Need input - Weird day with Sam

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Active Member
AMPS - 293 Shot .4
+3 - 176
+6 - 219
+9 - 370
PMPS - 377

I'm thinking of shooting .5 and would love some feedback.
 
Okay, I ended up shooting .4 again since it's an overnight. Also trying to give this dose 72 hours. Somebody mentioned that as a good amount of time for a dose change on prozinc.
 
I was thinking earlier today about mentioning upping to .5 but when I really looked at your SS you were getting repeatedly dropping PSs on .4 so I did not say anything. Yes I think .5 would be fine.

I've found that early nadir like that can [but perhaps not always] be a sign of not enough insulin.

The amount of recommended time on a dose is often different from different sources. I think we have experienced different things that work well for our different cats. So ECID. 3-5 days is frequently recommended for increases in dose. If you think you see improvement at 3 days then hold perhaps up to 5. I also think the recommended time to hold a cycle - especially for increases - has to do with how big the increases are. So maybe one wants to wait longer for larger increases.

I ussually approch changes in dose in a % way. So in the approx range you are under [1u and under] a .1u change would be approx '10%'. In the beginning I would try not to make changes larger than '20%'. But 10% changes are reasonable. I'm more a fan of holding for 3 cycles but I also like making '5%' changes.

Anyway, even though you did not hold for 3 days, it was becoming clearer that .4u was on the verge of not cutting it for you guys. Tonight's much higher PS sealed the deal on my vote for .5.
 
Thanks, Gator. Tomorrow I'll probably up it to .5 since I didn't do it tonight. Of course, if his AMPS is low again, then I don't know. I'm starting to get frustrated that I can't get a better handle on this. I know I need to be patient. Saying that is easier than doing it.
 
Morning, I'm glad you went to .5u, I can't wait to see how he does with it.

The fine tuning stage can be frustrating. One day a dose works well and the next day it doesn't. You will get a feel for it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top