Nelson getting close to 'remission' (maybe)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danny&Nelson

Member Since 2012
Hi all. Nelson is going well, his BG is staying down in the normal range all the time now and his nadirs are round about 60s, 70s, sometimes 50s (50s and 60s make me uncomfortable), so i've been reducing his insulin by .25s actually quite rapidly over the last week to 10 days as you can see from the SS, down to .5U as of tonight. I'm wondering, since he seems to be adjusting every time there's a dose decrease, once i go down to .25 twice a day, which may well be in a couple days, how long should i stick with the .25 before i try OTJ? Obviously whenever i stop the insulin i'm going to keep testing a few times a day for weeks to come, but i'm just wondering if anyone has any thoughts about that last little jump from .25 to nothing and how to handle it. danny.
 
Oh and i hope it's not poor form to post here since i'm doing more 'loose regulation' than tight, but since i posted here before i figured i might as well ... danny
 
I'd really recommend slowing things down. The reduction from 2.25u to 1.5u was way big. I would definitely hold this dose until you see completely normal numbers for a week and then consider decreasing by smaller increments. I would suggest holding the dose at 1.25u. There's no indication that a further dose reduction was warranted. Take a look at Boo's Spreadsheet. This is more what you should be aiming for if you're thinking that Nelson is getting closer to going OTJ. I don't think you're quite there yet.
 
Looking really good for Nelson. So far he's done very well w/ your reductions, but remember as the dose gets smaller you are taking a much greater percentage of his insulin away. If you go from .5u to.25u that is cutting his insulin in half! The more slowly you wean him off insulin, the better chance of staying in remission.

When we get down to these doses many of us just start to shave the dose a drop at a time, hold that dose for a week in normal numbers before reducing again. Going too fast can be a big step backwards sometimes.
 
Nelson is looking fabulous! I agree with the others, though...patience is a virtue with this thing. You want to take your time easing down the dosing ladder and provide insulin support for as long as possible, to make sure Nelson's pancreas is strong and remission sticks.

Keep up the awesome work!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top