Need Injection Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sue, that remission idea sounds good. Last night her PMPS was 105 (didn't shoot) but she was stressed so that probably made it go up a tad. She was yowling at me while I was trying to test her but I persisted. I'm giving her a break this morning and afternoon which I think is fine since she's not been at all high without insulin. I do not want to create a cat burrito situation.
 
Just wondering, what level here on this website is considered normal, as in non-diabetic? Anywhere between 40-120? So, not over 120? At the vet, over 150 is considered diabetic. How do I reconcile the two? Especially when I go to the vet in a few weeks and show her Mewsette's levels on her spreadsheet. She's a new vet and not well versed at all in feline diabetes, not too friendly and not very nice. Thanks.
 
Without insulin, 40-120 with most of the time spent in double digits, for 2 weeks = remission

But personally I wouldn't give insulin under 150-180 (whatever you feel most comfortable with). With her pancreas helping out, it is hard to predict what even a little insulin might do. If she reaches your predetermined number, then maybe a drop and monitoring.

About the vet. I'd go in confident and excited and show off that beautiful spreadsheet proudly. Hard for her to argue with success. :-D
 
Can you tell me what level is considered a non-diabetic, in general? If I went to the vet, one of their lab tests with a blood glucose over 150 would tell them a cat is diabetic. Is it the same here?
 
See the blue section below.

[False assumption removed by Moderator]

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Thank you. It seems this info is what I'm looking for, though I didn't realize I was asking such a complicated question. This will be great to take to the vet! dancing_cat
 
Thank you. It seems this info is what I'm looking for, though I didn't realize I was asking such a complicated question. This will be great to take to the vet! dancing_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top