need some help please about dosing etc... cat out of 5 year remission new to prozinc

Ummlee and Vengeance

Member Since 2020
Soo recently my cat came out of remission after 5 years ... long story is on the main forum Well it seems Vengeance and I are back after 5 years and 2 months in remission and things are.....UPDATED he was on vetsulin the first time.. which my vet no longer gives to cats..

so his numbers dont seem to being doing very much on the prozinc ... when he had diabeties the first time his numbers were all very low it was keeping them steady and I go him in remission in about 4 weeks... he had just had kidney failure etc You cand find my old threads on here from back then.... I did a curve the other day and nunbers dont seem to be doing much in movement after 2 weeks... he had a few blues in the beginning now its 300s or so and this morning his highest at 412 ... I dont know if the dose of 2 units is too high or too low... being I wonder if its a bounce effect maybe? being his numbers at +6 never seem to be that great... starting to get worried being like I said the first time here is his old sheet from 5 years ago old spread sheet ( 2020 ) it was more low numbers after a week or so than high numbers... there are also in the first link to main page his blood test results from 2 weeks ago..

I appreciate any help thanks so much
 
I looked at your spreadsheet yesterday and saw all the pink for that day — have you gotten any more tests since then? If your kitty was bouncing that day then those numbers would be high and may not be indocative of what he’s doing on other days.

Also, with the bad tooth, he may not really be able to get regulated. That needs to be addressed as soon as possible, as long as his bloodwork indicates that he can have anesthesia.
 
I can’t really make any dosing recommendations because there are not regular mid cycle tests on his spreadsheet. I see the days you did the curve, but there’s not much except preshot tests after that. With the red AMPS this morning, I wonder if he had a lower number last night (nothing dangerous, but lower than he is accustomed to.) What would really be helpful in making dose adjustments would be to get at least one test during each cycle. One day you could try a +6 and another day a +4, etc.
 
I can’t really make any dosing recommendations because there are not regular mid cycle tests on his spreadsheet. I see the days you did the curve, but there’s not much except preshot tests after that. With the red AMPS this morning, I wonder if he had a lower number last night (nothing dangerous, but lower than he is accustomed to.) What would really be helpful in making dose adjustments would be to get at least one test during each cycle. One day you could try a +6 and another day a +4, etc.
HI I tried the last few days to get more numbers... today the 27th his numbers have been very odd I wonder if his AM shot didnt get in etc was no wet fur I always check etc... He had gotten some much better #s yesterday but today now totally nadda change almost.. he is 14lbs and they started him on 2 units should I maybe bump to 2.5 and see if any changes being its been 17 days since started back after 5 years in remission... the odd thing is if you look at his first time before remission he was all low #'s for the most part this time its all high.. I did post all his recent medical records in the main room post... thanks
 
If you can get some tests then you could try increasing to 2.25 units first to be cautious. He has seen some blue and yellow on this dose so I would be cautious. I don’t expect anything dramatic, but I would like to proceed cautiously. If it’s not helping and you are getting a few tests to verify numbers then we can increase again after about 3 days.
 
It looks to me like he is bouncing today from the yellows yesterday. That is definitely possible. It doesn’t have to be really low numbers to create a bounce, but just numbers that his body is not accustomed to being in anymore. I’m actually glad to see a little yellow.
 
It looks to me like he is bouncing today from the yellows yesterday. That is definitely possible. It doesn’t have to be really low numbers to create a bounce, but just numbers that his body is not accustomed to being in anymore. I’m actually glad to see a little yellow.
yeah so was I, hope to get more get him back into blues and greens... .. I will be testing him tonight at +3 +4 +5 and +6 to see where #'s go

Thanks :)
 
I think it’s good that you saw a little blue on this dose. He certainly stays high for a while after some blues. Does he eat only FF pates?
 
If he eats an all LC wet diet and you would like to follow MPM (modified ProZinc method) then I would say you could increase to 2.5 units tomorrow morning, unless you see some lower blues tonight (then hold the dose a little longer.) MPM will give you a chance to get him into better numbers more quickly.
 
