Need some input! Sam PMPS 255

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, it's night time, so I would go more conservative and do one unit.

Don't let any anxiety about the changing numbers cloud the good news! He iis going steadily down in numbers and dose. You are doing a fantastic job!
 
Thank you both for chiming in! So appreciated. It is good news, but also unnerving. I have a feeling I'll be getting up to check on him tonight. lol
 
I agree, good call! Generally speaking, you should not shoot more than you feel is safe. I think you are doing a great job going with your gut.

I would probably try 1.3 as a dose for higher PSs, and experiment with lower doses as you are at PSs under that. If you can get any spot checks in tonight, that should help you evaluate. So far 1.2 has looked too low so I would expect 1u to be a bit short, but who knows, and you haven't tried this kind of PS in a bit, so it's good to play it safe and collect data if you can. I probably wouldn't drop it down below 0.8 even on a lower PS, but you should do what feels safe to you.

Gosh I am glad you aren't shooting 2u anymore. I was pretty sure that dose was a hair too high, but I didn't think it was this much too high. :shock: Getting this much drop on a higher PS.... :o It's about a 75% drop if I did the math right, which is actually a little steep, even though I think it was good today to get the good nadir, and it set you up with a very nice PS tonight.

Make sure you are testing for ketones regularly too. Ketones are a result of too little insulin (combined with other factors) rather than high #s per se - sometimes we've seen a cat with moderately good #s that still gets ketones, so especially with the dose reduction I would stay on top of the ketone tests (if you don't already - I know I tend to forget :oops: ). Not to scare you, it's not something I'd expect, but with a history it's good to be on the safe side.
 
I haven't been testing for ketones, not because I don't want to, but because I can never seem to catch Sam when he's peeing! We have 4 litter boxes, so it's a little hard to keep track of him. I may try to isolate him with me tomorrow so I can check.

Thanks everyone for helping me in this journey! I couldn't have done it without you. Literally.
 
Gator computor is down, he's on phone, asked me to make sure your ok. agree's with joanna about 1.3.

and hi from lori, sorry i'm busy and not posting here.
 
Sam's +2 is 232, so I'm thinking we're fine for the night and might be a little high tomorrow, but I'll cross that bridge when we get to it. Tell Gator I said thanks!
 
Can't wait to see Sam's AMPS. I'm thinking he most likely went <100 nadir last night as his +9 was 152 and his nadir is usually +6
 
Me too! I was up early this morning so decided to do the +9. I actually expected it to be higher, so I'm really encouraged and can't wait to see what his AMPS is.
 
That was a nice +9, so the +6 must have been lowish too. You and Beth are doing such a great job- feeling more confident and making good choices about doses.
 
I can't speak for Beth, but I know for me my confidence is built on the support of this group and members like you.
 
Kristen and I are doing so well BECAUSE of all the SUPER folks that have helped to get us to this point. ( and in my case, dragging and screaming :lol: )

GET THAT AMPS, woman.... I can't wait!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top