Hello again my new found best friends! I have been gathering information all day. Sorry to post it here, but I still can't get the spreadsheet to work, probably because I have an iPad. Here are Mika's stats:
12 year old male Siamese, over weight at 17.3 pounds. Has not lost any weight since being diagnosed. Has not been tested for any additional underlying health problems like acromalgy (sorry about spelling.) Does not appear to have any characteristics of acromalgy. Started eating, drinking, sleeping, and peeing a lot. Took him to the vet on 7/15/11. Vet took blood and urine. Called me on 7/20/11 to tell me Mika had diabetes. Blood glucose was 470, and fructosamine was 536. Vet started him on lantus BID 3 units the next day (7/21/11.). Lantus is being administered using u-100 bg insulin syringes.
7/29/11 - blood glucose curve performed at the vet's office:
6:30 am - food
7:00 am - 3 units of insulin
8:30 am - bg 459
11:00 am - bg 431
1:00 pm - bg 453
3:00 pm - bg 490
Vet upped bid to 5 units
Second bg curve I performed at home using an alphatrak meter and strips. Drew blood using a one touch delica lancet, 33 gauge.
8/5/11:
6:30 am - food
7:00 am - 5 units lantus
8:04 am - bg 411
10:40 am - bg 371
12:50 pm - bg 383
2:55 pm - bg 388
6:30 pm food
7:00 pm 5 units lantus
Took results of bg curve to the vet the next day. Vet upped lantus dosage to 7 units bid.
Third bg curve I performed at home on Saturday, 8/20/11:
6:30 AM – Food
7:00 AM – 7 units of Lantus
8:35 AM – 371
10:50 AM – 275
1:00 PM – 335
3:00 PM – 334
5:00 PM – 319
6:30 PM – Food
7:00 PM – 333 (right before 7 units of Lantus)
At this point I noticed Mika had slowed down on eating, drinking, and peeing so much. Transmitted above bg results to vet on Monday, 8/22/11. Vet called and told me to up the lantis to 8 units bid. Monday, 8/22/11, is when I actively became involved in this website as I had doubts to the extreme amounts of insulin Mika was being prescribed by the vet. After much reading, I lowered his Lantus dosage to 3 units bid on Tueday, 8/23/11, night. After additional conversation with members, we lowered the dosage to 1.5 units (based on Rand protocol) on Thursday, 8/25/11, night. Last night I took his bg right before food and insulin and it was 376 at 5:30 pm. Today, I gave him 1.5 units at 7:00AM and tested his BG at 11:00AM, it was 347. He appears to hit his napir 4 hours after his dose of insulin. I leave all this information in your good hands and look to your for any advice you may be willing to provide regarding getting him regulated and possibly OTJ. I have the following questions:
On the excel spreadsheet, what does AMPS and PMPS stand for? I assume AM and PM insulin dosage?
Am I correct in increasing his dosage based on his napir 6 - 7 days after I changed the last dosage?
How often should I test his bg's and at what time of the day?
When should I test for Ketones? Only when his bg is high? How high? Above 400?
Thank you all so much! I really appreciate the help. As of today, Mika is mildly eating, drinking, peeing, and sleeping to much. Not as much when he was first diagnosed, but still not his usual self.