If he eats an all LC wet diet and you would like to follow MPM (modified ProZinc method) then I would say you could increase to 2.5 units tomorrow morning, unless you see some lower blues tonight (then hold the dose a little longer.) MPM will give you a chance to get him into better numbers more quickly.
He only eats FF Pates, Friskies Pates and occasional Sheba pate No gravy etc I will do a 2-4-6 on him tonight and see the numbers trying to give him an ear break from the last few days...today till 7pm I will up to 2.5 tomorrow AM and see how his # do if no blues tonight

again thanks so much :)
 
Last edited:
He only eats FF Pates, Friskies Pates and occasional Sheba pate No gravy etc I will do a 2-4-6 on him tonight and see the numbers trying to give him an ear break from the last few days...today till 7pm I will up to 2.5 tomorrow AM and see how his # do if no blues tonight

If he eats an all LC wet diet and you would like to follow MPM (modified ProZinc method) then I would say you could increase to 2.5 units tomorrow morning, unless you see some lower blues tonight (then hold the dose a little longer.) MPM will give you a chance to get him into better numbers more quickly.
@Suzanne & Darcy if you could check his chart and see if I should start the 2.5 tonight or wait till tomorrow

Thanks So Much
 
Oh I am glad to see more blue. I would wait until tomorrow to increase. Great job with the testing! How does he seem to you behavior wise? How do you think he is feeling in the lower numbers? What about when he’s in the pinks?

What did your vet say?
 
Oh I am glad to see more blue. I would wait until tomorrow to increase. Great job with the testing! How does he seem to you behavior wise? How do you think he is feeling in the lower numbers? What about when he’s in the pinks?

What did your vet say?
my vet never got back to me about the pancreatitis.. actually he acts no different at all anytime for the most part... hes a lazy cat for the most part to begin with but he still jumps on my bed cuddles walks around house climbed up on the cat tree thats 7ft tall the other night when I was putting my shoes on....he never seems to me to be lethargic ... he wants food 24/7 lol I have started back with smaller meals with snacks between... like right now just got 406 and hes playing with a box on the floor next to my computer becasue I am typing this and not putting food in his bowl lol...
 
my vet never got back to me about the pancreatitis.. actually he acts no different at all anytime for the most part... hes a lazy cat for the most part to begin with but he still jumps on my bed cuddles walks around house climbed up on the cat tree thats 7ft tall the other night when I was putting my shoes on....he never seems to me to be lethargic ... he wants food 24/7 lol I have started back with smaller meals with snacks between... like right now just got 406 and hes playing with a box on the floor next to my computer becasue I am typing this and not putting food in his bowl lol...
@Suzanne & Darcy hi so I am completely fuzzed about his numbers... they seems besides one good night to be getting higher at amps and pmps... could I have jumped the gun on upping dose from 2??? His numbers kinda looked better then??? thanks so much
 
His numbers are super frustrating! I do not think you increased too quickly. You gave the 2.25 units a fair shot. In fact, I think he’s ready for another increase to 2.75. I think he is really bouncy and also that we haven’t hit his breakthrough dose yet.
 
May I ask what 6@ 12:45 and 9 @4:25 mean? I am not understanding the notes in the comments.
I was saying the test times which should have been +6 or +9 were done at the times diff but fit inside that windows of hour.... hes never been on any meds for his asthma my vet goes back and forth if he even has it being she will say he sounds fine no asthma then well maybe the next time.... but he will on occasion have an asthma like cough from videos Ive seen but they are not very regular like once in a while she offered me meds... IF I thought I wanted him on them but she never said HE NEEDS THEM... kinda weird...he has a odd purr and snores a lot... so he is noisy.. very cool north or south South Ga for me... ok will bump to 2.75 in the morning... and I really do appreciate all the help... they odd part by this time when he was first diagnosed and almost died was way way worse health in 2020 he was 95% in remission in 2.5 weeks on insulin..... strange and back then his number were all lows and got to him on almost nothing in 3 weeks...
 
Here is a link to the instructions about how to do advanced recording of numbers on your spreadsheet — for when you have times where you test that aren’t right on the hour (which happens a lot.) Or for when you have multiple tests in a single hour (which usually is when you are managing low numbers.) We need all the numbers in there. Scroll down past the part about basic recording to the section on advanced recording of SS numbers.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/
 
I hear you about what happened last time. You were extremely lucky to get him into remission in a few weeks last time. That’s not the norm, but we do see it happen. I am really sorry he came out of remission. That’s so hard. What was the cause of him becoming diabetic last time?

