Gweasysmom
Member Since 2011
I took Gweasy in again today because he's peeing and drinking WAY TOO MUCH. THey said his bg is 371, which I know is high, but all they said is to increase his insulin to 4 units.
I keep increasing it. He's gone from 2 units (HUmulin N) a month ago to 3, then 3.5, and now 4 (every 12 hours).
I don't have internet at home. I'm using internet at McD's, but I typed a message a while ago, and the connection timed out right before i hit send.
I don't have a lot of time to drive here and read through messages, and it makes me nervous not to be there where I can watch him.
I spoke to a man today who I know who has diabetes. He told me I shouldn't be letting Gweasy graze all day. I have dry food out for them at all times.
In fact, a couple of nights, I didn't leave enough,and when I fed them in the morning, Gweasy ate too much too fast and threw up, so I had to give him less insulin than i would have.
I read Dr. Pierson's article before I came here tonight, so I'm going to start feeding him only canned tuna and canned cat food that he likes. He quit eating the canned w/d they sent him home with. He never liked it.
Should I really not let him have little bits of food throughout the day? My friend recommended that I feed him three times and dose him three times. I'm afraid to do that, since that's not the vet recommendation, but the vet (or vet tech, since I never get to talk to the vet) never told me when or how much to feed him.
And the current regimen of insulin doesn't seem to be working.
I can't keep up with the amt. of urine in the boxes and on the puppy pads.
If anyone feels compelled to call me instead, please do. I'm at 770- three two nine- 555zero.
If not, please understand that I probably won't see your replies til tomorrow sometime.
thank you!!!!
I keep increasing it. He's gone from 2 units (HUmulin N) a month ago to 3, then 3.5, and now 4 (every 12 hours).
I don't have internet at home. I'm using internet at McD's, but I typed a message a while ago, and the connection timed out right before i hit send.
I don't have a lot of time to drive here and read through messages, and it makes me nervous not to be there where I can watch him.
I spoke to a man today who I know who has diabetes. He told me I shouldn't be letting Gweasy graze all day. I have dry food out for them at all times.
In fact, a couple of nights, I didn't leave enough,and when I fed them in the morning, Gweasy ate too much too fast and threw up, so I had to give him less insulin than i would have.
I read Dr. Pierson's article before I came here tonight, so I'm going to start feeding him only canned tuna and canned cat food that he likes. He quit eating the canned w/d they sent him home with. He never liked it.
Should I really not let him have little bits of food throughout the day? My friend recommended that I feed him three times and dose him three times. I'm afraid to do that, since that's not the vet recommendation, but the vet (or vet tech, since I never get to talk to the vet) never told me when or how much to feed him.
And the current regimen of insulin doesn't seem to be working.
I can't keep up with the amt. of urine in the boxes and on the puppy pads.
If anyone feels compelled to call me instead, please do. I'm at 770- three two nine- 555zero.
If not, please understand that I probably won't see your replies til tomorrow sometime.
thank you!!!!