I feel for you; I know how hard it is to be patient. (Sure doesn't come naturally to me!) But keep this in mind: Your kitty was only diagnosed a couple of weeks ago, right? So it can take some time for Rupert's numbers to come down and stay there. (Take a look at Bat's early numbers, back in late Feb. to mid-March; it didn't happen right away.)
I found that the best route for us was consistency: Doses as close to 12 hours apart as possible, and it might not be a good idea this early in the game to be shooting mid-cycle after missing a dose - even when it's only a half dose (as Sue cautioned about earlier). Better off too high now than dealing with the hypo-zone. Have you tried waiting 15 minutes and re-checking Rupert's BG after getting a too-low-to-shoot number? Because sometimes it only takes 15-30 minutes more before the BG rises enough to be in a safer zone, then you
can feed & shoot. If you look at the notes on Bat's SS for 3/18/15, you'll see that I had to do 3 BG cks. over a span of 40+ minutes to get to a shootable AMPS. I don't know if this is an option for you (maybe not, if your work takes you away from home), but if you do end up with Rupert shifted an hour later than usual, wait about 12 hours before you dose again. (You could always ease back to your previous schedule in 15 minute increments over the next several days; I've had to do that several times myself.)
Be consistent about the daily low-carb rations, and if you need to separate your kitties at feeding time, do that. Although mine is a one-cat household, Bat is
such a chow-hound that I've had to mind some pretty crazy details, like not leaving a "people" plate with food scraps on it unattended on the kitchen counter; keeping a bag of bread or chips out of her reach overnight; making sure nobody dropped a potato chip shard or tiny bit of cheese on the floor while snacking (had to break my DH of his walkabout-snacking w/accidental dropping of food morsels). Bat will literally cruise for crumbs just like a dog - and I found that even stuff like that can spike her BG.
I know there's a lot for you to digest in the beginning stages of treatment, but I can tell that you're deeply committed to Rupert's health - and you're doing just fine! I've no doubt you'll see Rupert's #s get better over time. Just breathe, dear, and try to be patient. We've all been where you are right now & everybody here is in your corner. - R

(P.S. Sorry for the lengthy post, but hope it helps you some.)