Svrunicorn
Member Since 2013
Hi, I'm Shelly and my sugarbaby is Miles. He's 7 and was diagnosed a couple years ago, He is considerably overweight even with very careful portion control @ 18lbs. unfortunately I only found the forum last night due to being desperate (his insulin has gone up again and is almost 200 for a vial now even though it lasts 3 months, and evidently have a sh*%#Y vet :evil: . He put miles on Royal Canin diabetic dry food and has us giving him 5units of Lantis twice a day. Every time he goes in for a curve the doc says he's doing great where he is, the problem is that he will start twitching quite often and the vet says to give him cheese. After reading here I am getting rid of the vet and making some serious changes. I started testing his blood last night when he was twitching (@ 3am) and the meter said Lo. I gave him some Karo to lick off his gums and a little of our other cats food and watched him. I tested him snack +1 and he was at 54 then +2 he was at 87 at breakfast time (8am) he was back down to 57 so I did not give him his insulin I tested him again at food +1.5= 86, +4=77 , dinner time (8pm= 54) so no shot, kids let him out so I haven't been able to test him after dinner. Going to move both fur-babies to wet food and keep close eye on miles blood sugar. I had started testing him after dx but dr. was confusing me about where his blood should be. I have a Reli-on micro tester. Any advise would be helpful. confused_cat