Need some eyes on Loki's SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
Okay I have been testing at +2 after pmps, sometimes blue sometimes yellow. I was advised to test at this time so I have the last 5 nights, should I continue to test for better data or does this give anyone an idea what is happening with my boy.
Thanks if you can take a minute and let me know what you guys think.
Mimi and Loki :smile:
 
I think it's great you're getting the tests in. The rationale for a +2 is that if it's considerably lower than your pre-shot number, it suggests it's going to be an active cycle. If that's the case, you'll want to get some additional tests. So far, Loki's numbers look pretty good.

If you're able to get a couple of more tests in over the weekend (or when you're not working), it may be helpful to increase Loki's dose.
 
I agree with everything Sienne said. Looking at Loki's SS, I see that (correct me if I'm wrong) today will be his 14th day on that dose. As far as when to change the dose; that can vary due to the cat and the owner's ability to monitor. When on the Tight Regulation Protocol, though, here's some pertinent information I copied & pasted from the TR Protocol sticky:

""General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit."


So, in Loki's case, you've hold the current dose for over 24 cycles. Lantus dosing is based on a cat's nadir (which is the lowest point during a cycle--usually 6 hours after giving the shot, though ECID and for some cat's it can be earlier or later). Based on Loki's SS, on 5/10 he was 130 at AM+6 and on 5/11, 260 at AM+6. Like Sienne said, It really would be helpful if you can get a few more tests at different times of the day and night. I know for some people (esp. who work), it is really difficult to get some additional readings, but is there anyway you can do that? A cat's BG and nature is so unpredictable, that he may be having a lower nadir at night or some other time during his cycle. What would work for you?

According to the TR Protocol based on the few numbers we have during mid-cycle, he MAY be due for an increase, however, with the limited numbers on Loki's SS, you would really want more readings and history before making that decision. I'm sure a Lantus Advisor would be more than happy to help you work towards that goal.
 
Thanks so much you guys rock I will be setting up some time for me to test and will start as soon as I can schedule these times which should not be too hard , will keep you updated thanks all
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top