need insulin advice for evening dose BS 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holtfam6

Member Since 2022
Hi the problem cat chance decided to be challenging. After yesterday wondering if we needed to increase his insulin, we kept him at 4.5 units prozinc. His blood sugar per ReliOn is 165 and libre 193. We are fighting him off food and will recheck in 20 minutes. @frostid @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Sorry nobody replied! Looks like the 2.5U was a good call. Last night's number were Libre I assume?
 
Sorry nobody replied! Looks like the 2.5U was a good call. Last night's number were Libre I assume?
Before we decided to adjust insulin, we did blood. Been down that road with the Libre before. His 08 am this morning was also blood. We did give a high carb pate last night when he was 66. 15% because of gravy. We didn’t want him to crash and us to sleep through. He’s been higher all day. Could that be because of the high carb last night? We should’ve gone less carb but still learning.
 
Tha
Before we decided to adjust insulin, we did blood. Been down that road with the Libre before. His 08 am this morning was also blood. We did give a high carb pate last night when he was 66. 15% because of gravy. We didn’t want him to crash and us to sleep through. He’s been higher all day. Could that be because of the high carb last night? We should’ve gone less carb but still learning.
Thats ok with responding. It’s a very busy board.
 
On a human meter, knowing the number was close to or nadir itself, LC probably would have been ok. On a human meter and near nadir we typically will do MC in the 50s (test every 30 mins), HC if 40-50 (test every 20-30 mins), HC + karo below 40 (test every 15 mins). If the lows or dives are earlier in the cycle, that changes a bit.

So the question is - following SLGS, he did technically earn a reduction, but is it wise to take one when he's been so high overall?

In another post you said you completely removed dry right? How many days has it been?

You might be seeing some effects from that, so you could cautiously reduce by 0.25U. If it were me I would hold the 4.5U; if you get a preshot below 250 I would do a sliding scale sort of thing. You know around 160-ish 2.25U is pretty good. So around 200 perhaps try 2.5-2.75U, around 250 try closer to 3-3.5U. Just until you get more data in these lower numbers.

If youre seeing food effects (even though it was just Dr Elsey's) things might change kind of quick on you here, so when in doubt go a little more conservative on dose and higher carbs in low numbers. It'll help if you note what you feed and when in the Remarks column, that way over time you can see what works and what doesn't.


(I figured it out - the tag for me in your original post is incorrect)
 
Can you please look at last night numbers? Chance came down again. I gave 4.5 because he was over 350 per libre. For some reason, he's having more positive effects of the prozinc at night. We've been totally off the dry for about a week but my daughter gave him a 1/4 cup last night when he was dropping and then came and got me. He only ate a few pieces. I put it away and we gave him a can of creamy fancy feast delights which was 13% carbs to stop the dropping as the meter kept dropping dropping. We did do a blood to confirm he was coming up before we all settled down to sleep and he was 94. Typically what I"m trying to do, is not feed the "high" numbers. i try to bring him down. We usually feed 08 am, test and morning insulin. He's been getting fancy feast kitten pate (will be switching to adult pate now that he's gained weight back), stella and chewys in the carton, or fussy cat. I don't feed again til I see better numbers. All my pets eat their "dinner" around 3p so he gets another can of the previous mentioned. We check him again at 8pm, give insulin and one more can of food to hold over the night. Any recommendations to stabilize would be greatly appreciated. I do like the idea of sliding scale. Will start that tonight til we can figure out things a little more. So we probably should have let him ride out the 50s?
 
Can you please look at last night numbers? Chance came down again. I gave 4.5 because he was over 350 per libre. For some reason, he's having more positive effects of the prozinc at night. We've been totally off the dry for about a week but my daughter gave him a 1/4 cup last night when he was dropping and then came and got me. He only ate a few pieces. I put it away and we gave him a can of creamy fancy feast delights which was 13% carbs to stop the dropping as the meter kept dropping dropping. We did do a blood to confirm he was coming up before we all settled down to sleep and he was 94. Typically what I"m trying to do, is not feed the "high" numbers. i try to bring him down. We usually feed 08 am, test and morning insulin. He's been getting fancy feast kitten pate (will be switching to adult pate now that he's gained weight back), stella and chewys in the carton, or fussy cat. I don't feed again til I see better numbers. All my pets eat their "dinner" around 3p so he gets another can of the previous mentioned. We check him again at 8pm, give insulin and one more can of food to hold over the night. Any recommendations to stabilize would be greatly appreciated. I do like the idea of sliding scale. Will start that tonight til we can figure out things a little more. So we probably should have let him ride out the 50s?
@FrostD :cat:
 
It looks like Chance bounced into a higher range after the drop to 66 on 6/3. The drop that evening could have qualified for a dose reduction to 4.5u. With the drop again last night, I think Chance is telling you to reduce the dose. If it were me, I'd be reducing to 4.25u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top