Nelson 1/23 AMPS 336 +3 277 +6 243 +10 268 PMPS 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bridget & Lord Nelson

Member Since 2010
yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3559

Decided to open new Lantus after discussing with DH last night--since Nelson is back in pink after dropping to high blues last night can't hurt. I already spent the $100 on the new vial so I can't unspend it. :-D

Will also do mini blood curve today. Nelson is due for his follow up visit with the vet this week and I will bring her tight regulation protocol information (the sell a vet stuff). I don't want to do it without some kind of veterinary support. We've done experimental "off label" stuff with Morrison the Uberallergic and since this is just as supported by the literature hopefully she will be at least somewhat supportive.

Disappointed to find that the only feline specialist in town relocated to Reno, NV. We went to her once when we first moved here several years ago but her clinic closed. It was a busy place and her clients loved her. Too bad. She presented grand rounds at the American Association of Feline Practitioners and not to say that means she was a *better* vet than who we have now would be nice to be able to at least be able to consult with one who specializes in feline medicine. The vet school in Baton Rouge is not an option. Been there with a feline cancer case and not impressed. Though there are a couple of feline specialists in BR as well as a couple more in both BR and the Northshore who deal more in holistic nutrition rather than just rx Hills. (One of the BR vets has a link to this website AND to Dr. Lisa's!!!) A fur piece to take Nelson but since we've evacuated the entire hoarde before for a hurricane not impossible.

If today's blood curve indicates no change from old Lantus then will continue with slight dosecrease.

Still doing spot urine checks and either get a lot of spill over or hardly any. So he seems to be hovering right above renal threshhold. I'd like to get him under there and keep him there. Ketones still negative.

If I get a chance to go to Sam's today will also pick up some more strips and .5 unit syringes. The *other* pharmacy that just opened close to my house whose name also begins with "Wal" is not the best. The last 2 times I went in to get u100 syringes the pharm tech didn't know what they were and tried to give me something else.

WCR--still doing much better than before dx. Is starting to associate BG checks with snacks, so is handling those much better and actually comes to me when he sees me getting the testing supplies together. Better have the FF and 9 Lives ready today.
 
Re: Nelson 1/23 AMPS 336 +3 277 +6 243

Hi Bridget,
Im glad to see you are starting to get more testing in! That will be helpful in understanding what is going on with Nelson.

One reason you might be seeing pinks in the a.m., is that Nelson might be going lower than his liver is comfortable with at night. I see you are starting to get some +4 checks in (thats great! :mrgreen: ). A lot of cat's will see their nadir at +6 or there abouts...so he could be dropping into the blue more than you think. Also, in the beginning of your ss, I see a 400 number. If that is where nelson was hanging out pre insulin and in the beginning, then bouncing even from yellows seems quite possible.

Its great you are bringing information to your vet. I really hope they are open to working WITH you!

Have a great weekend. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Nelson 1/23 AMPS 336 +3 277 +6 243

Hi Bridget,
sounds like you are well prepared to handle your vet. Sell that vet!!
BG's lowering nicely today for your mini curve.

BG and snack association working - thats awesome! Makes for easier testing.

Hope u have a good evening with Lord Nelson!
 
Re: Nelson 1/23 AMPS 336 +3 277 +6 243

Hello and a Belated Welcome!!!

I'm so glad you found this board! It is always great to work with your vet. :-D Be confident and don't let them bully you! I used the "this is what I am doing, this is what is working, see spreadsheet" - method, and despite them being skeptics on home testing - they worked with me and now call me from time to time to see what I did + have link to Marco's spreadsheet to study. Lantus Land is very very good and can help you help Nelson 'round the clock! Trust in them, you won't regret it. Test, test, test, and post, post, post.

These numbers today are great! Now, Mr. Nelson keep doing great for the bean!! :)
 
I've been purchasing my syringes through Hocks. They always have the 1/2 unit U100s, their prices are great, and they ship quickly. (FDMB also gets a commission if you use the link.)
 
Hi all, thanks for the support. Nelson did go down a little more and went back up at PMPS. Pretty much the curve described in the sticky. :-)

I resumed a fat 1 dose (almost daylight) and will hold here. Will go back to 1 u if anything funky happens. No one in town has .5 u gradated syringes and most don't even know what they are so it will be difficult to increase by .25. I'll check out Hocks, thanks! I can live with a fat 1 since he is really close to getting in some blue numbers at nadir, plus I want to see what his shed will do. I'll see if I can get a late test tonight at +5 or +6. Usually we go to bed at 10 or so but I'll try to stay up. Poor Nelson's ears! What a pokefest today! But it's good for him and he seems to know it, even if he doesn't like it much.
 
So far so good. 4.5 a 197... back in the blues. To recap today's PokeFest:

AMPS 336
1 u (new vial)
+3 277
+6 243
+10 268
PMPS 280
fat 1 u (will stay there for next 3-4 days and see how he does unless decrease back to 1 u is warranted)
+4.5 197

We'll see if he rebounds back up over 300 again by AMPS or if his curve acts like it did today, just a smidge lower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top