard to understand all of this. Would this be a good or bad thing?
 
It is so hard to understand all of this. Would this be a good or bad thing?
It's a good thing. It means his body is beginning to respond well to insulin and that 2 u dose might be too high now. Others will advise on dosing but you can start thinking about fractional dosing. Do your U100 syringes have half unit marks on them? They'll be very useful.

Yes, this is very confusing but it will get better. You can trust the people here on the L forum to give you good advice. :)
 
No, the U100 does not. I can only get needles from the vet. In Oklahoma you need a prescription to buy needles.
 
No, the U100 does not. I can only get needles from the vet. In Oklahoma you need a prescription to buy needles.
You need to be able to adjust the dose in increments less than 1u. Ask her to write the Rx for needles that have half unit markings.

Might mail order be a way around the Rx requirement? Back in the our day that’s how I got around the Rx requirement in Maryland.
 
If ordered from ADW they will need a script if the state requires it. If vet won't right script for 1/2 unit ones. You can use calipers to figure it out.
 
I think she does have those needles. I am waiting for a call back from the doctor. I didnt call her cell because it is not an emergency. I only talked to the technician. The technician thought his numbers were really low-but I don't think she knew I was using a human meter. The doctor knows however that I have a human meter. Still not sure what the big difference between human and pet meter when it comes to numbers. I think higher right on the pet one right?
 
Wow! Agree with Kris...something definitely broke in the right direction. Human meters read lower then pet meters, however are closer together in the lower numbers. There is no direct correlation however so trying to compare the two is a task in frustration.

Wonder what his numbers will be like today.
 
Last edited:
Wow! Agree with Kris...something definitely broke in the right direction. Human meters read lower then pet meters, however are closer together in the lower numbers. There is no direct correlation however so trying to compare the two is a task in frustration instead.

Wonder what his numbers will be like today.
Gonna let him finish a little bit more napping (he just looks so happy), then will test again at +5. Which is in about 30 minutes. You know I keep thinking if I didn’t test him before shots from this group advising me to test then I could have(heaven forbid) put him in a horrible situation today(I don’t wanna say it). I keep saying it to this group but Thank you to all that has helped me!
 
Thank you! I know it sound weird but he is taking a nap smiling right now. I am hoping like crazy these low numbers are making him feel good. This kitty has always been there for me, not it’s my turn. I don’t want to let him down.
Funny u should say that. When bellas numbers are pretty low hes as happy as a clam at low tide, he runs and plays, when they get over 100 150 he naps alot
 
He was grooming himself for awhile earlier, I haven't seen him do that for awhile. I took his reading again it said 96 at +5. And this is after the big scary garbage truck went through the neighborhood.
 
Talked to vet, said just do preshot tests only and just keep an eye on him. if over 200 give 1 unit, if under 200-no shot. So going to wait till his usual insulin shot time and see what his numbers are. Just going to let him take it easy today on his ears and just let him sit in the window and watch the leaves fall. So for now vet just said only test 2 times a day, unless he is acting strange.
 
If you are shooting insulin I would be testing mid cycle. Depending oh his numbers, I think it is better to find a dose you can give twice a day consistently versus 1 unit that maybe a hit or miss.
We like to support the pancreas for as long as possible to get a strong remission.
 
Was just checking in to see how you and Nermal are doing. :)

Looks like Nermal is experiencing some pretty dramatic lows and highs in his BG on only one shot daily. I know your vet suggested giving insulin only once a day but it looks like she suggested 1u and you've been giving Nermal 2u. Was that dose changed at your vet's recommendation?

I agree with Tracey that finding a dose for Nermal that can be given twice a day instead of once a day dosing would help Nermal feel much better and get much better regulated.

That might ultimately mean making dose changes of less than 1u at a time but I see you need a Rx in OK for syringes. Another member in OK took her kitty's medical info to the local pharmacy and the pharmacist provided the syringes with half unit markings without requiring a prescription from the vet. You could try the same with your local pharmacies and see if that solves the syringe issue so that you will be able to finesse the dose to find the dose that keeps Nermal at safe and healthier BG levels without the roller coaster cycles he is currently having. :)
 
Talked to vet, said just do preshot tests only and just keep an eye on him. if over 200 give 1 unit, if under 200-no shot. So going to wait till his usual insulin shot time and see what his numbers are. Just going to let him take it easy today on his ears and just let him sit in the window and watch the leaves fall. So for now vet just said only test 2 times a day, unless he is acting strange.
FYI, my Neko twice tested in the 20's, just snoozing away, acting completely normal. I kept her safe because I caught her dive and got some carbs in her. Just "keep an eye" on her would not have been enough. Testing just at preshots is what vets used to do for older style insulins. For the depot insulins, we determine dose based on the nadirs or low points, which are typically somewhere in the middle of the cycle.

Since you have been shooting 2 units in the AM and skipping each PM for the last week, that suggests that 2.0 units is way too much. Glad you are reducing and hope you can get two shots in a day.
 
Back from vet today, she wants him back to 1 unit twice a day starting tomorrow. He has gained weight and is doing better. Thank you to everyone here for caring.
 
Good luck with the new dose. Nice to see that mid cyle test today. I hope he's a shootable number tonight.
 
Back
Top