need to know next dose 2/11 Bart +7 147

Status
Not open for further replies.

debby le

Member Since 2011
Bart was at 147 at his +7 which is the lowest he has ever been. Should I give him his 3.5 or shouBart's SSld I decrease at his +12 I'm thinking what ever his number is at his 12 will tell me
 
Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle (the nadir) not on your pre-shot numbers. The dose is reduced only when you get a nadir that is below 50. It would help to know if Bart is seeing more blue in the PM cycle if you could get some tests at night. When you start routinely seeing nadirs that are below 200, you would hold the dose for 3 - 5 days rather than for 3 days so those PM tests are important.
 
Hi Debby, great job on managing Bart to a blue number today! What Sienne said is right on the spot. Need more evening readings and you wouldn't reduce the dose until you see a 50 BG reading.

I know trying to watch for a number to get that low is nerve wracking, but it's worth it in the long run. If it's any consolation, a BG of 50 means "hey, need attention here." I try to put a positive spin on it and think of it as time to give Cini a carb treat he hasn't had in a while :-D
 
nice to see that 147 finally! blue numbers sure are a lot better than the pinks/reds! i agree with the advice you've already gotten - you want this - lots more of it! don't decrease the dose yet.
 
Thank you I'm trying to get a night time test its hard getting up at night but will try tonight and get a couple thanks again have a good night.
 
Nice beautiful blue 147, Bart. Get some more of those, big guy :mrgreen:
I agree, the dose should not be reduced until he gets a number under 50.
 
Very nice !

I'll add my voice to the "hold the dose" chorus.
Any random checks you can get, particularly at some different times than you usually get, would be good data to have.
 
Go Bart, it's good to see some action here! Just a reminder though to watch out for shooting a dropping number, Bart is mid cycle with his lovely blue so I don't think it's going to happen to you this cycle but it may happen in the future - see the sticky about handling and shooting low numbers at the top of the forum if you don't already have it printed out and stuck on your fridge.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top