Need PM dose advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
Related post in PZI -- viewtopic.php?f=24&t=49337&p=531162#p531162

I am worried my Beau is either on a long rebound or not getting enough insulin. He is getting 1.0U BID on his 5th cycle (we are trying to hold a dose for a few days to see a pattern). I am a little discouraged now since he was doing so well and we were getting really nice curves and good nadir #'s. Here is his BG curve to day so far.

AMPS - 509
+2 - 326 (big drop from AMPS)
+4 - 166 (seems to hid nadir early in the cycle)
+6 - 186 (# is creeping up already before mid-cycle)
+8 - 297 (and up...)
+10 - 411 (argh...)
PMPS - 460

I can see reasoning for either rebound or too little insulin. I read that rebound doesn't always need to be due to too low a nadir#, but it can also be due to too sharp a drop in glucose. Beau may be sensitive to insulin as his #'s had dropped quite a bit a few times after his shots. Also his PS#'s are much higher than when we first started insulin and continue to get higher so that makes me wonder if rebound is in play and we should reduce his dose.

On the other hand, he is showing a pretty good curve today (I think) but it's not going low enough so it creeps back up. This makes me think we are not giving him enough insulin to keep the BG low and long enough to the next shot.

It's apparent that 1.0U is NOT working for him since we're on the 5th cycle. The question is do I go UP or do I go DOWN???
 
Re: Beau - 8/6 Rebound or too little insulin?

Alicia
We'll have a better feel for it once some more numbers are there. It was a nice drop to +2 though.
The other things you mentioned are encouraging signs. His appetite is improved, water consumption is down (he's getting more water eating canned than dry so he isn't needing to drink as much) and that's a good sign. Peeing less, no ketones. I wouldn't worry about not being greated at the door. That's a cat thing. Besides, maybe he was busy comtemplating the universe or something and couldn't be bothered with making sure you have nothing to stress about! If they were predictable and creatures of habit, they wouldn't be kitties.

Look forward to more #'s,

Carl
 
Re: Beau - 8/6 Rebound or too little insulin?

Alicia,
Can you keep a good eye on Beau for the next couple hours? I'm not trying to be overly concerned, but that's a pretty steep drop from amps to +4. He's eaten 2 and a half cans of FF including breakfast, right?
He's been getting incredible drops on that 1u dose. ECID, but Bob shrugged off that size dose and looked at me and said "yeah, so what else you got?"
Beau may be getting ready for a small dose decrease soon, which is terrific.

Carl
 
me, i'd stick with the 1 unit and then email this curve to Dr. A. more than likely you'd hear back from her by sometime in the morning. do you have her email?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top