Need more advice, please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been trying to get as many tests as I can with Zoey, but we were gone over Thanksgiving so I missed a few days. I'm still trying to figure out what to do with her. If I look back over her spreadsheet in May, June, July, and August, she had much better numbers...more yellows, blues and greens. Since then she has been staying pretty much in the pinks, reds, and even a few blacks. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
 
I am sorry, Carol. I know I wrote a reply but I guess it got lost in ether space. How did the 1.2 do for the yellow on 12/7. I thought that was a good choice, with your higher doses for pinks and reds. (I thought 1.4 for a pink and 1.6 for a red looked good.

Let us know how your latest adjustments are working.
 
The 12/7 pmps was in the yellow, but I can't recall exactly what it was. (I didn't bring her chart to work.) However, the 12/8 amps was over 400 again and didn't go below 300 for over 6 hours. Her pmps last night was in the pink and again this morning. I would like to get her back to the yellows I saw during the summer, but I don't know why I can't get there! I will update the spreadsheet tomorrow so it will be accurate.

Thanks for checking for me. I'm wondering if I need to change insulin...maybe Lantus?
 
Not sure Carol...you're getting some nice mid cycle numbers, though they could be a tad lower. I don't know if possibly Lantus would help...do you still have a lot of insulin left?
 
I have about a third of a bottle left. I wouldn't change until after the first of the year, but it will be a year in January since she was diagnosed. I've been hoping I'd have her more under control by now.
 
I totally understand. I'm just not sure...the thing is you get a good drop. And sometimes you get a low preshot...maybe a depot insulin will help flatten the cycle and lower it. Either way, since you want to wait til after January, I'd say let's do what we can for now here and maybe when you have some time, start reading up on Lantus or Lev? That way, you can start to build an understanding of how those insulins work so if you do switch, you have a bit of a background. :)
 
I'll probably wait until this bottle of ProZinc is gone. We're going to be gone over Christmas, but I have a friend who will do the preshot tests and give her injections. I just won't be able to get any midcycle numbers for a week or so. I'll take your advice and read up on Lantus and Levemir. I'm hoping I don't have to switch, but as you can see by her numbers the last few days, there just doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason for her readings. One day she's in the 200s and the next she's 400+! Her nadirs don't even seem to be consistent. Ugggh!!!
 
I see her numbers as less unpredictable the last few cycles, Carol. 12/7 was nice with a nice amps/pmps. 12/8 amps could easily have been a bounce from a lower number overnight. I'd she stays in the pinks another cycle, I'd be tempted to raise the dose a bit - on a cycle you can monitor.
 
This is the scale I've been using:
Less than 150 0
150-220 1.0
220-320 1.2
320-400 1.4
400+ 1.6

Do you think I should raise each by .2? Or change the range of the numbers on the scale?

I will be able to monitor her for the next few days, so I'd like to make the change as soon as possible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top