Need some Advice amps 458!

Status
Not open for further replies.

raysofhope

Member
Hi everyone,,

Can you all look at Angels ss and see if any of you have any thoughts on whats going on??

Sue has been helping me tremendously! but I would like some others thoughts as well..

thanks very much,,

Diana
 
The number is high this am because you skipped last night and she has been 24 hours since the last shot. I understand why you skipped last night, as she was still dropping at pmps. The best way to handle that situation in the future is to wait until she starts to rise and shoot a smaller dose than usual. That tides her over and is safe.

No worries. I'd shoot one unit this morning (it worked well) and see what the cycle looks like. This is what the tests are for - you collect the data so you can look back to see what happened previously and use that info to guide you.

I am sorry you don't get dosing info from others. They do have experience and are happy to advise on other things but seem reluctant to give dosing advice.
 
Thanks Sue!! I feel soo much better..I feel like I am on a huge Rollar coaster. But you reaching out is REALLY helping me. I am on the brink of tears mostly all day because of this.. I can't than you enough..
 
The nadir for ProZinc can be a bit closer to +5 or +5.5 hours after a shot; finding when your kitty nadirs can be helpful in assessing the dose.

So far, most of your mid-cycle tests are around +7, so you may be missing how low she is going. That may be due to your schedule, and if so, well, you test when you can. Whenever you do have time to get tests in the +5 to +6 range, snag 'em.

It is possible that some of the high level is just being unaccustomed to the new, lower glucose levels, particularly if the drop is fast. Sometimes it can help to slow down the food consumption so it matches the insulin onset and action. You can do this by feeding mini-meals or by freezing some of the food or by spreading the food thinly across a wide plate or be adding some water to increase the volume. Many cats that are fed a single large meal twice a day have a significant food spike about 2 hours after eating. By slowing the food intake, that spike can be flattened somewhat.

And it looks like you have room to stick with the 1 unit, unless she vomits. If it is just an acid stomach causing the vomiting, 1/4 of a 10 mg Pepcid AC about 20-30 minutes before eating may help. I like to dissolve it in an oral syringe and just squirt it in. If the intermittent vomiting continues, it may be worth checking out with the vet.

I haven't been on much because it has been concert h*ll week for me with rehearsal Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday night and performances Friday, and Saturday night, plus a matinee today.
 
Hi Diana! I'm still figuring out this sugardance myself. I wanted to let you know you're not alone! I still get my dosing advice here. I can't really the you advice because I am still learnng...but I can give you a big hug and let you know we're here for you! You'll do fine at all this!
 
Hi Diana...

I have been following your posts and looking at Angel's spreadsheet. I am usually confident giving dosing advice and/or agreeing with others (especially Sue) that post it, but I am a little hesitant here because of Angel's vomiting issue. I never had that experience with Rumpelteazer and do not really know how it affects bg numbers. I don't want to say the wrong thing. :smile:

Sue and BJ are your best source right now. I will keep following your posts...I will learn about the vomiting issue too. :-D

I wish I could be of more help. Big :YMHUG:
 
Thanks every one! I think(know) Angel is very sensitive to change.she has the ability to make herself sick if she gets worried.. I haven't left the house in 3 months!! She worries herself into a tizzy if I am gone, so untill,I feel confident in her dose. I guess Iam staying put.

I will get a 5 or 5+5 tomorrow. Today is shot we had an Ice storm and our power went out at noon for 3 hrs needless to say I had my hands full. Wondering how to keep all the animals warm ,get the fire place started,,ect. I totally forgot to check Angel. I will tomorrow though.

Thanks again,
Diana

Ps thanks for the story too I had to laugh and almost cry because yes I did recognize myself a bit there.
 
Agreeing with Misty. I am reluctant to give dosing advice due to the vomiting issue as well but here is another great big cyber hug! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Have you tried using a Feliway diffuser in the room where she spends most of her time, or a Feliway collar on her? They are supposed to help calm cats.
 
I am sorry I haven't gotten to Angels ss today I have a question , I've tried her on the 1.0 U yesterday amps 322 gave .90 about. At 2:00pm 302 but ate food about noon Then pmps 413. Gave 1.0 This morn 318 gave.90 again. And tonight 381. Gave 1.0
Is is safe to give her the same 1.0 if she is in the lower 300's? I wasn't sure.
As I've seen her drop from 413 with 1.0 to 249 pm. Should I keep her on the 1.0. For another day and give it to her even if she is a bit lower at her next reading? This is where I get confused..
Thanks
 
The important piece is how low does she go? And so far, the answer is nowhere near too low as you will see in the following chart. If you can get nadir tests more often, you'll become more confident she'll be safe at the dose you give and you can observe what happens if the dose is altered.

The difference in using a pet-specific meter vs a human meter (aside from the very high cost of the former) is mostly a matter of scale (though not exactly 1:1). Think of it as reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. If you have the reference values for each, you can interpret them

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

= 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot limit for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
I'm with BJ. She has room to drop so yes, I'd stick with the one and maybe think about raising soon. The only issue is if she vomits. You will need to stay on top of that and be ready to hand feed or give her some watered down food, as she does drop then.

Has she been better lately with her tummy?

Can you start a new thread? I get nervous every time I sign on and see that 911. Also, please update the spreadsheet when you get a chance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top