Need help

Zelda & Walter

Member Since 2019
Hi—woke up at 2am and noticed that my cat Walter, was staggering and looking disoriented. His BG was 95. I fed him 2 cans of food. BG then went to 111, 120,107, 109 and most recently, 144. Walter seems slightly better but not out of the woods. He’s also drinking a lot of water.
 
It sounds like he may have been lower during the night and experiencing a hypoglycemic episode. He may be sensitive to insulin now and it could make him go lower quicker. You may need to take him to the vet to get him checked to make sure he is okay. Do you test before you give shots? What insulin are you giving him? How is he acting now?
 
Have you taken any more BG?
How does he seem now?
That was good to feed him. You can always give a small amount of honey. And I would suggest always having some high carb canned food available such as fancy feast gravy lovers.
I would reduce the dose of insulin next dose.
It would be very helpful if you set up a spreadsheet so we could see the numbers. It is hard to help if we can’t see what is happening.
 
Please keep us posted on how Walter is doing. It may have been that his numbers did drop lower but there's no way to know if this was hypoglycemia or if there's something else going on. If he's not back to normal soon, please get him in to your vet.

 
Please keep us posted on how Walter is doing. It may have been that his numbers did drop lower but there's no way to know if this was hypoglycemia or if there's something else going on. If he's not back to normal soon, please get him in to your vet.
Thanks everyone. BG is at 245 and he’s acting normal – but I agree —could be something else. His numbers have been all over the place ever since he was diagnosed (August). Taking him to the vet.
 
Please keep us updated on Walter. Hoping for the best outcome and that he's feeling much better.

When you get back to posting here, it would be helpful to configure the signature in this way so that leaves enough room for the spreadsheet link as there is limited space available for the signature info:

kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using and dosage amount /glucose meter you're using/what he eats/any other meds or health issues he has. You can add your name, and a geographic location (sometimes the country/time zone matters) Be sure to SAVE when you are finished.

Then please set up the spreadsheet like the one we use here. You will see how the trends and patterns emerge, and members can review his progress before offering suggestions or advice:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/
 
Back
Top