This is a post I copied from the Main Forum.
Facts: Buddy - 16 year old male
Diabetic for 5+ years
Meds: Vetsulin for 2-3 years until discontinued; well controlled
Humulin for 2+ years - well controlled on 5 units 2X a day until a hypo event in November 2012
Lantus since 11-26-2012
Other Medical Conditions: HCE (hypertrophic cardiomyopathy)
Crisis: Hypo event where BG went to 20 on November 11, 2012; vet switched to Lantus
Current dose Lantus: 2.5-3.0 Units twice a day
First, I am totally stressed out as I cannot seem to get any kind of consistent curve for Buddy.
My first attempt at a spread sheet is attached.
I am very concerned since yesterday he had a BG=60 at +10 hours, the lowest it's ever been since switching to Lantus (that is, the lowest I know of). I did the check at +10 and +11 after reading one of the stickies that suggested this is a good idea. I was shocked when I saw the 60.
I've been trying since last November 2012 to get something that works. But as you can see from the spreadsheet, he is all over the place.
We intially started Buddy out with 1, then 1.5, then 2, 2.5 etc. Units of Lantus. He stayed in the mid 300-s to 500's through November and most of December, so we increased it to 3 units.
He had a dental cleaning yesterday as he had some gingivitis and the vet wondered if this could be keeping him high. Plus he has had an upper respiratory infection through all of December. Seems to be improving.
Please help...I am a basket case.
Facts: Buddy - 16 year old male
Diabetic for 5+ years
Meds: Vetsulin for 2-3 years until discontinued; well controlled
Humulin for 2+ years - well controlled on 5 units 2X a day until a hypo event in November 2012
Lantus since 11-26-2012
Other Medical Conditions: HCE (hypertrophic cardiomyopathy)
Crisis: Hypo event where BG went to 20 on November 11, 2012; vet switched to Lantus
Current dose Lantus: 2.5-3.0 Units twice a day
First, I am totally stressed out as I cannot seem to get any kind of consistent curve for Buddy.
My first attempt at a spread sheet is attached.
I am very concerned since yesterday he had a BG=60 at +10 hours, the lowest it's ever been since switching to Lantus (that is, the lowest I know of). I did the check at +10 and +11 after reading one of the stickies that suggested this is a good idea. I was shocked when I saw the 60.
I've been trying since last November 2012 to get something that works. But as you can see from the spreadsheet, he is all over the place.
We intially started Buddy out with 1, then 1.5, then 2, 2.5 etc. Units of Lantus. He stayed in the mid 300-s to 500's through November and most of December, so we increased it to 3 units.
He had a dental cleaning yesterday as he had some gingivitis and the vet wondered if this could be keeping him high. Plus he has had an upper respiratory infection through all of December. Seems to be improving.
Please help...I am a basket case.