Howiesmom
Active Member
@Wendy&Neko
Howie is on Day 10 of cabergoline. Prior to starting, it looks like we finally broke through his glucose toxicity. He was up to 55 units BID at his peak, was at 46 units when we started cabergoline, and is now down to 30 units. It is hard to say what effect the cabergoline has had so far vs trying to slide down the scale to get him to some better/safer numbers that are more blue than green! After a couple BCSs and a decrease from 35 units to 30 units in the last couple of days (all under Wendy’s guidance, of course!) I must have drained a lot of the depot as he was up as high as 175 today (nadir was 152 at PMPS). Let me tell you how nice it is to be back to just 1 syringe and I can get through 10 cycles in a levemir pen instead of 5-6!
Assuming I can start him back on using some R at some point (if he is above 175), do I need to restart his scale or do I start where I left off? He hasn’t had any since Jan 19, but I never found a dosage that had any dramatic effects besides maybe just holding him steady from going higher. Thanks!
Howie is on Day 10 of cabergoline. Prior to starting, it looks like we finally broke through his glucose toxicity. He was up to 55 units BID at his peak, was at 46 units when we started cabergoline, and is now down to 30 units. It is hard to say what effect the cabergoline has had so far vs trying to slide down the scale to get him to some better/safer numbers that are more blue than green! After a couple BCSs and a decrease from 35 units to 30 units in the last couple of days (all under Wendy’s guidance, of course!) I must have drained a lot of the depot as he was up as high as 175 today (nadir was 152 at PMPS). Let me tell you how nice it is to be back to just 1 syringe and I can get through 10 cycles in a levemir pen instead of 5-6!
Assuming I can start him back on using some R at some point (if he is above 175), do I need to restart his scale or do I start where I left off? He hasn’t had any since Jan 19, but I never found a dosage that had any dramatic effects besides maybe just holding him steady from going higher. Thanks!