alicia.1771
Member Since 2011
Related post in PZI -- viewtopic.php?f=24&t=49337&p=531162#p531162
I am worried my Beau is either on a long rebound or not getting enough insulin. He is getting 1.0U BID on his 5th cycle (we are trying to hold a dose for a few days to see a pattern). I am a little discouraged now since he was doing so well and we were getting really nice curves and good nadir #'s. Here is his BG curve to day so far.
AMPS - 509
+2 - 326 (big drop from AMPS)
+4 - 166 (seems to hid nadir early in the cycle)
+6 - 186 (# is creeping up already before mid-cycle)
+8 - 297 (and up...)
+10 - 411 (argh...)
PMPS - 460
I can see reasoning for either rebound or too little insulin. I read that rebound doesn't always need to be due to too low a nadir#, but it can also be due to too sharp a drop in glucose. Beau may be sensitive to insulin as his #'s had dropped quite a bit a few times after his shots. Also his PS#'s are much higher than when we first started insulin and continue to get higher so that makes me wonder if rebound is in play and we should reduce his dose.
On the other hand, he is showing a pretty good curve today (I think) but it's not going low enough so it creeps back up. This makes me think we are not giving him enough insulin to keep the BG low and long enough to the next shot.
It's apparent that 1.0U is NOT working for him since we're on the 5th cycle. The question is do I go UP or do I go DOWN???
I am worried my Beau is either on a long rebound or not getting enough insulin. He is getting 1.0U BID on his 5th cycle (we are trying to hold a dose for a few days to see a pattern). I am a little discouraged now since he was doing so well and we were getting really nice curves and good nadir #'s. Here is his BG curve to day so far.
AMPS - 509
+2 - 326 (big drop from AMPS)
+4 - 166 (seems to hid nadir early in the cycle)
+6 - 186 (# is creeping up already before mid-cycle)
+8 - 297 (and up...)
+10 - 411 (argh...)
PMPS - 460
I can see reasoning for either rebound or too little insulin. I read that rebound doesn't always need to be due to too low a nadir#, but it can also be due to too sharp a drop in glucose. Beau may be sensitive to insulin as his #'s had dropped quite a bit a few times after his shots. Also his PS#'s are much higher than when we first started insulin and continue to get higher so that makes me wonder if rebound is in play and we should reduce his dose.
On the other hand, he is showing a pretty good curve today (I think) but it's not going low enough so it creeps back up. This makes me think we are not giving him enough insulin to keep the BG low and long enough to the next shot.
It's apparent that 1.0U is NOT working for him since we're on the 5th cycle. The question is do I go UP or do I go DOWN???