Need to get Loki back on a regular schedule

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
I would really like him to be on the 8am and 8pm schedule, it's easier for me right now. So any advise how to get back to this I would really appreciate.
Just did a +6 on him and he is at 71, gave him some food and will recheck him later, also updated his SS.
Thanks again.
Michele and Loki
 
I would test again in 30 minutes to stay on top of that 71, it's not a scarry number but you want to track wheather he's still dropping or not.

To get back on schedule you would have to start shooting 30 minutes early every cycle until you get back to your regular time. You should lower you dose by a bit while you are doing this because an early shot is like a dose increase.
 
Hi, just got back from visiting a friend in hospital so I was not around for the 30 minute check but just checked and he is at 91, he did eat some at the +6 check but not too much. Will check him again in 1 1/2 hr which would bring me to that 1/2 hr earlier window. Would this be right?
Thanks.
 
Yes, that would be good. I will be surprised if he is high enough to shoot at pmps, especially your target 30 minutes early. He is doing so well!
 
Thanks Sue I really needed to hear that he is doing well. :-D still stressed but not as bad, will update when it's his +12. I have to say that getting to know all the jargon is the best thing ever. See you soon.
 
Sue might be right about not being high enough to shoot, if he isn't then skip and start over in the morning at your regular scheduled time.
 
Loki is at 100 do I need to get up at 4:30am to check his +6? Or can I skip and then test at his regular time which would be +8 for him?
Plus I am going to give him a little something to eat he is hungry, how much should I give him?
 
I would not give insulin tonight. Give him something to eat. Both of you have a good night - no need to get up and test. Then tomorrow morning, at the time you want to get on schedule, test and shoot. He'll probably be in the 300s because you skipped, but you can get him back on schedule and into good numbers.
 
I agree, no shot tonight, get back on 8am schedule tomorrow morning.

I would also lower the dose for AMPS to 1.25 unit if it is shootable.
 
Good morning day 5
Tested Loki at 8am his regular time , he had no shot last night and so I am no surprised that he is at 385 this morning, gave him 1 1/2 units (did not see Rob's post till this morning to use a lower dose) also did the keytone test and it was = negative.
Will recheck at +6 or should I recheck sooner?
Thanks
 
Lovely to get a negative ketone test. I think your dose should be fine, but if you are around, it is always safest to get +3 just to see how things are headed. Then a +6 would be very helpful.
 
Yay for negative ketones.

The reason I suggested lowering the dose to 1.25 unit is because you are having to stall or skip at 12 hours because you are getting unshootable numbers. A small dose decrease should help getting shootable numbers at PS times.
 
That's only 16 points higher than his AMPS. They usually get a rise from the food, then 2 to 3 hours later you will start seeing the effects of the insulin. This is normal.
 
Rob your right on the $, just checked him before my vet appt with the dog and got 291. Will check him again when I get back. Updated his SS also.
 
Hmmmm. Wonder if he will still be heading down at pmps. That will mess up our carefully laid plans to get you back on schedule. But it will be a sure sign that the dose needs to be reduced.
 
Just rechecked him and he is at 255 + 10 Did I mess something up trying to get him back to his regular schedule? He will be at +12 in 2 hrs. confused_cat
 
No you didn't mess up anything, I think you are back on schedule if you shot this morning at 8am.

He's still dropping at +10 so if you could test at +11.5 and then again at +12 to make sure his numbers are going up and not down.

I think I would reduce the dose now. Depending on what his PMPS is, we can decide then.
 
Food will play with his numbers, it's part of the sugar dance. So we put on our dancing shoes and dance around it.

You are doing great.
 
Ok just got 273, he is due in 1 hr how much should tonight dose be then. Just got the bonito treats in and he loved them, only gave him 2 right after his check for a reward because I can tell as good as he is, he has about had it with my poking his ears LOL.
 
If you are still on the board, Loki's PMPS was a dropping number. You may need to stay up and test him.

I suggested the 1 unit based on his +11 279 assuming he was rising. Now I'm a little worried.
 
Sorry did not see the last post from Rob, so I did not retest him during the night, got up this morning and tested he is at 293 gave 1 unit , hope I was right?
 
That sounds like a good dose. You are getting the hang of this.

Robin and I discussed whether we should call and ask you to test, but decided to let you sleep. The last part of yesterday's cycle was strange - all in the 200 range but going up and down by a few points. There is that 20% variance so we finally decided to chalk it up to that. Looks like it turned out fine.
 
Thanks Sue, and I agree about yesterdays numbers, wonder if I checked him too often? As someone wrote here "no cat has died from being tested too much" and I feel the same way. Better safe than sorry.So will recheck at +3 and update. You guys can call me anytime :-D
 
Nice AMPS, I'm glad everything went well, I did get a little concerned with the dropping number.

I like that "no cat has died from being tested too much", I always felt it was better to test and know exactly what was happening.
 
+12 at 298, Looking at his SS 1 unit seems right to me but not really sure, he is eating right now so as soon as you can please let me know. Thanks.
Had to give him 1 unit as he was done eating and did not want to wait much longer, but I think it's right even from last night's numbers.
 
It would need to be about 2 hours for the food not to influence the number. But you might do a test in 30 minutes to see if his pancreas is starting to work. If he is higher in 30 minutes, no pancreas yet. If he goes down, his pancreas may be starting to wake up.

Nice amps. What are you thinking today? Would be nice not to skip but to give at least a token dose. Will you be around? How badly would 2 hours mess up your schedule?
 
Morning Sue, I am around most of the day and in and out so not an issue I can be here for Loki. I am hoping that in 30 minutes he starts to show something but won't this set him back again? If in 2 hrs I have to shoot will we me messed up again? If so then so be it, he comes first.
 
We keep running into this issue. Some night it would be good to get a nadir overnight. That will tell us if he dips low and is slowly coming back up by amps or if he has a cycle that just slowly goes down and the amps is the lowest number of the cycle.

You have choices but all are a little nerve wracking. One, you have to make sure the amps is a rising number so that means 20 minutes without food and a retest. Then if he was up in the 180s for example, you could shoot a reduced dose (assuming you would be around to monitor.). That isn't an option today because you fed him. . Two, feed and wait at least 1.5 hours and then test and shoot a reduced dose. (reduced because you have to consider his number is partially food influenced). That throws your schedule off by 1.5 hours. Three, wait 2 hours and shoot a regular dose. This has the potential for wrecking up your schedule but the way he has been having long cycles, it might be that the pmps would be too low to shoot and you would skip and could get back on your regular schedule in the am.

All are less than ideal, but you are doing the right stuff. He is just throwing lower numbers than we expect. Your one unit was the right dose last night. He seems to be requiring less insulin each cycle or two. This is a good sign but makes dosing tricky.

Does any of this make sense?
 
That's the safest way to handle it. In 2 hours, he will probably be in the 300s. If so, I would shoot one unit again and plan to test at +3 and +6 or somewhere close to that. In 1.5 hours, maybe Robin will weigh in and we can get her input. She is a little more conservative than I am, sometimes.
 
I like your plan, it's good that you are around and can work with the off schedule issues. Because of that you can afford to be a little more aggressive because you don't have to leave him alone all day. That's usually why I tend to be more conservative.

My gut reaction would be to skinny up the 1 unit.

I was also going to mention that if you post and no one is around you could send Sue or I a PM. I don't know about Sue but a PM notice will show up in my email and let me know to log on.
 
Ok he is now at 345 at +2 thinking that 1 unit should be ok. I do have to go out and bring home a friend from the hospital today, not sure when his discharge is.
Will pm you both thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top