Need some HELP -Never shot under 200 Should I??

Moocat

Member Since 2018
Hi MOOCAT - AMPS-191 I have never shot under 200. What should I do? I called vet, they said feed and shoot. Should I go for it? Please advise.
 
Sorry no one was around to help. That number is close to 200 and he should be fine. If you are home, you may want to get a +1 and a +2 to see what he's going to do today.
 
Hi Carla and Furball! I gave him the shot and am home with the flu so I will test at +1 and +2. Thanks for giving me your feedback! I am new to this so I get a little nervous about the numbers. I think the stress of this new dx has actually why I have the flu.:nailbiting:
 
Hi Carla and Furball! I gave him the shot and am home with the flu so I will test at +1 and +2. Thanks for giving me your feedback! I am new to this so I get a little nervous about the numbers. I think the stress of this new dx has actually why I have the flu.:nailbiting:
I'm sorry you are sick. I hope you feel better soon.
 
I'm popping in from work. I don't know if I can stay on. Just feed him a teaspoon of food at a time so he won't get too full if you need him to eat later. Test every 20 to 30 minutes.
 
Have you tested again yet? 73 while a safe number is getting close to the lowest you want kitty to go using the AT2 meter. Please post when you get another reading. :)
 
I see the last reading was 49. That is too low.
Do you have some food with gravy in it? If so give MooMoo some gravy (tsp or so) to bring his number up. If not mix a bit of honey or syrup in his food and give him another tsp or so. You need to get him back up to 70 or above. Test again 15 to 20 minutes after he has the gravy or food with syrup.
 
+3 49 I just gave him some honey mixed into a food. He ate it. Seemed like he was about to fall asleep. Since this is all occurring do I just keep doing this until he is up and no shot tonight or just a drop of insulin, he is getting .25 unit .
 
Last edited:
Test him again now please and post your reading. You did the right thing with the honey and food but honey doesn't last long in the system so you are going to be monitoring for awhile yet. Too early to consider what to do about PM shot.
 
Is he behaving more normally now? The falling asleep may or may not have been from the low BG but safer to assume it might have been.
 
Can you give him some honey directly on his gums? We need to get his number up. And feed him another tsp of High carb food if you have it.
 
Yes, he has been behaving pretty normally the whole time. Just the sleepiness when I tested him at +3 . He isn't walking funny and has gone to get some water. i will give him honey on lips now and test. That, he is completely annoyed with.
 
@ +4 48 . I gave him honey on his gums and tbsp of food. Am I not giving enough? He is alert and pissed off at me for the pokes, makes me feel like he is okay but the numbers don't show it. I am totally overwhelmed.
 
Did you give him high carb food or was it low carb? If you have high carb, I'd give him another little bit of that or gravy off it if it's gravy variety.
 
Did you give him high carb food or was it low carb? If you have high carb, I'd give him another little bit of that or gravy off it if it's gravy variety.
I don't have high carb- should i run down to the store and get some fancy feast with gravy? If I put some honey on his gums and run to the store I can probably get back in 20 minutes.
 
Yes but test him first and let me know where he is at before you leave him. . If you go leave him another tsp of lc with honey in it to eat in your absence. How close is your vet should you need to take him? I don't think you will but he is proving a bit difficult to get up BG wise so better to be prepared.
 
Ok he's finally come up a bit but not far enough. Leave a tsp. of LC and honey for him if you want to run to the store for High carb gravy food. Or if you have the ice cream or it's closer to get, get that. Man, he's proving to be a hard nut to crack. Looks like he usually nadirs around +5 or so. Hopefully he'll stick to the usual timing or have been early today.
 
I'm going to go get some hc food now. I don't have any ice cream. Thx for the help on this. You are so calm and I am on pins and needles. I just happen to be home today because I'm sick.
 
Since this is all occurring do I just keep doing this until he is up and no shot tonight or just a drop of insulin, he is getting .25 unit .
Good job staying on top of this today. The next dose we usually suggest is 0.1 unit. There is a picture in the Sticky Note on Fine Dosing. Depending on how high he is tonight, and how you are felling given the flu, I might skip tonight and resume the dose tomorrow morning. Post a little closer to PMPS for advice.
 
I left Moomoo for 20 minutes- put a little honey on his gums - got back and @ +5.25 63. He ate some LC food after testing. Should I still give him the HC? seems it is rising again.
 
