need to make a hard decision

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rex_Rescue_Momma

Member Since 2014
Please, those with experience, I am in tears and don't know what to do next. I love my cat so much, the heartache is devastating me. I just got off the phone with my vet. Things are not stabilizing with Dax. Last night before food/insulin his BG was well over 700. They gave him 2 units of insulin and fed him, went down to the 600s, they checked first thing this morning and it was 189. They fed him and gave him his insulin, and will update me. Bloodwork doesn't indicate anything else, kidney values are good, pancreatic enzymes are good, no signs of infections anywhere, only value that's crazy is his glucose.

I have tried and tried to find a group willing to help me financially and failed. I don't even know how I am going to pay all my utilities and other bills this month, my vet wants to run some more detailed testing to rule out things that won't show up on basic bloodwork, but I just don't have the money to run a lot of tests that may or may not give us any more answers. He said really there's no real reason for him to stay at the hospital since they can't do much more then keep checking his blood sugar and feeding him, which I could do at home. But if he crashes, especially at night, it is very hard for me to get him to a vet fast. And with his numbers still going so crazy, I'm very concerned I don't have the time or ability to monitor him closely enough. I don't drive, I'm paralyzed. The 2 vets close to my apartment close at 6 and aren't cheap. My roommate won't even check his blood sugar for me. I'm not going to be home much this week with several medical appointments scheduled myself. A couple of them would be when his insulin is due, my roommate is not going to give him his insulin, there is no way. I am so stressed and heart broken, I just feel like I have failed Dax, and don't know if I should keep going, or if I should just end his suffering.
 
Oh Lydia honey! I don't know what to tell you except that we will support you in whatever decision you make. We can't make that decision for you.

This must be absolutely heart wrenching for you. Dax and Max only joined your family back in the middle of February and you were able to get Dax in remission so quickly.

If Dax were my kitty, I would be asking myself how his quality of life was. Would I be keeping him alive for my sake or for his? Do we have a chance of turning this situation around? Do I want to keep him at the vet or bring him home?

You have nothing but hard, hard choices ahead of you. Please know that we are there for you.

Big Hugs to you {{{{{Lydia}}}}} dear.
 
How old is he?
Is he managing OK at the vet?
Will your vet take payments?
Who is the vet you are using currently?
 
Dax will be 10 in a month. I went to go see him and he was pretty alert and active so I decided to bring him home. He is not controlled at all. His numbers are all over the map. Found a 4% carb wet food we are changing to. And praying. All I can do.
 
What insulin are you using? We have protocols for both Lantus and Pro Zinc if you haven't got them already.
 
Ok so yesterday he dropped so low you couldn't get a measure on the meter right? That says his insulin was too high at 1 unit. Then today he was super high, which is totally to be expected given he dropped low. That's a classic bounce. And if the vet gives insulin again and it's too much a chronic bouncing pattern would develop.

Why did he go back on insulin yesterday? One pink number isn't enough to merit it. Could have been a temporary aberration... Fur ball or something.

Show the vet these numbers and discuss somogyi with them.

Wendy
 
Dax's numbers are consistently high. Even now with 1.5 units BID. He is not himself at all. I can't find any financial support. I can just do all I can and pray he turns around. But I think the end is very near for Dax.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top