Need some advise asap about BG test & first insulin shots / food changes

Status
Not open for further replies.
then asked if we could do try an appetite stimulant and he said I could pick up a script for Remron. What are your thoughts on that?
Remeron is another name for mirtazapine. And seems to be the go-to appy stimulant vets prescribe first in Canada. It's always a good idea to get nausea taken care of first, then go for an appy stimulant. Nothing worse than feeling you have to eat and not feeling well. With Neko, often she would eat once the nausea was taken care of. Try asking the vet if you can get a prescription for ondansetron. Cerenia and ondansetron attach to different nausea receptors. One may work where the other doesn't. And yes, cerenia only lasts 24 hours. If you do need to go to an appy stimulant after trying nausea control, ask the vet if you can try cyproheptadine as per Mogs post above. Some cats have strange reactions to mirtazapine.
 
she had one injection with I think it was cerenia on Tuesday but I didn't notice an improvement. Perhaps it wasn't given for a long enough period as I think the injection only lasted 24 hrs?

It has certainly been my experience that a Cerenia injection's nausea-reducing benefit peters out in 24 hours or less.

I asked if we could give her something else but he says if Cerenia didn't work it's not nausea. I don't necessarily agree ...
I also don't agree with your vet. Ondansetron is a very effective medication for treating nausea in cats. Certainly in Saoirse's case I have found that it was more effective than Cerenia for her (though ECID - every cat is different); a dose of Cerenia might help her to eat provided I was able to give her some encouragement whereas with ondansetron once the effect kicked in she would tend to eat quite readily under her own steam. (Note: Cerenia may be more effective at helping with vomiting issues than ondansetron and it may provide some pain relief/anti-inflammatory benefit.)

Not all vets are very familiar with ondansetron. I learned about it here but it took a bit of persuasion with my vets to get an Rx for it. Saoirse was the first patient at the practice to be treated with it. While our main vet was aware of ondansetron's potential to treat nausea part of his reservation about prescribing it was cost: the wholesalers used by the practice only offered Zofran, the branded version of ondansetron, which is very expensive - nearly £100 for 30 tablets. Fortunately I learned on Tanya's site about generic ondansetron which costs less than £10 for 30 tablets. (For anyone in the UK following this thread, Bristol Laboratories generic ondansetron seems to suit cats better than other generics. I found that other generics caused greater problems with constipation than the BL version. Pharmplex in Nottingham (online) is a good source for the BL generic; it can be problematic getting hold of the BL version from the likes of Boots, Morrison's and independent local chemists.)

Cerenia (maropitant) and ondansetron work differently in the body.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maropitant

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ondansetron#Pharmacodynamics


Some members here have found that they can work quite well in combination. Here's a useful post on the subject:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ast-yesterday-help.166040/page-3#post-1796242

NB: As touched on briefly above ondansetron can be somewhat constipating. In Saoirse's case I was able to address this by adding a little canned plain pumpkin to her meals. There is very useful information on bowel health at the following site:

www.felineconstipation.org

Good to hear that Tinka's bowel movements are healthy and regular. It's something worth monitoring because diabetes can affect gut motility (neuropathy). If the BMs start tending toward dryness and she becomes less regular it's good to take action to address the issue sooner rather than later; constipation can make a kitty feel crummy and the problem can see them become quite lethargic.


Mogs
.
 
Remeron is another name for mirtazapine. And seems to be the go-to appy stimulant vets prescribe first in Canada. It's always a good idea to get nausea taken care of first, then go for an appy stimulant. Nothing worse than feeling you have to eat and not feeling well. With Neko, often she would eat once the nausea was taken care of. Try asking the vet if you can get a prescription for ondansetron. Cerenia and ondansetron attach to different nausea receptors. One may work where the other doesn't. And yes, cerenia only lasts 24 hours. If you do need to go to an appy stimulant after trying nausea control, ask the vet if you can try cyproheptadine as per Mogs post above. Some cats have strange reactions to mirtazapine.

