Niki & Ephalba
Member Since 2010
Hi all,
I'll apologize upfront for the information dump, but more details are better, right? :smile:
First, my quick question. For better or worse, Ephalba has decided she likes to pee on the kitchen linoleum. Upside--I get to test her ketones! I just tested her and she is showing trace/low ketones on the dipstick. All other behavioral indicators which she usually shows if she's going ketotic are not there. She's eating, affectionate, cleaning herself, eating well. At what point is it critical for her to go to the vet? Is there anything I can do to lower ketones at home? We've spent most of our savings and borrowed from family to pay for her care (details below) and I really don't know if I can come up with another $800-1500 for another ER trip. Advice?
I'd also like some input on how to get her diabetes under control--we just haven't managed success yet.
Ephalba is around nine years old, give or take a year, and was diagnosed December 2009 after what turned out to be a bout with ketoacidosis. Since that time, we've really not been able to regulate her for more than 3-4 months at a time. She's been hospitalized for being ketotic 4 times and has never had a hypo episode. Due to scheduling factors with me and my husband and it taking two people to do a bgc test on her, we do not test before every shot, but I do try as often as we are able (usually weekends). I'm continuing to work on it as I know it's important, so please, no harsh words about that!
She was eating Wellness dry before the dx and now eats 1 1/2 cans of high protein/lo carb wet Friskies per day (no free feeding). She'll eat the other cats' food if I don't watch her. She fluctuates between being a normal body weight and being thin. She drinks and urinates a ton. She currently gets 3u twice a day (in a 100u needle) of ProZinc. She started on 1u twice a day (in a 40u needle) and has had as much as 4u twice a day (in a 100u needle). Here's a recent breakdown of history/doses/curves:
In early April, she was hospitalized for being ketotic. After being stabilized she was at a dose of 4u 2x/day (100u needle). Mid-April curve after two weeks on 4u dose: 6am: 384, +3: 433, +6: 304, +9: 287, +12: 295, +15: 314. She also had her teeth cleaned a week after she was out of the hospital (they needed it!) because the vet was concerned she might have a low level infection that could be causing issues. Urine culture was clean, but she was put on a month of clavamox 2x/day just in case. After this ketotic episode she started showing signs of diabetic neuropathy, which is actually looking better now, but still somewhat present.
We did a curve again in early May, still on 4u dose: 6am: 272, +2: 459, +4: 543, +6: 453, +8: 416, +10: 339, +12: 355. After reporting the curve the vet recommended we actually decrease the insulin to 2u per shot because he thought Ephalba's body might be trying to overcompensate for too high of insulin which was driving the numbers up. I've never heard of this and we were going on vacation two days after, so he recommended 3u per shot and to go to 2u per shot when we were back home.
We've been gone for 1 1/2 weeks and had someone stay with the kitties until yesterday who reported no ketones and no unusual behavior while we were gone. I did the dipstick today, which is when I came up with the trace/low amount. I'm afraid the lower insulin, even though it's a really small change with the 100u needles, led to the issue. I'm also pretty nervous to go to a lower dose if we're seeing ketones. The vet has told me repeatedly, when I've felt the curves are too high, that it's much better to be underregulated than too tightly regulated. I agree a hypo episode is more dangerous than ketosis, but I hate that Ephalba keeps having to go through this and we just can't afford repeat ER trips.
We've had two rounds of blood/urine/stool testing since she was diagnosed to look for underlying infection, check thyroid/liver/kidney, etc. She's also had an x-ray and some kinds of scan I don't remember the name of to check for masses. Everything has come up clean.
Some of the questions I've wondered but haven't gotten a clear answer about . . . Should she be on a much higher dose? Lower dose like the vet says? Should we try another insulin? Is she eating too much--would less food change things? Are there other things we should test her for? What would you do if Ephalba was your lovely kitty?
Let me know if you need more info! Thank you from me and Ephalba!
Niki
I'll apologize upfront for the information dump, but more details are better, right? :smile:
First, my quick question. For better or worse, Ephalba has decided she likes to pee on the kitchen linoleum. Upside--I get to test her ketones! I just tested her and she is showing trace/low ketones on the dipstick. All other behavioral indicators which she usually shows if she's going ketotic are not there. She's eating, affectionate, cleaning herself, eating well. At what point is it critical for her to go to the vet? Is there anything I can do to lower ketones at home? We've spent most of our savings and borrowed from family to pay for her care (details below) and I really don't know if I can come up with another $800-1500 for another ER trip. Advice?
I'd also like some input on how to get her diabetes under control--we just haven't managed success yet.
Ephalba is around nine years old, give or take a year, and was diagnosed December 2009 after what turned out to be a bout with ketoacidosis. Since that time, we've really not been able to regulate her for more than 3-4 months at a time. She's been hospitalized for being ketotic 4 times and has never had a hypo episode. Due to scheduling factors with me and my husband and it taking two people to do a bgc test on her, we do not test before every shot, but I do try as often as we are able (usually weekends). I'm continuing to work on it as I know it's important, so please, no harsh words about that!
She was eating Wellness dry before the dx and now eats 1 1/2 cans of high protein/lo carb wet Friskies per day (no free feeding). She'll eat the other cats' food if I don't watch her. She fluctuates between being a normal body weight and being thin. She drinks and urinates a ton. She currently gets 3u twice a day (in a 100u needle) of ProZinc. She started on 1u twice a day (in a 40u needle) and has had as much as 4u twice a day (in a 100u needle). Here's a recent breakdown of history/doses/curves:
In early April, she was hospitalized for being ketotic. After being stabilized she was at a dose of 4u 2x/day (100u needle). Mid-April curve after two weeks on 4u dose: 6am: 384, +3: 433, +6: 304, +9: 287, +12: 295, +15: 314. She also had her teeth cleaned a week after she was out of the hospital (they needed it!) because the vet was concerned she might have a low level infection that could be causing issues. Urine culture was clean, but she was put on a month of clavamox 2x/day just in case. After this ketotic episode she started showing signs of diabetic neuropathy, which is actually looking better now, but still somewhat present.
We did a curve again in early May, still on 4u dose: 6am: 272, +2: 459, +4: 543, +6: 453, +8: 416, +10: 339, +12: 355. After reporting the curve the vet recommended we actually decrease the insulin to 2u per shot because he thought Ephalba's body might be trying to overcompensate for too high of insulin which was driving the numbers up. I've never heard of this and we were going on vacation two days after, so he recommended 3u per shot and to go to 2u per shot when we were back home.
We've been gone for 1 1/2 weeks and had someone stay with the kitties until yesterday who reported no ketones and no unusual behavior while we were gone. I did the dipstick today, which is when I came up with the trace/low amount. I'm afraid the lower insulin, even though it's a really small change with the 100u needles, led to the issue. I'm also pretty nervous to go to a lower dose if we're seeing ketones. The vet has told me repeatedly, when I've felt the curves are too high, that it's much better to be underregulated than too tightly regulated. I agree a hypo episode is more dangerous than ketosis, but I hate that Ephalba keeps having to go through this and we just can't afford repeat ER trips.
We've had two rounds of blood/urine/stool testing since she was diagnosed to look for underlying infection, check thyroid/liver/kidney, etc. She's also had an x-ray and some kinds of scan I don't remember the name of to check for masses. Everything has come up clean.
Some of the questions I've wondered but haven't gotten a clear answer about . . . Should she be on a much higher dose? Lower dose like the vet says? Should we try another insulin? Is she eating too much--would less food change things? Are there other things we should test her for? What would you do if Ephalba was your lovely kitty?
Let me know if you need more info! Thank you from me and Ephalba!
Niki