Need to switch Insulin fast!

Mom of Big Kitty

Member Since 2021
My Big Kitty has been on Novalin N for 4-months and he is now on 5units 2x per day after being titrated up from 2units 2x per day. His numbers in the AM & PM are usually in the 600's and I just got him to reach a peak in the 200 range around 6-hours. This is great because we were starting to think he was insulin resistant. I have read that Novalin N is not a preferred insulin in felines and I am in discussions with my vet for Lantus, Basaglar, Levemir or Prozinc. He said he doesn't prefer Lantus because it seems to take longer than 6 hours to take effect and longer than 12 hours to wear off, resulting in difficulties measuring its action. I am looking to make the best change to help stabilize my poor baby because the 600-700's are way to high and he's been in those numbers for months now. Any helpful suggestions or feedback is kindly appreciated.
 
He’s wrong and don’t dose based upon what he says. Lantus onset is usually at +2 after giving it. It’s duration for most cats is 12 hours. It dies take about a week to build the depot but only after the first shot. Take a look at tge spreadsheets of cats that have switched and see how well they are doing.
 
I was in this situation! Simba was on the same insulin and his BG just kept climbing up, dose was increased, no progress whatsoever. More UTI’s and ketones detected as well. A “cat specialist” vet doubted my injection technique and told me to come back in another week. I went to my regular vet two days later and I was determined to get Lantus no matter what - luckily she prescribed it without any arguing or disagreement.

Just from our experience... the switch has been a lifesaver.

Additionally: switching diet to an entirely low-carb wet food (if you haven’t already). Good luck! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
We changed from prozinc to lantus about a month ago, and my only regret is not switching earlier. It is not like all his problems were solved, but he is much better. It is not a magical solution for everyone, but does seem to make a big difference for some, so perhaps worth a try?
 
Thank you all for your helpful replies! I have requested Lantus be called in for Big Kitty and I hope to start him asap. I have weaned him off all dry food and he eats a wet food diet only of Weruva, Tiki Cat and Nulo low carb food. He loves it too! My vet keeps tells me that I haven't given the Novalin N long enough to see if it works for him but we're 4-months in and his daily numbers start and end in the 600's. No good! I have read nothing but good things about Lantus so I am hoping it's the right insulin for him.
 
Thank you all for your helpful replies! I have requested Lantus be called in for Big Kitty and I hope to start him asap. I have weaned him off all dry food and he eats a wet food diet only of Weruva, Tiki Cat and Nulo low carb food. He loves it too! My vet keeps tells me that I haven't given the Novalin N long enough to see if it works for him but we're 4-months in and his daily numbers start and end in the 600's. No good! I have read nothing but good things about Lantus so I am hoping it's the right insulin for him.
I wish you the best of luck with Lantus and hopefully it works out well! :bighug:
 
Here’s just one that switched. Feeding a low carb canned food can make a huge difference.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...rJs4_u_cUBmIdGP1COrsWAOSInfdXkOQAG6hR/pubhtml
Thanks for sharing Rocky and Simba's spreadsheets. Simba's looks a little scary to me with how low her numbers got and insulin was still given. I thought the rule was if they fall to 200 then you don't give a shot? Rocky's spreadsheet looks wonderful and it looks like he's in remission. I hope I can get Big Kitty there but I know that's scary too because you have to be careful to wean them off the insulin so not to overdose them.
 
I am not trying to be negative or anything but I don't think the vets really know what they are doing.
Last night our ER vet just told me that the Lantus insulin takes effect in the cat's body immediately and it does not take time to build the depot. Because the patient's BG number is high, he wanted us to increase the dose. When I told them no, they simply told us they will not be able to treat my cat until we agree with their professional advice. I was like WTF! (excuse my language)
 
I am not trying to be negative or anything but I don't think the vets really know what they are doing.
Last night our ER vet just told me that the Lantus insulin takes effect in the cat's body immediately and it does not take time to build the depot. Because the patient's BG number is high, he wanted us to increase the dose. When I told them no, they simply told us they will not be able to treat my cat until we agree with their professional advice. I was like WTF! (excuse my language)
Sometimes WTF is all you can say! I hear you with the Vet's though. Mine wants me to increase my cat's insulin from 5 units to 7 units just like that. No titration just dose him! Thank God I have common sense and a nursing background to know better. I also find a lot of good information on this site from people who have been through the trial and tribulations of taking care of a diabetic cat and am thankful for it.

I hope you find a good vet who cares for your baby the way you need them to. I have an appointment with another vet in a few weeks to seek out a second opinion, but I do know that education is key with this and YOU are your cats best advocate! Wishing you lots of luck!
 
I thought the rule was if they fall to 200 then you don't give a shot?
Just to answer this - that recommendation if you see a preshot below 200, then you post for help. And that is only for new people with little data. Over time, as you get experience and data, you shoot lower numbers. Both the L insulins (Levemir and Lantus) are great at keeping lower numbers low and flat.
 
You will learn to control the curve using food if you follow our methods.
If you follow TR you give insulin if 50 or over once you have data with SLGS you eventually start shooting uf around 200 and slowly lower the number. Have you read the sticky on the dosing methods we use? I am currently helping someone following TR and she shot a 77 tonight.
 
Last edited:
You will learn to control the curve using food if you follow our methods.
If you follow TR you give insulin if 50 or over once you gave data with SLGS you eventually start shooting uf around 200 and slowly lower tge number. Have you read the sticky on the dosing methods we use? I am currently helping someone following TR and she shot a 77 tonight.
I've been reading up on all the sticky notes trying to get a better understanding of everything. I am so scared to drop him too low so I will most likely be on here asking more questions and studying up on everything I need to know. I am so appreciative that I found this site!!! It's a scary journey to get this under control but I am confident I'll get my Big Kitty there soon! Thank you again!
 
I also suggest that you get a human meter. Our methods originated using human meters. The test strips are a lot cheaper too and most go through a lot of them.
 
Back
Top