Something as “simple” as a bad tooth can knock a cat out of remission, although that doesn’t have to be the only thing going on.

That is strange about the asthma (your vet I mean). Usually a chest x-ray is done to look for typical patterns that indicate asthma.

I’m in the middle part of Georgia.
 
I hear you about what happened last time. You were extremely lucky to get him into remission in a few weeks last time. That’s not the norm, but we do see it happen. I am really sorry he came out of remission. That’s so hard. What was the cause of him becoming diabetic last time?

Something as “simple” as a bad tooth can knock a cat out of remission, although that doesn’t have to be the only thing going on.

That is strange about the asthma (your vet I mean). Usually a chest x-ray is done to look for typical patterns that indicate asthma.

I’m in the middle part of Georgia.
cause for Diabetes originally too many steroids due to issues with multiple issues with crystals and urinary blockages for like 2 years it was almost non stop issues with it I finally switched him to can food and that thankfully stopped... BUT the many times on steroids was too much for him I guess suddenly he had lost a lot of weight over a few months and was just not himself so I got worried and took him in and he was in Kidney failure and etc and they saw he was diabetic and said it was most likely due to all of the steroids over the previous 2 years... He was in such bad shape my vet mentioned euthanizing him being his Kidneys and etc were in that bad of shape ... I said HE!! NO do whatever it takes to get him well and back normal... they got him stabilized after a long hospital stay and finally let him come home BUT he now had diabetes which luckily went into remission very quickly ... and had no issues for the last 5 years even when he had pancreatitis 2.5 years ago... the vet told me when I took him for his tooth Nothing wrong with tooth BUT hes out of remission sooo thus back here and I honestly trust the people on this board more than my vet being last time and this time they just said here insulin and syringes dont test his #'s just give him what we told you and come back in a few months.... yeah they did xrays and ultrasounds when he had pancreatitis 2.5 years ago I told them test him for everything so I had them do the works and they said he was fine besides the pancreatitis lungs,liver,heart etc all good... same thing back then I asked about taking the tooth out they said no need if he eats like you say he does then hes not having issues with it... I sadly have lost 4 cats in the last few months (non diabetic) and they the Vet has been good about all of that but sometimes I question their methods......

Im in the DEEP south I can be in Fla in 10 minutes lol...
 
I’m sorry about your other cats. I have lost three cats recently. One on September 22, 2025. Another on October 24, 2025 and, most recently on March 12 of this year. I understand. The worst part is that none of them were particularly old cats, but they died of complicated or unknown (in the case of one who was fine in the morning and dead in the afternoon.) With my most recent beloved boy who died in March, I feel like my vet really let us down and completely overlooked signs and warnings. She just gave up on him because she didn’t know what to do (my opinion.) I took him to University of Georgia but it was too late. It takes too long to be seen there by the internal medical service. Now I have to take another cat there on Monday and am not looking forward to it due to the really bad (and recent) memories of losing two of my cats there. For my girl who is going on Monday though at least it’s a follow up appointment and I am not expecting anything bad to happen (but honestly I never expected to lose my boy on March 12 either so it’s still going to be so stressful.)
 
