wombat88
Member Since 2010
Shaikha is off the charts high, and I don't know what to do. I gave her 2 units (I thought) at around 7pm my time tonight. I just took a reading at +4 and she was at 587!!! Today was a bad day -- no time to do a curve like planned, but her readings today have been absolutely awful.
She started out okay I thought -- only 284 AMPS, then dropped quickly to 139 by +3. Unfortunately by +6.5 she had spiked to 395. I didn't think I could give her a shot then, so I waited trying to see how high she'd get on a full 12 hours. Unfortunately, she was up to 476 by PMPS and even after giving insulin after dinner, she's now seriously high.
I don't know what is going on with her. The only thing I can think of that the PM dose must have been a fur shot. I always check to ensure I can see her skin, but maybe I missed it because I was rushing around here. She's acting okay, but obviously with levels like that I'm scared.
What should I do? Give her more, like a token dose to try to get her down some? She's had issues with neuropathy before, but this is almost as bad as when she spiked a high fever in Feb. and was reading over 600 quite a bit.
Help! I am cross-posting this here and in the PZI forum because with the holiday I don't know how many are on. She started using PZI on 3/27, but so far control has been poor. We were using Vetsulin previously.
She started out okay I thought -- only 284 AMPS, then dropped quickly to 139 by +3. Unfortunately by +6.5 she had spiked to 395. I didn't think I could give her a shot then, so I waited trying to see how high she'd get on a full 12 hours. Unfortunately, she was up to 476 by PMPS and even after giving insulin after dinner, she's now seriously high.
I don't know what is going on with her. The only thing I can think of that the PM dose must have been a fur shot. I always check to ensure I can see her skin, but maybe I missed it because I was rushing around here. She's acting okay, but obviously with levels like that I'm scared.
What should I do? Give her more, like a token dose to try to get her down some? She's had issues with neuropathy before, but this is almost as bad as when she spiked a high fever in Feb. and was reading over 600 quite a bit.
Help! I am cross-posting this here and in the PZI forum because with the holiday I don't know how many are on. She started using PZI on 3/27, but so far control has been poor. We were using Vetsulin previously.