Need some help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
Shaikha is off the charts high, and I don't know what to do. I gave her 2 units (I thought) at around 7pm my time tonight. I just took a reading at +4 and she was at 587!!! Today was a bad day -- no time to do a curve like planned, but her readings today have been absolutely awful.

She started out okay I thought -- only 284 AMPS, then dropped quickly to 139 by +3. Unfortunately by +6.5 she had spiked to 395. I didn't think I could give her a shot then, so I waited trying to see how high she'd get on a full 12 hours. Unfortunately, she was up to 476 by PMPS and even after giving insulin after dinner, she's now seriously high.

I don't know what is going on with her. The only thing I can think of that the PM dose must have been a fur shot. I always check to ensure I can see her skin, but maybe I missed it because I was rushing around here. She's acting okay, but obviously with levels like that I'm scared.

What should I do? Give her more, like a token dose to try to get her down some? She's had issues with neuropathy before, but this is almost as bad as when she spiked a high fever in Feb. and was reading over 600 quite a bit.

Help! I am cross-posting this here and in the PZI forum because with the holiday I don't know how many are on. She started using PZI on 3/27, but so far control has been poor. We were using Vetsulin previously.
 
Dear Wendy, and, of course, you too, sweet Shaikha,

Breathe. As scary as high as high numbers are, they're less scary than low ones... It probably doesn't make sense right now, but please trust me, okay? Any chance of ketones or catching pee?

I've got two windows open so I can see your PZI cross post comments and responses...

wombat88 said:
Shaikha is off the charts high, and I don't know what to do. I gave her 2 units (I thought) at around 7pm my time tonight. I just took a reading at +4 and she was at 587!!! Today was a bad day -- no time to do a curve like planned, but her readings today have been absolutely awful.

She started out okay I thought -- only 284 AMPS, then dropped quickly to 139 by +3. Unfortunately by +6.5 she had spiked to 395. I didn't think I could give her a shot then, so I waited trying to see how high she'd get on a full 12 hours. Unfortunately, she was up to 476 by PMPS and even after giving insulin after dinner, she's now seriously high.
Did Shaikha eat anything between +3 and +6.5? And, yes, you were right not to give her another shot then.

You mentioned that you might have given a fur shot tonight, which could/probably explain the +4 587 reading tonight. Been there, done that too... Also, not good to give another shot when you think or know that happens, because you don't know how much insulin got in vs how much insulin wetness you felt on her fur or your fingers...


wombat88 said:
What is worrying me is that in the past when I've seen spikes in levels, it was because her pancreatitis was flaring up. Usually I see an increase in BG a few days before other symptoms like inappetance and pain show up. If she's still high tomorrow I probably should take her back to the vet and get a PLI done again.

Should I get up mid-AM and do a reading or two? Or do you think she'll come down off this without any action on my part?

wombat88 said:
She's acting okay, but obviously with levels like that I'm scared.
Dear Wendy, she's acting okay! And, yes, it's okay to be scared!

Is she eating okay? Does she appear to be in any discomfort or pain? If not, then it probably was a fur shot; and, yes, she'll settle down once again. However, you know your furry girl better than anyone on the planet, so if you think something else is going on, then by all means, have her checked by her vet. If you decide after breathing, maybe it was just a fur shot and they do happen, then maybe give her another day or so to see if she settles down... Does that sound like a plan?


Some days simply suck, Wendy... They don't go according to plan because we're dealing with cats and life...

Love and BIG hugs because I sense you might need them right about now,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...

PS: Just a humble tip from one who rambles whilst typing out loud... Always copy your post before hitting submit! That way you can paste what you were going to say before you timed out and had to log on again... Copying now!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top