? need help with first low pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.

William's Mom

Member Since 2015
Posted in Prozinc but I thought maybe it would be seen faster here.

William was around 360 at +6 after our dose increase today and it looked like it was going to be a dud of a day but we've got a pmps of 214 (alphatrak) and I'm excited but I don't know how to move forward. Test in 20 mins to see if he's not dropping? Continue with the increased dose? I don't want to lose our first bit of momentum, but it's my first time seeing a number like that and I'm a little spooked.
 
I don't use ProZinc, but my first thought are if you have all the supplies you need (strips, high carb food,etc) and can test as much as necessary tonight, I'd shoot the new dose, especially if he's coming up after stalling 20 minutes

Maybe @BJM will have some advice for you
 
Thanks for your response! Of course this happens at night! He's actually dropped to 178 so I'm not going to shoot. I'll test again in a bit, but I think we'll be skipping tonight's dose... I guess this is a happy problem to have! It seemed like we were up against a wall with his numbers until tonight.
 
Does that mean a tiny amount? I know, I'm bummed to see him go up up up by morning without any insulin. I'll keep testing and see where we end up. Thanks.
 
How about, since you gave 3.5U this morning, you just give 2U (or even 1.75 which would be a half dose) tonight? That's a pretty big reduction in dose, but should help keep him from going straight up

Then test at +1 and +2 to see how he's doing and go from there
 
Just one more thing to remember...the 12 hour "cycle clock" starts when you actually give the shot, so you'll want to remember to wait until it's been 12 hours tomorrow morning before shooting.
 
I think you are wise not to shoot tonight because 1) it is below 200, 2) it appears that he may be still dropping and 3) you do not have enough data to shoot below 200 quite yet. This is very interesting as it appears that his pancreas is trying to kick in.

You could always test again in one hour after normal PMPS time and see if it is above 200. If William is above 200, you could shoot a much lower dose. If I get a low number at PS time, then either I don't shoot (I don't shoot under 180) or I wait an hour and test again to see if it goes up. Most of the time, it goes up and is in a shootable range. Then next PS time, I have the option to shoot after 12 hours or 11 hours. Of course if you delay your PMPS tonight, you would have to stay up and monitor and hold off his food till you get a shootable number. It may throw off your schedule for tomorrow, if you go 12 hours. Go with what you are comfortable with.
 
Last edited:
Thank you both SOOOO much for your support. I am going to test one more time tonight and maybe give a mini dose? I don't have any data so far that would let me know where he might go in a situation like this- nothing like this has ever happened!- but I'm super happy that his pancreas is possibly getting a break. Gave fluids today despite his protests...wonder if that spurred some healing action. I don't feel like being a risk taker tonight I don't think. I think we'll be up early to see if he's rocketed up.
 
So, I tested at +14 and he was 236 so I gave him 1.25 and at +2 he's on his way up high in the mid 300's. Probably could have dealt with a higher dose. Oh well. It was such a strange cycle, I felt keeping it conservative this early in my FD career would be best. At least I'm not freaking about hypo all night and I learned from it. Thanks for your help!
@Critter Mom - thank you! I'm totally jealous of his cozy, twisty smooshy sleeps. He's been a bit crunchy and uncomfortable the last months, but I've been seeing more sprawling lately and it's such a relief.
 
I think you made a good decision. I know it's disheartening to see him go up after finally seeing a lower number, but you have to be comfortable with what you're doing. In the end, you hold the syringe.

Since you gave the shot at +14, remember that you may have to slowly move your shot time back.
 
That +2 upswing might have been influenced a bit by food.

He's been a bit crunchy and uncomfortable the last months, but I've been seeing more sprawling lately and it's such a relief.

Absolutely. I shrivel up inside when I catch Saoirse crouching but my heart always gives a flutter of relief when I see her lying in a relaxed position. I'm glad that William is starting to feel better in himself, and long may that continue. :)
 
Just an update: He was 419 at his AMPS which is about what I expected with the little dose I gave him last night. I gave him his new increased dose, BUT, it was a fur shot :/ I'm so, so annoyed with myself. So much for a rested pancreas. Ugh.

PS- what is a "BCS" dose? Some of the lingo I can sort out, but that one is a mystery!
 
It's for Big Chicken Shot (although there is a more 'colourful' version). ;) A BCS dose is a 'token' dose much smaller than the current regular dose, usually given when one is very nervous about going low during a cycle.

Fur shots happen. There's always the next cycle.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top