Thanks so much Wendy this is really helpful, I will ask my vet for the ondansetron rather than the remeron. Hopefully he complies!
 
It has certainly been my experience that a Cerenia injection's nausea-reducing benefit peters out in 24 hours or less.


I also don't agree with your vet. Ondansetron is a very effective medication for treating nausea in cats. Certainly in Saoirse's case I have found that it was more effective than Cerenia for her (though ECID - every cat is different); a dose of Cerenia might help her to eat provided I was able to give her some encouragement whereas with ondansetron once the effect kicked in she would tend to eat quite readily under her own steam. (Note: Cerenia may be more effective at helping with vomiting issues than ondansetron and it may provide some pain relief/anti-inflammatory benefit.)

Not all vets are very familiar with ondansetron. I learned about it here but it took a bit of persuasion with my vets to get an Rx for it. Saoirse was the first patient at the practice to be treated with it. While our main vet was aware of ondansetron's potential to treat nausea part of his reservation about prescribing it was cost: the wholesalers used by the practice only offered Zofran, the branded version of ondansetron, which is very expensive - nearly £100 for 30 tablets. Fortunately I learned on Tanya's site about generic ondansetron which costs less than £10 for 30 tablets. (For anyone in the UK following this thread, Bristol Laboratories generic ondansetron seems to suit cats better than other generics. I found that other generics caused greater problems with constipation than the BL version. Pharmplex in Nottingham (online) is a good source for the BL generic; it can be problematic getting hold of the BL version from the likes of Boots, Morrison's and independent local chemists.)

Cerenia (maropitant) and ondansetron work differently in the body.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maropitant

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ondansetron#Pharmacodynamics


Some members here have found that they can work quite well in combination. Here's a useful post on the subject:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ast-yesterday-help.166040/page-3#post-1796242

NB: As touched on briefly above ondansetron can be somewhat constipating. In Saoirse's case I was able to address this by adding a little canned plain pumpkin to her meals. There is very useful information on bowel health at the following site:

www.felineconstipation.org

Good to hear that Tinka's bowel movements are healthy and regular. It's something worth monitoring because diabetes can affect gut motility (neuropathy). If the BMs start tending toward dryness and she becomes less regular it's good to take action to address the issue sooner rather than later; constipation can make a kitty feel crummy and the problem can see them become quite lethargic.


Mogs
.
 
Thank you Mogs we will contact vet and request a script for ondansetron then instead of the Remron. When we go to the pharmacy to pick it up do we just request the generic ondansetron their? What generic should we ask for? Or do you usually have to get it from the vets? Unfortunately Tinka won't eat pumpkin I tried it in the past. But I do have miralax for constipation if she gets constipated from the ondansetron? or I can try give her some coconut oil if she'll eat it? Thanks!
 
In Canada, you need to get your vet to write a prescription for ondansetron and take it to a human pharmacy. Unless you vet clinic is associated with a clinic that has a cancer specialty, they likely will not stock it. It is also available in injectible form, which is really handy if kitty won't eat or is vomiting, (and cheaper) but I nevet managed to find a source for that. Be prepared for sticker shock. Each pill is around $4, but you dose either 1/2 or 1/4 tablet at once. Make sure you get a good pill cutter if you don't have one already.
 
I then asked if we could do try an appetite stimulant and he said I could pick up a script for Remron. What are your thoughts on that?

Remeron is the brand name for mirtazapine. Some cats get on well with it but I don't like it for a number of reasons:

1. It carries the risk of inducing serotonin syndrome, a potentially life-threatening condition. (For info, the antidote is cyproheptadine).

2. It is usually administered at a tiny dose once every three days in cats. You can end up with a kitty utterly crazed with hunger for the first 36 hours but then need to do a great deal of coaxing at meal times for the following 36 hours until it is time to give the next dose.

3. Mirtazapine can cause anywhere from moderate to severe behavioural alterations in cats. It's nicknamed meowzapine on FDMB because it can cause a marked increase in vocalisation in many cats (moderate side effect) but it can also cause cats some cats to display severe agitation and aggression.

