Need help with spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tim & Chris

Member Since 2010
I'm trying to start a spreadsheet for Tim. There is no place to put what time the AMPS/PMPS are. I work long hours sometimes and the shots are not always exactly 12 hours apart.

Example
5/16/10 AMPS 7 am 338 2U

5/17/10 amps 6:30 am (+23.5) 330 2U
5/17/10 pmps 8:15 pm (+9) 249 1.5U

5/18/10
AMPS 5:30 am (+9) 181 1U

This was before his glucose went way up. I can't figure out how to put the times. I do the best I cannot always shoot at the very best time. So the intervals between shots will vary.
 
You can either put the times in the comments column on the far right of the SS or use the comment balloon found in the Insert drop down menu.

I've asked a couple of people to take a look at your schedule example. I'm a little concerned about the early/late shot issue. Lantus really likes consistency whenever possible. I suspect you will get wonky numbers since an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot like a decrease.
 
If you look at Odie's spreadsheet in my signature, I've modified it to add info about the time of AMPS and PMPS... and other stuff about his food and medications.
You could do something like that.

Odiesmom
 
That example is from when he was on PZI. He just started Lantus on Friday. It can sometimes not be helped that he shots our off. I have to work long hours sometimes and I do the best I can.

Chris
 
Chris --

No criticism intended. You gotta do what you gotta do to pay for strips! You may want to consider, as you see what's happening with dose, to run the dose a little low to compensate for your schedule.

Cindy/Mousie has a similarly challenging schedule. This is the link to Mousie's SS so you have a comparison.
 
Hi Chris,

I add a row periodically to my ss with times in it. You might be able to use a modified version of that. Or you could type the number if units you shoot, followed by CTRL-Enter for a new line in the same box, and put the time there.
 
Thank you for your suggestions. I will try later to get the spreadsheet up to date. I tried last night but was too tired to make it work. I know it's a simple thing but when you're tired nothing is simple. I'm having a really hard time getting a handle on things right now. I work with whinny babies and have to play referee with adults who refuse to get along. Plus since it's my dept I have to pick up the slack when they want to pout and stage a work slow now. Yes, it's true adults actually do act that way. Somedays the stress at work is unbearable. I finally got a vacation last week and was sick from working so many hours with little sleep. So I couldn't do anything I'd planned on doing. Now I 'll have to pay over $100 a month for insulin and start feeding him Wellness again, which pricewise has gone through the roof. My vet was so concerned about Tim last week because of his numbers and his kidney function.I just lost my Amy and I can't loss my boy. He's been with me since he was 3 months old in 1994.

Thanks
Chris
 
Hi Chris,

I know that the manufacturer says discard unused Lantus after 30 days, but we used our one vial from October until March, were careful in our storage ad handling, and never had an issue. What I'm saying is, there is no magic about 30 days. That's just what the manufacturer says to be cautious and because with human usage levels, it isn't generally a big deal. But there is no need to spend $100 a month on insulin. Plenty of folks use their insulin as long as they can and do fine. Hope that helps.
 
Hi Chris. I get my insulin from Canada for about $110.00 for 5 cartridges or pens. Each one lasts about a month, so that's 5 months for $110.00. And, if you want to feed Fancy Feast, it's 30 cents a can at WalMart.
If you want to look at my spreadsheet, I often have to shoot at +11.75 and +12.25 and I add that after the PS number.
Good luck getting that spreadsheet up and linked.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top