Re: New to Forum
Welcome to Lantus-TR, Greg, Karen, and Furball! You'll notice we have another Furball here too :smile: Her bean's name is Carla. Beans are what we call the human caregivers here, as in hooman beans/human beings :lol: I'm glad you made it over here.
We like to link our previous thread in our current thread - for you, the previous thread is the one you posted on Health:
Greg/Karen/Furball's Health Forum Thread, 23rd September 2012.
You say you're having trouble with setting up your profile - did you see the link to the instructions I posted in your thread on Health? If you have trouble with them, please let us know, so we can help you out.
Also, I see no numbersin your SS for last night's cycle - were you able to get some spot checks? And: HAVE YOU SHOT that 110 preshotthis morning? If so, with what dose?
(Since there is so little data on Furball as yet, we'd not normally suggest you shoot a preshot of 110 at this stage.)
As you touched on in your previous thread (or "condo," as we here in LL call our daily thread), your vet may not know enough about Lantus specifically.
2u is a high dose to start out with. I would recommend that you consider starting lower than that, so that you can consistently shoot every 12 hours and start building the shed (depot), as well as starting to see "normal" Lantus-action rather than wonky numbers from frequently changing doses.
Sienne has suggested the dose of 0.25u - I would go with that when next you get a shootable preshot and re-assess after you've been able to shoot consistenly for a few cycles.
The numbers you saw yesterday, starting in the green and ending in the red/black, are what we call a BOUNCE :smile: Bounces happen when a cat drops lower than it is used to, or faster than it is used to, and the liver reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon, pushing the BG back up. Bounces can take up to 3 days to clear, so you may see those higher numbers for a few cycles. When a bounce starts to "clear" (the hormones/sugars are flushed out of the cat's system), BG numbers can drop quite quickly and dramatically, so it's something to watch out for in the next couple of days.
Again, shooting one dose consistently is key, as is allowing Furball's shed to form. While that's happening, you can use the time to read, read, read :mrgreen: And ask any questions you have, of course. Whatever you decide for this morning, it would be good to get some early BG tests to see whether Furball may already have started to clear her bounce, ok? I would start with a (+1).
So far so good?
Hugs
Jane
EDITED to add: I'd go with a starting dose of 0.25u to be shot consistently every 12 hours, when next there is a SHOOTABLE preshot. (Thanks, Dyana - I wasn't being clear enough.) And to add the dose recommendation of 0.25u - Thanks, Sienne.