Charlotte & Prop
Member Since 2011
Hi everybody.
As some of you know I help people in Denmark with their diabetic cats. They find me through my webpage www.sukkerkatten.dk and ask for help with their cats. I few months ago you helped me with Pelle who went OTJ after a month on levemir. My own experience with levemir is only through Pelle since my own cat Prop went OTJ after 4 weeks on caninsulin.
Well this time I need help with Bølle, a 13 year old orange and white boy. He was diagnosed after christmas and started on caninsulin. Bølles mom contacted me in the end of feb. since Bølles numbers was above 600 lots of the time and the vet had raised his dose to 4 units. Bølles mom had already read my page about wet food and changed Bølle from dry to low carb wet, but Bølles numbers were still skyhigh. His numbers dropped a lot when we reduced the dose, but he still ended up being very high at amps and pmps.
On friday the family got levemir and we started him on 1 unit twice a day. I havent got an updated spreadsheet, so this is from my memory. But on that first unit he went from above 600 to around 190 . We were affraid to shoot 1 unit again since it was nighttime so he only got ½ a unit. That was to little and his numbers raised a bit, but we keept the dose to see if they would stable. Last night the numbers were up to 320 and we desided to give .8 instead since it looked like they were just slowly raising from shot to shot. During the night his number dropped and this morning he was at 180, a good number for a cat that for a long time mostly had numbers above 600. But since 180 i not to high we were affraid to give .8 so he got .6 instead. His numbers during today has been perfect until pmps.
At + 6 he was 70
At +9 he was 160
And then at pmps he was 520???????
I know the dose hasn't been stable and that is not perfect, but is this rebound? The family testet his bs twice because that is a big raise in only 3 hours. He didnt eat anything i the 3 hours, so that cant be it.
Well we only gave him .6 unit again, trying to keep the dose over a few days, but something is weird here. Any of you have an idea?
Thanks again to all of you, your were a big help to getting Pelle OTJ, I hope you can help me with this guy too.
Charlotte
As some of you know I help people in Denmark with their diabetic cats. They find me through my webpage www.sukkerkatten.dk and ask for help with their cats. I few months ago you helped me with Pelle who went OTJ after a month on levemir. My own experience with levemir is only through Pelle since my own cat Prop went OTJ after 4 weeks on caninsulin.
Well this time I need help with Bølle, a 13 year old orange and white boy. He was diagnosed after christmas and started on caninsulin. Bølles mom contacted me in the end of feb. since Bølles numbers was above 600 lots of the time and the vet had raised his dose to 4 units. Bølles mom had already read my page about wet food and changed Bølle from dry to low carb wet, but Bølles numbers were still skyhigh. His numbers dropped a lot when we reduced the dose, but he still ended up being very high at amps and pmps.
On friday the family got levemir and we started him on 1 unit twice a day. I havent got an updated spreadsheet, so this is from my memory. But on that first unit he went from above 600 to around 190 . We were affraid to shoot 1 unit again since it was nighttime so he only got ½ a unit. That was to little and his numbers raised a bit, but we keept the dose to see if they would stable. Last night the numbers were up to 320 and we desided to give .8 instead since it looked like they were just slowly raising from shot to shot. During the night his number dropped and this morning he was at 180, a good number for a cat that for a long time mostly had numbers above 600. But since 180 i not to high we were affraid to give .8 so he got .6 instead. His numbers during today has been perfect until pmps.
At + 6 he was 70
At +9 he was 160
And then at pmps he was 520???????
I know the dose hasn't been stable and that is not perfect, but is this rebound? The family testet his bs twice because that is a big raise in only 3 hours. He didnt eat anything i the 3 hours, so that cant be it.
Well we only gave him .6 unit again, trying to keep the dose over a few days, but something is weird here. Any of you have an idea?
Thanks again to all of you, your were a big help to getting Pelle OTJ, I hope you can help me with this guy too.
Charlotte