Need help with my cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arthea

Member Since 2014
Hello,

I´m new at FDMB. I´m from Germany and need a little help with my cat, because there are no good homepages in german about feline diabetes.

I went to the vet because my cat has started to eat more food and drink more water as normal, but he does not gain weight. Two weeks ago I received from my vet the information that my cat (he is called Heini) has diabetes. I got Caninsulin and some syringes. Next day I bought a blood sugar level testing device. At the start of the hometesting everything was fine. In the morning and during midday the blood sugar level was really low. In the evening the level was a little bit higher. The vet told me, that everything is okay and I shall start with one unit Caninsulin. During this time Heini only need 3 meals over the day.
Since three day the blood sugar level is extremly high (about 500 and more). The vet advices me to give the cat 1,5 units of Caninsulin.
The blood sugar level do not go back to a lower level. I don´t know what to do. The vet says, I must wait. It will be a long process and we must testing out the right Caninsulin unit for Heini. Since the last 3 days Heini is eating more food (about 6 or 7 meals) and is drinking more water. I also have changed the cat food into a sugar free version.

The questions or problems I have:
Is it normal, that the blood sugar level (which was very low) raises so extremly after 1 1/2 week after starting with Caninsulin?

The next problem: I get not enough blood from Heini for the blood sugar test. I have to scarify Heini´s ears 4 times. But the is no blood. I tried to warm up his ears without any success. I tried to get blood from his foot (Heini was not happy about that). Also: no success. Everytime a want some blood the cat get stressed. Do you have a tip what I can also do. The blood sugar level testing device need not much blood.

About Heini:
He is 10 years old
castrated
he has a big garden but is only living inhome
European short hair

I hope you can give me some information and help me with my problems.

My English is not the best so please : Sorry for my bad English skills :roll:

Best regards

Arthea
 
Hi Arthea :cool: and Welcome :YMHUG: This whole diabetes thing does take a lot of patience and a lot of learning. I am happy that you are home testing. I often have to poke more than one time to get blood. If the first prick does not give blood, then I poke again right next to the first poke. You might have to get wider lancets. I use the 28 gauge.
 
Try holding a flashlight under the flap of the ear, or looking closely in the sunlight to find the vein.. There is a vein that runs along the edge of the ear and that has been where I have the most luck getting a drop of blood. It is good you warm up/massage his ear before...that helps. Also, make sure you are holding the lancing device right up against the ear. I put a folded tissue against the ear on the other side of the needle.

Good luck! I am brand new to this, too, but everyone here is VERY helpful!!
 
Our Lantus protocol is derived from research done with the Diabetes Katzen group.

You're welcome to stay here with us, though!

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Hello Arthea and extra sweet kitty Heini and welcome to the message board.

This link will take you to some ear testing tips. The most useful tips at the beginning are:
1. warm the ear
2. use a larger lancet (25-28 gauge) for poking
3. poke twice, real close together to get a larger blood drop to form
4. always give your cat a treat, successful test or not. Three tries at testing and then stop but try again later.


This link talks about ear testing psychology It talks about making this testing process easier for your cat.

Sorry, I can't help you on your Caninsulin question because I have no experience with that insulin.

This link Canned cat food for EUROPEANS and INTERNATIONAL buyers lists many foods available that may be good for a diabetic cat. We look for foods with <10% carbohydrates.

Which foods are you feeding Heini?
What meter are you using for testing?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top