Need some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shari and Max

Member Since 2011
Max's preshot at 5:30pm was 111. It was the last strip so I waited 30 minutes and tested with a strip from a new pack. It was 146. But I had given him a couple Wellness treats (okay, a number of them - they're small) after the first shot so don't know if was rising naturally or due to the treats. He's on Lantus at 1.5 BID

I'm not going to shoot, and plan to keep monitoring, but do I go ahead and feed as usual? It's already a tad late. (usually around 6pm) He hasn't eaten most of the day because he's been napping since noon. If I don't hear from anyone, I'm going to feed him soon, I don't want to mess up his schedule too much.

Also, assuming it rises at some point until I go to bed (around 10) at should I shoot a smaller dose tonight and at what point? Or do I just skip it and test tomorrow morning?

I know I don't have a spreadsheet. His preshots yesterday were around 280 and at +3/12 last night he was 207.
I missed his preshot test this morning but at +6 (at noon) he was at 107, so I knew I had to start watching a lot closer.
 
Put his food down.

Tested one more time before feeding - 144.

I'm sure it will go up due to the food so when is testing really valid again?
 
Shari,

You may get some answers on Health, but you could also post on the Lantus suport group as the Lantus users tend to hang out over there: viewforum.php?f=9 Have you posted there yet? They all use your insulin and will be able to guide you. It is a very busy board. I would copy this URL on the top of your thread and paste it into a New Topic there. For Subject, use Caps = NEWBIE NEEDS DOSE ADVICE. That way you will get noticed.

I don't have experience with your insulin so I don't know the answers to your questions. I will ask if someone will come over to help, but I really would post over there.
 
It's fine to go ahead and feed if you're not going to stall then shoot. I don't know much about your kitty or how long you've been using Lantus. Generally, we don't recommend shooting if you're still new at this if you get numbers that are below 150.

You might find these links to information on the Lantus board helpful:
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about the Lantus forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.
 
hi Shari

if you dont plan to shoot, its ok to go ahead and feed as usual. You may want to do a mini curve up until your bedtime to see how he doing without a shot tonight, keep in mind there may still be shed action from the previous shot. And in the morning at your usual shot time, he may be slightly higher, as the shed is drained when you skip shots. Lantus likes consistency, shooting on a regular schedule works best.

:arrow: you realize if you shoot later tonight, you will need to shoot 12 hours after that. I would not recommend shooting anywhere near past 2 hours after your usual shot time, it messes the schedule too much.

Has your vet given you a no-shot number range? you're working with your vet on dosing?

If you need a little more info, check out the Lantus forum stickies, especially the protocol followed there, maybe print it up for your vet and discuss.

Might be helpful to others if you posted a recap of your numbers from the past few cycles, its a lot easier to see what the dose is doing by seeing a recap if a spreadsheet is not possible.

EDIT TO ADD: Yes you will see food spikes after food.
by the way, Dealing With Low Preshots is a really handy sticky floating around the Lantus forum.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top