Deborah W.
Member Since 2018
My cat Rocky was diagnosed with diabetes the beginning of June this year. The vet started him on 2 units of Prozinc twice a day and Hills DM dry food. After about 3 weeks with not much improvement she increased his dosage to 3 units twice a day. Still no improvement. She upped dosage again to 3.5. Against her recommendation I changed out his food to low carb Fancy Feast and his BG dropped dramatically. So much so that I feel he needs less insulin. I dropped the dose back down to 3 units. I know I should have consulted my vet, but since she doesn't bother to call me back and is at odds with the food I feed him I would like some advice. I live in a very remote area so it is difficult to get to another vet and the trip totally stresses out my cat.
I have posted his spreadsheet below. His BG before I changed his food was regularly in the high 300 to 400 range and rarely dropped below 200. I started him on FF on July 13 and now his BG is regularly in the mid 100's. Yesterday 3 hrs post injection his BG was 57 and I got a little worried so I gave him a little Karo syrup and fed him earlier than usual. At 8:00 pm when I usually give him his evening insulin his BG was 141. I decided to skip his evening injection and this morning his BG was back up to 382 about 1/2 hr after his meal. I gave him his insulin early and only gave him 2 units. I will continue to monitor him closely today. I'm wondering if I backed off on the insulin too much.
I have posted his spreadsheet below. His BG before I changed his food was regularly in the high 300 to 400 range and rarely dropped below 200. I started him on FF on July 13 and now his BG is regularly in the mid 100's. Yesterday 3 hrs post injection his BG was 57 and I got a little worried so I gave him a little Karo syrup and fed him earlier than usual. At 8:00 pm when I usually give him his evening insulin his BG was 141. I decided to skip his evening injection and this morning his BG was back up to 382 about 1/2 hr after his meal. I gave him his insulin early and only gave him 2 units. I will continue to monitor him closely today. I'm wondering if I backed off on the insulin too much.