Last edited:
He may have reached his nadir and while still a tiny bit low, I'd test again in 20 minutes or so and see if he is still rising without any further food.
 
Good job staying on top of this today. The next dose we usually suggest is 0.1 unit. There is a picture in the Sticky Note on Fine Dosing. Depending on how high he is tonight, and how you are felling given the flu, I might skip tonight and resume the dose tomorrow morning. Post a little closer to PMPS for advice.
Hi Wendy, thanks for the reply when you say depending on PMPS you may skip tonight and resume the dose tomorrow , so you mean resume .25 tomorrow?
 
No, the new dose is 0.1 units. I would only shoot tonight if he is really high. You probably need some rest, both of you.
 
so you mean resume .25 tomorrow
NO! It looks to me like MooMoo earned a reduction on the night cycle of the 17th. Your spreadsheet says he got 0.5u that night even though his dose previous to that was 0.25u....not sure if that is a typo. His new dose would be 0.1units and he has most definitely earned it!
 
Yes, I think I screwed up that dose and gave him closer to .4 or .5. The fine doses are difficult for me. I am using the BD ultrafine needles. I draw back to. 5 then twist the plunger to release and flick off drops. The night of the 17th I think I drew back too far. This concerns me. The only way I felt good about this was measuring the drops. So 4 drops in. 5 flick out 3 drops and that should be. 0125. Is that correct and the right dosage ? It's slighty over. 01 but half of. 25I don't trust my eyes just looking at the syringe.
 
Here is a picture of the 0.1u dose. If you cannot manage that, I'd be inclined to use the plunger in as tight as possible, insert into pen, let go of plunger withdraw needle from pen method which is probably more like one drop but for tonight, worth it to get some sleep. :D
0.1u dose.PNG
 
Here is a picture of the 0.1u dose. If you cannot manage that, I'd be inclined to use the plunger in as tight as possible, insert into pen, let go of plunger withdraw needle from pen method which is probably more like one drop but for tonight, worth it to get some sleep. :D
View attachment 41206
Hi, thanks, did you mean push into vial then let go. I don't have a pen
 
Yes the vial then. Most folks are using the pen so I assumed and look what it did! :smuggrin:

You've done a great job with MooMoo today and it looks like he is on a mission. Since he is so hard to get back up once his numbers are down, I want to share my solution with you and give you a good laugh. I think you can use one about now.

I have a very fussy cat who would not eat HC food so I had sugar donuts in my freezer that I could readily thaw out and use in tiny bits to give her some carbs and sugar. One of the few things other than kibble that was dear to her heart! Yes I found out the hard way that she liked them but it gave me the big gun I needed to bring her numbers up if they got really stubborn. :woot:
 
Yes the vial then. Most folks are using the pen so I assumed and look what it did! :smuggrin:

You've done a great job with MooMoo today and it looks like he is on a mission. Since he is so hard to get back up once his numbers are down, I want to share my solution with you and give you a good laugh. I think you can use one about now.

I have a very fussy cat who would not eat HC food so I had sugar donuts in my freezer that I could readily thaw out and use in tiny bits to give her some carbs and sugar. One of the few things other than kibble that was dear to her heart! Yes I found out the hard way that she liked them but it gave me the big gun I needed to bring her numbers up if they got really stubborn. :woot:
I'm feeling uplifted that people like you on this site are available to support and provide some excellent guidance through your experiences. I'm trying to stay positive about all of this, but I feel overwhelmed and concerned about what will happen when I'm not around. I may be feeling this way because I'm also down with the flu and have a major headache. Hopefully this evening will be easier. Thanking you for your kind words and cute story.:D:D
 
Aww shucks. Just paying it forward for what I got from this community!
Can you test MooMoo again now just to make sure he is staying in good numbers? I want to make sure he is safe and you stay sane and can rest and recover quickly! :D
 
I may be feeling this way because I'm also down with the flu and have a major headache. Hopefully this evening will be easier.

Looks like you and I are having the same problems today! This flu is awful....and China took a nosedive today too (always great when you don't feel like moving but your sugarcat has other things in mind!!)

Sure hope we both have a quieter night tonight and can get some much needed rest!!
 
Looks like you and I are having the same problems today! This flu is awful....and China took a nosedive today too (always great when you don't feel like moving but your sugarcat has other things in mind!!)

Sure hope we both have a quieter night tonight and can get some much needed rest!!
Yes, I'm sorry you are down with the flu too. and yes! let's cross fingers all goes well .
 
Back
Top