4. Mirtazapine is an extremely powerful psychotropic drug. I have PTSD and it was prescribed for me some time ago. I have been prescribed umpteen psych meds since I developed the condition, some of them quite heavy-duty and all of which had some side effects - some mild, some not so mild - but none of them could hold a candle to the awful side effects I experienced as a result of taking this med. I stopped taking it after only the third dose because it affected my mental state and nervous system so badly that I genuinely thought I was going to become completely unhinged (no hyperbole). Without a doubt it stimulated my appetite but it caused I also developed GI issues and peripheral oedema (my normally very trim ankles swelled up like balloons).

5. Saoirse received one dose of mirtazapine when she had her first pancreatitis flare because it was all the vet had available at the time, she hadn't eaten anywhere near enough for several days and consequently was at risk of developing hepatic lipidosis. After experiencing the adverse effects of the drug myself I was not happy about Saoirse receiving it and if it had not been a life-threatening emergency I'd have waited until I could secure some cyproheptadine for her. The mirtazapine got Saoirse eating but within a couple of hours of dose administration she became borderline psychotic; she was like a completely different cat. The whole experience was very distressing for both of us.

Provided it's not contraindicated for a particular cat (and as long as it works) I consider cyproheptadine to be a better med for managing poor appetite. An antihistamine, it doesn't carry the risk of inducing serotonin syndrome or the unwelcome behavioural side effects that may accompany treatment with mirtazapine. Cyproheptadine's appetite stimulant effect is milder; on cypro the cat wants to eat more frequently but other than that tends to exhibit fairly normal hunger behaviours levels cf. the crazed, prolonged hunger that mirtazapine may induce - especially in the hours immediately following administration of a mirt dose). The cypro appetite stimulant effect wears off relatively quickly. This is not a disadvantage; an appropriate dose of cyproheptadine can be given 2-3 times a day which means that you can fine tune the level of appetite stimulant effect to match a cat's specific needs.

One note of caution: some vets may prescribe too strong a dose of cyproheptadine. It can take as little as 1/8 of a 4mg tablet (10lb cat) to provide adequate appetite stimulation for many hours. If the dose is too high for the cat it may become sedated (rather than a little drowsy) or show signs of depressed mood. If such side effects are observed, reducing the dose - sometimes to just a tiny crumb - may be just enough to get all the benefits and minimise or eliminate the side effects.


Mogs


EDITED TO ADD:

IMPORTANT SAFETY NOTE!

Possible Adverse Drug Interaction


Tanya's Site has a warning that using both ondansetron and mirtazapine at the same time may increase the risk of inducing serotonin syndrome. See following link for further details:

http://felinecrf.org/nausea_vomiting_stomach_acid.htm#ondansetron

.
 
Last edited:
Thank you Mogs we will contact vet and request a script for ondansetron then instead of the Remron.

NB: Ondansetron treats nausea (alternative/adjunct treatment is Cerenia); Remeron = mirtazapine - used to stimulate appetite (alternative is cyproheptadine).

IMPORTANT SAFETY NOTE:

I've added a little more info to one of my earlier posts on this thread (see above). Tanya's Site has a warning that simultaneous treatment with ondansetron and mirtazapine may carry an increased risk of inducing serotonin syndrome.

For information, I only treated Saoirse simultaneously with ondansetron and cyproheptadine.

When we go to the pharmacy to pick it up do we just request the generic ondansetron their? What generic should we ask for? Or do you usually have to get it from the vets? Unfortunately Tinka won't eat pumpkin I tried it in the past. But I do have miralax for constipation if she gets constipated from the ondansetron?

I'm in the UK. I get a written Rx from our vets and fill it at a human pharmacy. On the written Rx my vet has to specify that only Bristol Laboratories ondansetron is to be dispensed (otherwise the pharmacist would be free to substitute another ondansetron version at his discretion). I don't know whether the BL generic is available in your part of the world. Perhaps you could enquire of your local pharmacist as to which generics are available in your part of the world.

Miralax works well to soften stools. Slippery elm bark may also be worth investigating as it, too, can help with constipation (and diarrhoea/nausea).


Mogs
.
 
NB: Ondansetron treats nausea (alternative/adjunct treatment is Cerenia); Remeron = mirtazapine - used to stimulate appetite (alternative is cyproheptadine).

IMPORTANT SAFETY NOTE:

I've added a little more info to one of my earlier posts on this thread (see above). Tanya's Site has a warning that simultaneous treatment with ondansetron and mirtazapine may carry an increased risk of inducing serotonin syndrome.

For information, I only treated Saoirse simultaneously with ondansetron and cyproheptadine.



I'm in the UK. I get a written Rx from our vets and fill it at a human pharmacy. On the written Rx my vet has to specify that only Bristol Laboratories ondansetron is to be dispensed (otherwise the pharmacist would be free to substitute another ondansetron version at his discretion). I don't know whether the BL generic is available in your part of the world. Perhaps you could enquire of your local pharmacist as to which generics are available in your part of the world.

Miralax works well to soften stools. Slippery elm bark may also be worth investigating as it, too, can help with constipation (and diarrhoea/nausea).


Mogs
.
Thank you Mogs:) My hubby is waiting for the vet to call him to request the ondansetron. I've given him all this info so hopefully the vet agrees. Do you know what the generic name is that BL gives you? I will speak to the pharmacist to see if they can give us that one if it's available. So with other generic types is there risks of side effects?

Should we be looking at the root issue of the nausea/loss of appetite too rather than just the symptoms? Can nausea/loss of appetite just be from the root cause of diabetes and them feeling unwell? If not if there is another sickness going on would that have shown up in her blood work or do we need to do another test for that? For example pancreatitis of hepatic lipidosis? Vet said her pan tease was fine but I think we discussed that her ALB was pretty high. Just wondering if I need to be addressing this too.

I do think the ondansetron is a good idea and I def won't put her on the remeron or any appetite stimulant. THe only other prescription med she's on outside of the insulin is steroids. She's currently on 1/8 tablet once a morning. Hope the Ondansetron is OK to take with steroids? Thanks so much for all your help ur all so wonderful!!!
 
Ok so Tinka's approx +7 reading is 12.9 mmol/L. So that's gone up slightly. Is that ok? She's not dropping as much as yesterday which in one way I assume is good so she can likely get her insulin tonight after checking her PMPS.

However she didn't go into the normal 4-9 mmol/L range is that ok? She's actually eating better today for first time in months. She finished her breakfast and lunch! Hope she keeps this is for dinner and her last meal before bed. If not the vet is giving us a script for Ondansetron which I'm really pleased about! Will be good to have it just incase her appetite is still off. Also she's not hiding under the bed and seems a bit more herself yah! :)
 
Ok so Tinka's approx +7 reading is 12.9 mmol/L. So that's gone up slightly. Is that ok? She's not dropping as much as yesterday which in one way I assume is good so she can likely get her insulin tonight after checking her PMPS.

However she didn't go into the normal 4-9 mmol/L range is that ok? She's actually eating better today for first time in months. She finished her breakfast and lunch! Hope she keeps this is for dinner and her last meal before bed. If not the vet is giving us a script for Ondansetron which I'm really pleased about! Will be good to have it just incase her appetite is still off. Also she's not hiding under the bed and seems a bit more herself yah! :)
It's early days for you and Tinka. Her dose will likely have to be adjusted upward slowly. Have you read the two Lantus protocols, SLGS and TR? Which one are you planning to follow? I would be a good idea for you to post on the Lantus forum asking for advice.
 
The vet said he believes the ondanestron generic is called Zolphan (not sure of the spelling). Will speak to pharmacist to compare prices. Does anyone know if Zolphan is a good one or used it before? Thanks!
 
The vet said he believes the ondanestron generic is called Zolphan (not sure of the spelling). Will speak to pharmacist to compare prices. Does anyone know if Zolphan is a good one or used it before? Thanks!
The correct name is Zofran. Ondansetron is the generic version and, apparently, quite a bit cheaper.
 
It's early days for you and Tinka. Her dose will likely have to be adjusted upward slowly. Have you read the two Lantus protocols, SLGS and TR? Which one are you planning to follow? I would be a good idea for you to post on the Lantus forum asking for advice.
Thanks Kris I will have a look for the Lantus protocols. Do I just search for Lantus or where is best to find these? We are currently working on our spreadsheet:) I'm not sure which protocol to follow. I like the concept of the better rates of remission on TR. But want to make sure Tinka is safe. I'm open to doing either. Not sure which is best for her this is all so new..thoughts?
 
Thanks Kris I will have a look for the Lantus protocols. Do I just search for Lantus or where is best to find these? We are currently working on our spreadsheet:) I'm not sure which protocol to follow. I like the concept of the better rates of remission on TR. But want to make sure Tinka is safe. I'm open to doing either. Not sure which is best for her this is all so new..thoughts?
If you go down the list of forums to the specific insulin forums, you'll find the Lantus/Levemir groups. There are Stickies in there to read. Those people can give you good info about maximizing Tinka's chances of remission.
 
Do you know what the generic name is that BL gives you?

The drug itself is called ondansetron. The branded version of ondansetron is Zofran and IIRC it is manufactured by GlaxoSmithKline.

Various other pharmaceutical companies manufacture their own generic versions of the drug under licence. To the best of my knowledge all of them are just called 'ondansetron'.

In the UK there are several versions of ondansetron produced under licence by various manufacturers. Bristol Laboratories manufactures the one that I've found to be less constipating. I don't know whether or not it would be available in your part of the world. Perhaps if you ask your local pharmacist they might be able to advise on which manufacturers produce the ondansetron available in your country.

Hope the Ondansetron is OK to take with steroids?
That's a question for your vet. If s/he isn't sure then again your local pharmacist may be able to advise you on potential drug interactions/contraindications for simultaneous treatment with ondansetron and the steroid Tinka is currently receiving. (Historically I have found pharmacists to be much more knowledgeable than vets when it comes to looking for more detailed information about medications; it is their specialism, of course!)


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
The drug itself is called ondansetron. The branded version of ondansetron is Zofran and IIRC it is manufactured by GlaxoSmithKline.

Various other pharmaceutical companies manufacture their own generic versions of the drug under licence. To the best of my knowledge all of them are just called 'ondansetron'.

In the UK there are several versions of ondansetron. Bristol Laboratories manufactures the one that I've found to be less constipating. I don't know whether or not it would be available in your part of the world. Perhaps if you ask your local pharmacist they might be able to advise on which manufacturers produce the ondansetron available in your country.


That's a question for your vet. If s/he isn't sure then again your local pharmacist may be able to advise you on potential drug interactions/contraindications for simultaneous treatment with ondansetron and the steroid Tinka is currently receiving. (Historically I have found pharmacists to be much more knowledgeable than vets when it comes to looking for more detailed information about medications; it is their specialism, of course!)


Mogs
.
Thank you that makes great sense :)
 
If not the vet is giving us a script for Ondansetron which I'm really pleased about! Will be good to have it just incase her appetite is still off.
Excellent plan. Having a squirrel stock of anti-nausea meds, etc., at home is invaluable because you can tackle nausea issues as soon as symptoms appear. By doing so it tends to resolve much quicker and, in my experience at least, significantly reduces the risk of a kitty becoming completely inappetent.


Mogs
.
 
So update on Tinka her PMPS was 13 mmol/L at 7:30pm. I gave her 0.5u insulin at 7:45pm. I will test again +3 and +4. Do you I need to set an alarm for over night or not? Does that depend on her +4 results? Pretty exhausted but if I need to I will.

Her eating has improved a lot today, she had eaten almost all of her 3 meals so far and has one more to go. Not drinking much though but I'm adding water to her canned. She's been showing more interest in food too in general which is so great. I did notice though her stools were a bit constipated. I have put a little coconut oil out to see if she eats that. If not I may add miralax to her food but I am concerned it may put her off eating.

Also what dose must I give tmrw AM if her AMPS is above 11.1, do I stick with 0.5 or what is best? Thank you!
 
So update on Tinka her PMPS was 13 mmol/L at 7:30pm. I gave her 0.5u insulin at 7:45pm. I will test again +3 and +4. Do you I need to set an alarm for over night or not? Does that depend on her +4 results? Pretty exhausted but if I need to I will.

Her eating has improved a lot today, she had eaten almost all of her 3 meals so far and has one more to go. Not drinking much though but I'm adding water to her canned. She's been showing more interest in food too in general which is so great. I did notice though her stools were a bit constipated. I have put a little coconut oil out to see if she eats that. If not I may add miralax to her food but I am concerned it may put her off eating.

Also what dose must I give tmrw AM if her AMPS is above 11.1, do I stick with 0.5 or what is best? Thank you!
You're just starting Lantus so you have to hold the dose 5 to 7 days.
 
Here is a list of potentially available ondansetron in Canada. http://www.rexall.ca/articles/drugs/?q=ondansetron

Pharmacies do not carry all brands. They will have the brand name and one generic (the one they get the best deal on or the one designated by the provincial drug plans).
Thank you for your msg:) My vet sent my script to Rexall and Banff for the generic odansetron. I'm not sure which Ondansetron it is but the price was really expensive $128 for 30 tablets. As I don't need that many and I'm not even sure they'll work for Tinka so I asked if I could get less. He said for 5 tablets it would be like $52 which is just over $10 a tablet which is super expensive! What quantity and price did you get yours for? I may try to find them cheaper at another pharmacy.
 
You can get them from Marks Marine Pharmacy in Vancouver for a lot less so I'd shop around

Here's Odansetron at Marks

Thank you thats great to know, I shall def shop around ;)
Cant believe how much cheaper it is than rexall's here thats crazy! I could order double the amount plus expedite still for less! Hopefully I can find some here though. Have you used them with good success? I see you China struggled with weight loss in the beginning too. Did she have loss of appetite? Tinka's appetite has picked up so much today its amazing and she's much more social:) Hoping I wont have to use these but I'd like them on hand in case.
 
see you China struggled with weight loss in the beginning too. Did she have loss of appetite?

No, China was eating like a horse but still losing weight....that was one of the things that sent us to the vet for the diagnosis.....I was really thinking she was probably hyperthyroid so when she came back diabetic, I was shocked

If you click on the link to China's profile in my signature, you'll see where she started

Now she's uhhhh...."too fluffy" and we're trying to get her to lose weight again!!
 
Here is a list of potentially available ondansetron in Canada. http://www.rexall.ca/articles/drugs/?q=ondansetron

Pharmacies do not carry all brands. They will have the brand name and one generic (the one they get the best deal on or the one designated by the provincial drug plans).
Great link!

@TanyaG - FYI, I only recognise one generic on the list - Teva. It was a tad constipating (pumpkin helped Saoirse with this but I got her back on the Bristol Laboratories generic very quickly).


Mogs
.
 
Great link!

@TanyaG - FYI, I only recognise one generic on the list - Teva. It was a tad constipating (pumpkin helped Saoirse with this but I got her back on the Bristol Laboratories generic very quickly).


Mogs
.
Thank you Mogs! Can insulin be constipating? I've noticed Tonls is s little constipated past day or so buy I'm thinking its from the dryness of the freeze dried treats and just still not drinking that much. I'm trying to reduce the treats but I'm using them as rewards of her BG tests and we doing a lot of them currently. Also sprinkling over her food to encourage appetite. So I added a little miralax into her food, only cause I know she's fussy with pumpkin.

Is there a list of low carb foods somewhere on the forum? I checked out the Binky's lost and the info is so great but I can't find any of Tinka's foods on the list. I'm currently feeding her Instinct 95% protein which I'm assuming is the now carb but it does have peas & carrots in plus pumpkin listed further below etc. Hoping its no more than 5% carbs but I'm not sure.
 
Glad to read that Tinka's eating better! And, better again, that she's feeling brighter. (((Tinka)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Thanks Mogs me too! She woke me at 6:40am which is earlier than normal, purring and asking for food:) Had to make her wait till 7:30am to do her AMPS which was 15.4. Fed her then gave her 0.5u at 8am. Do the BG's & shots get easier over time? I still struggle thinking I'm hurting her. The shot we actually doing pretty well, but the BG's we often poke through and don't get enough blood. I guess it's just practise. Warming her ear def helps:)
 
No, China was eating like a horse but still losing weight....that was one of the things that sent us to the vet for the diagnosis.....I was really thinking she was probably hyperthyroid so when she came back diabetic, I was shocked

If you click on the link to China's profile in my signature, you'll see where she started

Now she's uhhhh...."too fluffy" and we're trying to get her to lose weight again!!
Great to hear she picked up weight! I looked at her profile she is so cute! I better watch Tinka's weight too she looks like she's picking up which is good as she's still underweight but I can see how if she keeps eating well I'll have to watch her calorie intake. I see you feed natures variety frozen raw, was that hard to transition to? Do you mix it with canned or feed separately? I'll def keen to transition to raw once she's stabilised if she'll eat it hopefully.
 
Here are some things you can do to help us help you and Tinka, Tanya:

It would be very helpful to readers of your posts if you could go into your signature and add details about Tinka like:
  • her age
  • date of diagnosis
  • any other health problems she has/meds she's on
  • insulin you are using
  • what glucose meter you are using at home.
This way, you won't have to keep answering the same questions about these basics.

I would also strongly encourage you to set up a spreadsheet for Tinka so viewers of your posts can see her BG data and be better able to offer advice. You can find instructions for the SS on the main page's list of forums in the "Suggestions and Tech Support" forum.

You have several threads running right now and this one is very long. I think it would be helpful to run only one thread in the main health forum at a time and make a new one once you're getting beyond a few dozen posts. This is the place to post an initial summary about your kitty or to ask specific questions that you want more attention on - eg. something you need to know right away or, especially, a 911 emergency notification. There are info stickies about all of this listed in the forums on the main page. I know it's a lot to take in all at once but you want to get the best bang for your buck while you're on here. :)

The best place for you to post for insulin advice is in the Lantus forum. Those are the folks who can give you specific info on any aspect of Lantus.

Sorry if I sound bossy - don't mean to. I just want you to know how things work so it's easier for you. :cat:
 
Last edited:
Here are some things you can do to help us help you and Tinka, Tanya:

It would be very helpful to readers of your posts if you could go into your signature and add details about Tinka like:
  • her age
  • date of diagnosis
  • any other health problems she has/meds she's on
  • insulin you are using
  • what glucose meter you are using at home.
This way, you won't have to keep answering the same questions about these basics.

I would also strongly encourage you to set up a spreadsheet for Tinka so viewers of your posts can see her BG data and be better able to offer advice. You can find instructions for the SS on the main page's list of forums in the "Suggestions and Tech Support" forum.

You have several threads running right now and this one is very long. I think it would be helpful to run only one thread in the main health forum at a time and make a new one once you're getting beyond a few dozen posts. This is the place to post an initial summary about your kitty or to ask specific questions that you want more attention on - eg. something you need to know right away or, especially, a 911 emergency notification. There are info stickies about all of this listed in the forums on the main page. I know it's a lot to take in all at once but you want to get the best bang for your buck while you're on here. :)

The best place for you to post for insulin advice is in the Lantus forum. Those are the folks who can give you specific info on any aspect of Lantus.

Sorry if I sound bossy - don't mean to. I just want you to know how things work so it's easier for you. :cat:
Thanks Kris, I will try and work on adding those details into my signature and putting my numbers into my spreadsheet. To be honest it's been a exhausting wk. I've not slept much and trying to find out all this info and care for Tinka along with my own chronic health issues and busy schedule has been a real challenge. So much to learn and want to make sure I'm helping Tinka in the best way but also trying to find the balakce of caring for myself cause iv not been doing much of that this week. I started on the Lantus forum this morning reading the stickies thanks so I will post in there soon. I will start a new thread if there are further discussions on this thread. Thanks so much for all your help it's much appreciated:)
 
Thanks Kris, I will try and work on adding those details into my signature and putting my numbers into my spreadsheet. To be honest it's been a exhausting wk. I've not slept much and trying to find out all this info and care for Tinka along with my own chronic health issues and busy schedule has been a real challenge. So much to learn and want to make sure I'm helping Tinka in the best way but also trying to find the balakce of caring for myself cause iv not been doing much of that this week. I started on the Lantus forum this morning reading the stickies thanks so I will post in there soon. I will start a new thread if there are further discussions on this thread. Thanks so much for all your help it's much appreciated:)
Take your time getting all this organized, Tanya. I know how overwhelming it is and I sincerely apologize if it's felt like I'm pressuring you. :)
 
trying to find out all this info and care for Tinka along with my own chronic health issues and busy schedule has been a real challenge.
I know what that's like, Tanya. I feel for you.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

The early days after Dx can be utterly overwhelming but things will get better as you start developing a routine that works for you and for Tinka. Promise.

You're doing great. :)

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
There is a more up to date list for manufactured foods and their carb counts here. Not all brands are available in Canada, but the majority are.

@Critter Mom - The Canadian price I quoted earlier was indeed Zofran. I only bought a few tablets at a time and was lucky enough to receive the legacy of more from another kitty.

Tanya - good to see you've got the spreadsheet up and linked. Once you get the numbers in there, we'll be able to give you suggestions on dosing and maybe even ideas on when to test. Most cats have patterns to their blood sugar numbers, and once you learn those, it helps you predict when you have to test, and most important, when you can take a break. For now, it's good to get a handle on when her onset is (insulin actions starts, usually around 2-3 hours after the shot), and when the typical low point, or nadir is in the cycle. We figure out dosing based mostly on that low point. And yes, to reiterate Mogs, the first couple of months are like information overload and exhausting, but it does get better and we'll help you to help Tinka however we can. :bighug:
 
I know what that's like, Tanya. I feel for you.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

The early days after Dx can be utterly overwhelming but things will get better as you start developing a routine that works for you and for Tinka. Promise.

You're doing great. :)

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Thank you Mogs I appreciate your words of encouragement! :)
 
There is a more up to date list for manufactured foods and their carb counts here. Not all brands are available in Canada, but the majority are.

@Critter Mom - The Canadian price I quoted earlier was indeed Zofran. I only bought a few tablets at a time and was lucky enough to receive the legacy of more from another kitty.

Tanya - good to see you've got the spreadsheet up and linked. Once you get the numbers in there, we'll be able to give you suggestions on dosing and maybe even ideas on when to test. Most cats have patterns to their blood sugar numbers, and once you learn those, it helps you predict when you have to test, and most important, when you can take a break. For now, it's good to get a handle on when her onset is (insulin actions starts, usually around 2-3 hours after the shot), and when the typical low point, or nadir is in the cycle. We figure out dosing based mostly on that low point. And yes, to reiterate Mogs, the first couple of months are like information overload and exhausting, but it does get better and we'll help you to help Tinka however we can. :bighug:
Thank you so much Wendy appreciate all your help and support too! @Chris & China actually helped me with my signature and spreadsheet which is super helpful! Going to input my numbers right now. That will be really great to get more suggestions on dosing and testing thereafter:) Thank you!
 
Tinka has beautiful markings! :)
Thank you Kris, yes she's a very pretty girl! I have updated my signature and spreadsheet :) She hasn't had much noted reduction today from AMPS to +6. Let me know your thoughts. I can take her BG again at +10. I will start a new thread.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top