I’m sorry about your other cats. I have lost three cats recently. One on September 22, 2025. Another on October 24, 2025 and, most recently on March 12 of this year. I understand. The worst part is that none of them were particularly old cats, but they died of complicated or unknown (in the case of one who was fine in the morning and dead in the afternoon.) With my most recent beloved boy who died in March, I feel like my vet really let us down and completely overlooked signs and warnings. She just gave up on him because she didn’t know what to do (my opinion.) I took him to University of Georgia but it was too late. It takes too long to be seen there by the internal medical service. Now I have to take another cat there on Monday and am not looking forward to it due to the really bad (and recent) memories of losing two of my cats there. For my girl who is going on Monday though at least it’s a follow up appointment and I am not expecting anything bad to happen (but honestly I never expected to lose my boy on March 12 either so it’s still going to be so stressful.)
So SO sorry big Hugs I lost one cat on Dec 2nd lucy she was my brothers cat but they live next door so I saw her everyday and she was my buddy she was 12 and got sick suddenly and then it was too late... then another on Dec 3rd Lenny who I had been fighting issues that she had some kind of anemia that my vet could not figure out and I fought hard for her and after 4 months of everything it was not helping and she was just getting worse and I didnt want her to get to the point of pure suffering .. then another got hurt in a freak accident and left on Dec 22nd and crushed his lower spine and he had to be put to sleep.. then another Leo who was about 13/14 years old had heart issues but got to where he could not eat and there was the issue he was too weak to put to sleep to see what was wrong inside his throat or mouth so he got to the point eating was very painful for him every broth or mush... after he passed the vet and I looked in his throat and he had 2 large abscesses in the back of his throat so there would have been nothing that could have been done being he was too weak to put to sleep to evey work on them etc that he would have passed from being put to sleep to look at that so sadly he crossed the bridge on feb 25th.... so ugh... I will keep your kitties and you in my prayers that all goes well....

I started venge on the 2.75 last night and he had some good numbers .. but today back up... will keep with the 2.75 and see where we go.. thanks so much..
 
@Suzanne & Darcy ummm question I was just reading the prozinc info section ( yes know I should have before) but noticed it said not to squirt the insulin back into the bottle if I draw out more.... I have been doing that since he swapped to 2 up .. being its hard to see and I thought drawing a sterile solution into a sterile syringe would not matter... I 100% didnt know there was any coating inside the syringes... every person I know who is a diabetic does it so I figured it was safe...this is while the needle is still inside the bottle not after its been pulled out... do I need to get a new bottle?? thanks
 
@Suzanne & Darcy ummm question I was just reading the prozinc info section ( yes know I should have before) but noticed it said not to squirt the insulin back into the bottle if I draw out more.... I have been doing that since he swapped to 2 up .. being its hard to see and I thought drawing a sterile solution into a sterile syringe would not matter... I 100% didnt know there was any coating inside the syringes... every person I know who is a diabetic does it so I figured it was safe...this is while the needle is still inside the bottle not after its been pulled out... do I need to get a new bottle?? thanks
Well, we don’t recommend doing that because it can contaminate the insulin with the lubricants, like silicone, inside the syringe. Cats are small creatures compared to humans so I would still be wary of doing it. I don’t know that I would get a new vial? It depends? How much is remaining in the vial now? It is probably just something to be aware of for your next vial. If you are not comfortable using it and can afford a new vial, I might get one.
 
Well, we don’t recommend doing that because it can contaminate the insulin with the lubricants, like silicone, inside the syringe. Cats are small creatures compared to humans so I would still be wary of doing it. I don’t know that I would get a new vial? It depends? How much is remaining in the vial now? It is probably just something to be aware of for your next vial. If you are not comfortable using it and can afford a new vial, I might get one.
I got to thinking and I didnt start that until the last few days of the 2.5 being I had gotten in new syringes here is a photo of how much is left in the vial... I would say I have given maybe 10-12 doses since first shooting back into the vial... and I usually draw about .5 units extra to push up.... I think big the issue is getting my vet to write a prescrip for a new vial so soon...
 

Attachments

  • 20260409_213406.jpg
    20260409_213406.jpg
    264.9 KB · Views: 12
@Suzanne & Darcy Hi hope all is well with your kitty you took to the hospital... could you take a look at venge #'s they dont seem to be leveling out etc...or making sense at his nadir at times...
thanks so much
She’s doing much better, thank you! She has a UTI and possibly a kidney infection, but she’s started to turn a corner and we are optimistic.

Looking at Venge’s spreadsheet data, I think he needs an increase to 3 units. We have given the 2.75 unit dose long enough and you still have room for an increase. I don’t think we have reached his good dose yet.
 
She’s doing much better, thank you! She has a UTI and possibly a kidney infection, but she’s started to turn a corner and we are optimistic.

Looking at Venge’s spreadsheet data, I think he needs an increase to 3 units. We have given the 2.75 unit dose long enough and you still have room for an increase. I don’t think we have reached his good dose yet.
Will keep her in my prayers and send cosmic energy both your way... and will start with 3 in the morning ... I really appreciate all the help .. you seem to be the only person who ever chimes in the prozinc are so I kinda call on you.. I hate to be a bother...
 
You are never a bother! I am kind of the go to person for ProZinc help these days. Never hesitate to even send me a direct message if I don’t see the one here. I can’t give specific dosing recommendations via a private message because that is against FDMB rules (as a “peer reviewed” forum it’s best and safest to have all of that done in public) but it will get my attention hopefully and I can reply on your thread if it’s a dosing question. General questions are okay.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy could you please look at venge chart something is weird.. I took the +6 reading 5 times with 2 diff meters and all were 87-94 which is a huge drop from the +4 of 247 I am gonna stay up and check it hourly the rest of the night being I dunno .... I mean I am super happy to see a green but??????


update @+7 hes at 77
update @ +8 hes at 84
update @ +9 hes at 102
update @ +10 hes 114
update @ AMPS hes 175.... going to hold on shot
update @ amps+1 he was 2.15 so decided to do a 2.6-7ish will recheck him at +3 then again at +6 ( try and get a nap between lol)

Hes over 150 but under 200 should I give him a cut shot or skip... I was thinking 2 units rather than 3? I am going to hold the dose till 8am test and do the 2 and then check him at +2 amps I will keep an eye on here to see if you get up ...


Totally happy but totally confused also lol
 
Last edited:
You did great it sounds like. I am sorry I wasn’t around until this evening. What did you feed during the greens? He did really well. It also looks like you could have shot the full dose when you did the 2.6, but that was a good decision and just gives is data to use going forward.
 
Now, I don’t know if you have read the SLGS dosing method, but if you get a number below 90, a reduction of .25 units is called for. I think he’s doing very well on this 3 unit dose, so if you feed an all wet food LC diet then you can follow the Modified ProZinc Method and hold the current dose of 3 units. We would reduce the dose if he drops below 50.
 
Now, I don’t know if you have read the SLGS dosing method, but if you get a number below 90, a reduction of .25 units is called for. I think he’s doing very well on this 3 unit dose, so if you feed an all wet food LC diet then you can follow the Modified ProZinc Method and hold the current dose of 3 units. We would reduce the dose if he drops below 50.
A single number or multiples under 90? at any time in the cycle or only at amps or nadir???Yup only wet Fancy Feast,friskies...
just trying the 9lives pate... if things go as they are looking for time I think he might hit green again tonight... hopefully I will go back and reread the SLGS method... thanks .. he had his normal pate during the greens it was late at night I have went back to leaving food out but every 6 hrs I refresh or replace if he hasnt eatin the whole meal... he has slowed down a little on his appetite but I think thats a lot to do with I am trying new foods... and I think he has figured out that almost a whole 5.5 oz can is too much at one meal lol he has gained half a pound back since he went to vet a month and half ago... also yesterday I did catch
him mid pee and got a strip in there lol... he looked at me like WTF DUDE>>> and it was neg... I have a blood Keytone tester I need to get some strips for it..
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne & Darcy Vengey had 143 this morning had good numbers last night... I am going to give him a fat .25 unit and check him at +4... if you get on let me know if this is right I went back and read the slgs and the number being so close to 150 I figured do a token dose being its so close to 150 and next strip test I double checked with might be over150 (realized I am out of strips so will have to go to store and get some later) I had a lot of bad strips in this bottle lots of e4 or just odd numbers till I double and triple checked... and so kinda iffy on readings.. he ate a full half can of FF in a few bites so hes got food in him... he had been nibbling on the Friskies half a can that I gave him at 3am all night... so he has a good portion of food in him..
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne & Darcy Vengey had 143 this morning had good numbers last night... I am going to give him a fat .25 unit and check him at +4... if you get on let me know if this is right I went back and read the slgs and the number being so close to 150 I figured do a token dose being its so close to 150 and next strip test I double checked with might be over150 (realized I am out of strips so will have to go to store and get some later) I had a lot of bad strips in this bottle lots of e4 or just odd numbers till I double and triple checked... and so kinda iffy on readings.. he ate a full half can of FF in a few bites so hes got food in him... he had been nibbling on the Friskies half a can that I gave him at 3am all night... so he has a good portion of food in him..
I thought E4 meant not enough blood on the strip?

Anyway since you are low/out of test strips you can’t wait and see if his BG is rising.
 
