Edit** I thought it may help to mention that Xena's # at original diagnosis was 280 (Human Glucometer)... so my point is that you can see Vetsulin has not brought us much of anywhere as far as i can see. (this makes me feel like I may be best considering her as if she were starting new)
Thank You So Much!... to all of you for your insight.
Bron...Thank You very much for mentioning the syringe type. While I was aware of that because of past experience AND from reading/researching here, I know it is HUGELY Important, and I appreciate your care/advice, because God forbid I didn't know... uising the wrong syringes could kill my cat. (As it turns out OF COURSE... just like 6 months ago while organizing... I finally decided to get rid of all my left over "U-100 3/10thcc 29 gauge with half unit markings" that I still had from 10 yrs ago (more on that below))
...and YES, I definitely have a Hypo Kit. I read and printed the Hypo Kit contents and Hypo Treatment procedure. (Thank You For that also)
---And I will Definitely be testing every Preshot (Again some pertinent history below)
It so happens...that I have actually been through this before, but it was 10 years ago, and I had a gentleman named "Ken" from this group coach me 1 on 1 (not on this forum), which was a HUGE help. So... I do know the process, but since KEN was so experienced, I followed his advice for dosing. The results were Amazing, and I was very Lucky and my cat "chester" (from 10 years ago) went into remission after only a few weeks. Because he went OTJ so quickly, I didn't really have a chance to really get a lot of experience as far as the dosing, and dealing with changes etc.
Below you will see the Spreadsheet from my cat 10 yrs ago, and how I did follow a strict process.
10 yrs ago - Chester's Sheet THIS IS NOT MY CURRENT SUGAR BABY For Example ONLY
That being said... I did not want to use Vetsulin. My plan was to change to Lantus, but because of some serious financial setbacks I had to source some Lantus. I figured that I would try the Vetsulin in the meantime. However, I honestly feel like the Vetsulin is doing very little to nothing, and I actually did start taking BG readings earlier that are not on the chart...because the meter I had was reading much lower (consistantly) than what the #'s actually were. It did not seem to be random, it just seemed to be consistantly low... if that makes sensse. So... Seeing that the Vetsulin was notbringing Xena anywhere near low #'s, I started testing more for the Nadir's... but also getting some Pre Shot #'s. I really feel like I have an idea of what is going on with the Vetsulin...which again is that it is doing little to nothing.
When I switch to Lantus, the testing will be kept on a strict regiment. My feeling though, is that it is almost like going on Lantus from being on no insulin at all. That is why I wanted to start low. I really don't feel like the Vetsulin has given us any idea of how she will react to Lantus...and I know all cats are different, but if you look at my cat Chester's chart, you will see that when we started him on Lantus, 1 Unit brought him from an AMPS of 421 to a PMPS of 65! That makes me hesitant to start any higher. I do realize I very well may have to increase the dose, but I would rather play it safe by Starting Low and Going Slow...even though I will be keeping a strict testing schedule, and DO want to move to Tight Regulation moving forward.
All feedback welcome, and again Thank You to all.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom