Need some advice for Prozinc dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

memopad85

Member Since 2014
Some of you may remember me, my niece's cat, Mimi, was diagnosed with diabetes in the beginning of this month; I did start a thread in the old forum and got a lot of great advice. Due to time constraints and other things going on in my life, I had no time to make out a profile and spreadsheet for Mimi until today; I posted the links in my signature. As you can see in the spreadsheet, her numbers seem to be all over the place since we began giving her Prozinc and monitoring her BG. Its only been about 2.5 weeks, and we don't give her any insulin if her BG is less than 200. I am wondering if her erratic numbers is due to the fact that she is new to insulin? Or maybe need to adjust her insulin dosage? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

And for those of you who remember my thread from the old forum, if you recall, she wasn't eating or drinking water in the beginning, but after a week of giving her the appetite stimulant, she began eating and drinking on her own; now she eats what we give her and is back to her normal self for the most part.
 
Hmmm. Interesting spreadsheet. It definitely looks like the dose might be a little high. The goal is to have two shootable preshots a day so you don't have to skip. I think I might be tempted to reduce the dose to .5 and hold it for a few days. See if you have preshots in the 200 range and nadirs higher than 40/50.

Glad she is eating better!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top