When a cat’s BG starts getting closer to (or is in) normal numbers their appetites generally do go back down. We get used to them being so hungry all the time that is seems like they are not eating enough. However, I am not there, and you know how much exactly he’s eating. I would say that the weight gain is a great sign though!
 
I thought E4 meant not enough blood on the strip?

Anyway since you are low/out of test strips you can’t wait and see if his BG is rising.
yeah but I was saying lots of diff numbers from each test ... I sometimes do double tests just to make sure the strip or draw or etc wasnt bad.. being I got some strange numbers in this batch of strips... one strip would be say 430 then the next strip 287 when his numbers had been in the yellows for the rest of the cycle so I would test and get an average being the why did it jump up and I would then check the little window and it would not have blood.. so the strips were not drawing in the blood correctly if that makes sense..

On the tiny dose his BG went up to 267.... so thats about where it has been at +4 recently.... I will test him again at +6 and we go from there ..
 
You can expect some variance even if testing the same drop of blood. 287 and 344 would be within what is called allowable meter variance, but 287 and 430 is greater than 20 percent and so is not within meter variance.
 
On the tiny dose his BG went up to 267
Yes. It’s too little insulin. But that’s okay. He will get right back to work the next cycle I am sure. If you want to continue following the Start Low Go Slow dosing method then his new dose is 2.75 units. If you would like to switch to MPM, it’s fine to keep him at 3 units. He definitely has been doing well on this dose, and I feel really good about the fact that he’s been stable in the green numbers (even though you only fed him his regular LC food.) Many people will panic and feed HC when it’s unnecessary. Most times a spoonful or two of LC will stabilize BG quite nicely. It’s only when they continue to drop quickly or when they are below 50 that HC should be given. You are doing well.
 
Yes. It’s too little insulin. But that’s okay. He will get right back to work the next cycle I am sure. If you want to continue following the Start Low Go Slow dosing method then his new dose is 2.75 units. If you would like to switch to MPM, it’s fine to keep him at 3 units. He definitely has been doing well on this dose, and I feel really good about the fact that he’s been stable in the green numbers (even though you only fed him his regular LC food.) Many people will panic and feed HC when it’s unnecessary. Most times a spoonful or two of LC will stabilize BG quite nicely. It’s only when they continue to drop quickly or when they are below 50 that HC should be given. You are doing we

ughhh I got called away and didnt get home till now and UGHH didnt give him his 1pm extra meal or get numbers rest of day till now and hes HIGH 478 .... I am going to give the 3 at PMPS and we will have to stay on the slgs till he gets back in rhythm ... ughh I hate this had not seen a red in forever and this is his highest ever ... I feel like such a bad cat dad... he just ate a whole half a can in like 3 bites poor guy was hungry...uggghh
 
Don’t be hard on yourself. It’s a learning curve and he’s not had a lot of lower preshot tests yet. That’s why I would have recommended a half dose this morning, but honestly think that would have been enough insulin either way— but we have to start somewhere and gather data for the next time. Now you know .3 isn’t enough, right? :blackeye:
 
Don’t be hard on yourself. It’s a learning curve and he’s not had a lot of lower preshot tests yet. That’s why I would have recommended a half dose this morning, but honestly think that would have been enough insulin either way— but we have to start somewhere and gather data for the next time. Now you know .3 isn’t enough, right? :blackeye:
yeah I was going by the method saying if 150 under to do 10%-30% so wasnt wanting to hpo him when I wasnt around... oddly I think I posted his old spreadsheet( in my main forum) post from 2020 and he was more of keeping in stable in the greens he had very few high numbers back then... crazy being he was so much sicker then..
 
Don’t be hard on yourself. It’s a learning curve and he’s not had a lot of lower preshot tests yet. That’s why I would have recommended a half dose this morning, but honestly think that would have been enough insulin either way— but we have to start somewhere and gather data for the next time. Now you know .3 isn’t enough, right? :blackeye: what range would you give him half dose vs no dose vs .25 dose vs none... hes been still dropping tonight after nadir so not sure where it will be at amps...
@Suzanne & Darcy at what numbers based on venges recent numbers would you shoot no shoot partial 1.5 or etc? thanks :)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top