Need help with PMPS dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
Several choices:

How bad would it mess up your schedule if you fed him, waited 2 hours and tested again. If he is high enough, give him maybe 3/3.5 units? Then you'd have to shoot him 12 hours from that shot and work you way back to the times you want.

If not, skip. And reduce a smidge tomorrow - maybe 3.75?

Or give a small amount - maybe 2 units - check before bed. My thinking here is that he is rising from +8. 157 to 156 is the same really. This is the chanciest option but keeps you moving forward.

Your choice. Good news - he is continually needing less insulin.
 
Options:
1) stall 30 minutes, retest, and re-evaluate
2) skip
3) if you can stay up to monitor, giving a reduced dose, such as 1 or 2 units
 
I like the 3/ 3.5 option. So to make sure I understand you feed him now wait 2 hours test and if he is above 200 shoot 3/3.5 units? Which is better 3? or 3.5 he's on 4 right now
 
Crumbs I also like the wait 30 minutes retest and shoot reduced dose of 1 or 2 units. What is best for Fritz?
 
My gut says stall 30 minutes retest and see if hes up over 200 and rising then go from there what do you think?
 
If I wait and he is high enough even by 8 is it ok to give AM dose at 8 am?
 
Go with your gut. If you want to stall and check in 30 min, do that. :)

Are you saying if you wait tonight and if he is high enough to shoot by 8 PM, is it okay to give the next dose at 8 AM? If so, yes. As long as he is high enough in the AM, that would work since it would be 12 hours from this shot.
 
K boy it's great if he's hovering at 200 easy decision to make. This is unfamiliar territory . I'm going to test him right now hoping close to 200 or I wait a bit. K he's at 174 should I give reduced dose like maybe 2 units? He's on 4 units
 
2 units should be very safe and let you sleep. It may not be enough but will be good data to have the next time he is in the 170s. Maybe get a before bed test just to be sure he isn't throwing a curve ball?
 
Thank you I did shoot 2 units . I need help understanding what to dose now that he is starting to not have high enough numbers at shoot times. Do we have enough data to know how he is reacting to the insulin. I do understand the part about if one pre shoot is high and 1 low maybe too much insulin. Now that he is had three nights too low to shoot do we start giving lower dose? Or is that just when he hits double digits he has earned reduction. Please help me to understand process.
 
Hes looking good Deb :) All these prozinc boys are wanting to work thier way down lately :bighug:
Sarah this is new territory for us. Im struggling to know what to do as his #s lower. It was easy when he was 200 and rising, now with #s being low for pm shoots Im nervous. How are you so calm and knowing what to do?
 
calm?? not calm, just easier to seem that way through a keyboard :) Just keep reminding yourself no matter how nervous you are this is Fritz making good progress, and your doing great keeping him safe! Its so nerve racking because even with all the SS data, theres still that slight fraction of guesswork to dosing, at least thats how I feel with it....

its scary with them getting this low I know.... dont know what dose is going to do what apparently....same dose I've been using at 180 PS just put him at 62 3.5 hours into a cycle of a 220 PS. WTH?!?! But still its progress in the right direction right :) Keep doing what your doing, its working good with that handsome guy of yours! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I don't feel so bad with Fritz @156 after seeing Cooters BG of 62 @3.5 thank heavens that their food guides them thru this. I'm praying for you & baby Cooter:bighug:
 
Thats ok I see your in Oklahoma I think your two hours ahead of me. We spend the summers in the Pacific Northwest and fall, winters in Arizona.
 
just glad i decided to test @3, was going to wait till 4. Im off to bed, start the whole vicious circle in 5 hours again :) Have a great night and give Fritz some chin scritches from me, look forward to seeing his numbers in the morning :bighug:
 
Wow I didn't realize that just 0.2 units could have the same effect that larger doses have.:eek::nailbiting:
 
Hi, Deb - Just had to say this: I LOVE Fritz's pose in the avatar - does he always do that with his front paws when he assumes the meatloaf position? TOO cute!!!:D

Looks like he's doing great tonight so far; good job!:) (Don't know which time zone you're in, but I'm up for about another hour yet, unless Bat-Bat tricks me & decides to pull a cliff-diving trick on me when I check her +4.:rolleyes:)
 
Robin yes that's his little trademark... :cat: I was surprised at how well his numbers did last night on 2 units.
Hope I made a wise choice to only shoot with 2.5 units????
By the way I'm always following you & beautiful Bat-Bat ;):bighug:
 
I was surprised at how well his numbers did last night on 2 units. Hope I made a wise choice to only shoot with 2.5 units????
Yes, he did really well last night (I'll bet it was nice to get some sleep, too, huh?;)) I'd say the 2.5 was a good choice - this way you can see how he does on that, and it's always better to do a smaller increase (I think anyway) than a whole unit jump when you're trying to find that "sweet spot" of dosing. Because you can always move upward later if you don't see #s you're happy with, whereas you can't "unshoot" a little too much insulin.:rolleyes: So ... yes, you did just fine, Deb!:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top