Need Input on Dose, had very low number +2

Jenn C + Henry

Member Since 2019
Hi. Can you add a signature and put the SS link in there?

I think you are using a human meter so that means you haven't seen a lime green yet. Did you start insulin on 1/23/19?

Here, we do 0.1u and the drop doses.

I recommend you do more tests after PMPS. Most cats go lower at night. You can do a "before bed" test every night.
 
Those low numbers are still in the safe range. Rather than giving karo and hc food, you could try giving lc or mc food to see if that is enough to keep him from going down any lower without sending him sky high.

As Mandy said, you can do the 0.1 dose and drop dose, and I also highly recommend getting some tests in during the evening cycle.
 
He was diagnosed right after Christmas. Was exhibiting all the normal symptoms, excessive thirst, excessive urinatng, hungry. I was away, came home and took him to vet. He needed fluids and had sugar in his urine and his BG was in the high 400s.

We tried just low carb diet for 3 weeks. Then had a fructosomine test and his levels were still high. Started Lantus January 23 1u twice a day.
 
If you could read the Stickies on the top of the L&L forum, they hold a lot of information. The fine dose sticky shows you images of a drop dose, 0.1u, 0.25u, etc.

Henry was never diagnosed with DKA, correct?
 
Going to call vet and ask their opinion but at one point they told me to give different doses am and pm so not sure they know what they are talking about.
Lantus likes consistency. Its slow acting and the effects are cumulative. changing doses every cycle will
further cloud the picture. Finding a dose you can safely shoot every 12 hours is key.

With Lantus, dose changes are determined by how low a dose takes your kitty. Please read about dosing methods and pick the one you think will be the best fit.
Each method has its own criteria for when its appropriate to reduce the dose and by how much.
You are doing a good job on the AM cycle testing however the PM cycle is a mystery. As it stands you are making decisions based on half the picture.

Typically how available are you for testing, both AM and PM cycles?
 
Back
Top