Need some help interpreting SS...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shonna and Neko

Member Since 2014
(I have no idea if this is the best place for this post, or if a specific group is better. But, we'll go with the main for now :smile: )

Still working on getting Neko regulated (see links to past two posts below, if you want her full background).

We've had several pretty good days where her numbers finally started showing some consistency. I know her SS doesn't show the earlier numbers (they were all done at the vet office until recently), but after getting her initial ketoacidosis under control, Neko has cycled back and forth mainly between the mid 100's at the AMPS, and high 300's PMPS.

The past couple of days it seemed she was finally stabilizing in the low 200's/high 100's, with a 1.5 dose of Lantus twice a day. However, tonight, if you look at her SS, you can see she dropped to 49 at her PMPS, and we have no idea why.

If someone could take a look and give any ideas, that would be great. We have already been planning to do a full curve this weekend, to gather more data, but any ideas would be helpful. We're still quite new to this and if we're doing something wrong, we'd like to fix it.

Thanks!!!
- Shonna

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=125032
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=126548
 
I should have also noted that when she tested at 49 this evening, she was acting perfectly normal - just hungry, but not unusually so. We actually tested her twice just to make sure we didn't mess it up somehow, because it all seemed so odd.
 
Welcome Shanna and Neko,
From one "newbie" to another, I have read here that normal for a cat on a human meter is 50-120. A pet meter is about 40 pts. higher. So the 49 was really a 89 or so. That's probably why she seemed to be acting fine. Hope that helps.

Kimmie
 
It appears that 1 1/2 unit is is too much. I would reduce the dose to 1 unit and see what happens. With a depot insulin like Lantus it can take 3-5 days for the full effect of the does change to manifest itself.
 
Hi again Shonna and other Neko. :-D For a cat on insulin, the normal range for blood glucose is 50-120. Cats off insulin can register in the 40's but we don't want to go there with diabetic cats because it gives no room for error. We seldom see kitties on Lantus show hypo symptoms in the 40's. When a kitty gets a number below 50, it means that dose is now too much insulin. Neko's pancreas may be starting to heal so you should reduce her dose. If 1U is too low (try it for a few days), you can try to eyeball a 1.25U dose.

As an aside, pet meters are around 30-40% higher and below 100 it's about 18 points higher.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top